We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views from the Riviera”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed one night at the Riviera hotel, the room was nicely decorated but the bathroom was old fashioned and as another reviewer has said, a really horrible fluorescant light! The shower door didn't open and close properly but it was serviceable.
The bed was comfortable, we had a sea view with a little balcony.
Breakfast was good - a whole pot of coffee between two and some really good croissants - best we had during our whole Sardinian trip. Lovely view from breakfast room over the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and the hotel upgraded us to a seaside room because it was our honeymoon. The hotel staff were so kind, patient and helpful that it really made our stay here.

Castelsardo is a really pretty place and the hotel overlooks the small shingle beach which has beautiful clear water. The rooms are a little dated, but really clean.

We chose to eat in the restaurant on one of the nights which we regretted - expensive and really average food - so we ate at a local restaurant the next night which was better.

If you're in this end of Sardinia, it's worth visiting Castelsardo and the area which has some lovely beaches and this hotel would be a recommended place to stop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouvilleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The location of the hotel was good, but for the quality of the hotel it was overpriced. The room was a good size and bed comfortable, but the bathroom had no extractor fan and had a horrible flourescent light. The restaurant was very expensive, & portions tiny compared to other places we ate in. We were charged that riduculous ´cover charge´ characteristic of other Sardinian restaurants even though we were staying at the hotel, which is unnecessary and unfair, we feel. Breakfast was miserable too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Passing trough Castelsardo we stopped at Riviera hotels restaurant for a quick lunch. The staff was friendly, the view nice. The menu was similar to most other restaurants we visited at Sardinia.

One of our kids took a plate of calamaris, the other a grilled steak with fries. My wife and I wanted to taste the Sardinian lobster. A living medium sized lobster was shown to us. He had no claws, probably already taken of, at that time we thought it could be varietal. We had a nice lunch, good preparations, although no tastes I remembered next day... the biggest impression was made by the check. We were charged 153 euro's for the lobster without claws. With the calamaris, steak, fries, cola's and simple wine we were charged 250 euro for a quick lunch.

When we asked how come the lobster was so expensive this time of year, our waitress didn't understand our question. Not being prepared to waste the last day of our trip on something we probably didn't notice on the menu (like lobster:18 euro/ 100g or something), we payed and left. It felt like fairly overpriced, to say the least.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank AnonymousRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for a week. Very reasonably priced but wish we'd had a room with a seaview (got a peek, and much nicer than our room which looked out over a neighbouring apartment). Hotel was in a good loaction. We got the coach from the airport to Castelsardo and it stopped right outside the hotel. It was within easy reach of shops and restaurants (2 really good restaurants we went to - one on the road to St Theresa, at the top of a hill, can't remember the name but begins with R and is next to club Vogue, it's a really lovely pizzeria with fab views. The other 'something Paris' on the right hand side at the bottom of stairs going towards the castle - sorry, really bad remembering names). The hotel was clean and the staff were really helpful and very tolerant of our lack of Italian. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily. It had a TV, AC and bar fridge. I would definitely return to this hotel and really enjoyed my stay in Castelsardo.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed there in July 2009 for 4 nights. Rooms were decent, clean. Staff was friendly enough, but NO ONE spoke english. Literary, we have not met even one staff member that spoke english - they could barely understand us. Restaurant Fofo was horrible. Food was horrible and way overpriced. First night we went there, paid over 135 euros and could not eat anything. we left all our plates full.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Riviera in Castelsardo last month. The hotel was in a terrific location and the staff could not have been nicer....espcially Piera! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has the good fortune to take a trip to Castelsardo.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelsardo
0.7 mi away
Bajaloglia Resort
Bajaloglia Resort
#2 of 16 in Castelsardo
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Janus Hotel
Janus Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castelsardo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#7 of 16 in Castelsardo
619 reviews
34.4 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
33.7 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Lungomare Anglona 1, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castelsardo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range: $76 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FIRST HOTEL IN CASTELSARDO. The Riviera SPA - nestled at the foot of the rocky hill is the medieval village of Castelsardo - it is an integral part of the history, tradition and gastronomic culture of Sardinia. A sensory journey that embraces all the senses : the care of sleep, the choice of10 different types of pillows, the Spa and the traditional Mediterranean cuisine at Fofo restaurant. BUSINESS, LEISURE AND MORE. The rooms are characterized by a minimal style, warm colors, spacious and bright, with all the comforts, and seaview balconies overlooking the Gulf of Asinara. There is also a business multipurpose area, private parking, wi-fi, spa. The hotel Riviera is ideal for business travelers, for holiday, for well-being and relaxation. RIVIERA SPA, COCCOLE BODY AND MIND. A wellness program of a new generation: the outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water blade and the unique sanitizing system MagnaPool,chlorine free,that respects not only your skin but also the envirnment. Finnish sauna, emotional showers, the float room, the Kneipp path, the sauna,the steam room and the wide range of massagges and beauty treatments. it's time to think about you. RESTAURANT Fofo Title A5. The typical cuisine of Sardinia. A must for lovers of taste, authentic flavors and tradition. The history of seafood in Castelsardo and the panoramic view overlooking the sea intertwine and consolidate Sardinian tradition. Specialties based on fresh fish and meat are the main stay of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Castelsardo
Hotel Riviera Castelsardo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing