We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, perfect place, will come again..”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The hotel is right on the beach, overlooking the marina and sea and, if you are lucky enough to have booked room 405, you will get 2 balconies; one overlooking the sunrise in the morning over the sea and marina, the other over looking the mountains and gulf that surrounds Cala Gonone. The room was light, airy, comfortable, clean and really made us feel good to be in the space. The bed was comfortable and the lighting of the room was perfect (electronic blinds are fitted to the windows to stop heat/sun all day and no bright bulbs or strips are employed). There is air con in the room but we went in October, the temperature was around 25C, no need for air con if the blinds are down.
The room was cleaned every day, the staff were absolutely wonderful - so polite, helpful and genuinely warm - the breakfast was entirely sensible for year round service and fulfilling enough and there is also a good restaurant on the 1st floor.
I can't praise the hotel and its staff enough, they made our stay that bit more wonderful. We will book this again and again....Although I will insist on room 405.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissrmeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2008

We give this the "excellent" rating but it isn't 5*

It is a super little resort and this hotel makes a perfect base to stay

Breakfast is fine

Staff helpful

Room basic but nice

Bathroom small

Lovely balcony

Ask for a room on the higher floors as they have better views

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

This three star hotel deserves an extra star. We drove through the area, and intended to stay two to three days, but ended up spending more than a week in Cala Gonone at the Hotel Miramare. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, and a good restaurant. Excellent value for money. Recomended!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank earthXplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights and when we arrived in our room there was a terrible smell, the lady at the desk offered us another room but as we found all rooms had the smell due to bad tides or wind playing with the septic tanks, anyway she had the room scented each day and we were really happy with the prompt service. The room was clean and spacious, no problems there. The restaurant upstairs is fine but a bit of knowledge of basic Italian would not go a miss!!

The horrible end goes like this, We parked our rental car in the car park for the days we were there and then the night before we checked out we asked if we could settle the bill as we had to leave very early to catch a plane back home, we paid and went to bed. The next morning we found the car park gate locked!! We were not told by the lady at the desk (as we told her that we were leaving early and she was the one who sorted out the car park for us) about a locked gate. We had to ring the emergency number on the hotel front door and soon arrived I assumed was the hotel manager, he exploded into a fit of insults and was extremely rude. I have never been to like that and he reduced my wife to tears.

We had plans to bring back a dozen or so people through our work for 2 weeks in July but we will now be going somewhere else.

Nice Hotel but the attitude ruined it for us. A real shame, all other staff at hotel very friendly, although English was a struggle for some of the staff but was never a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kiwifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed for one night in the Miramare in Cala Gonone. The hotel was ok and the room quite spacious and with a great view. However, the decoration was a little out of date, our window didn't perfectly close (and it was very windy that day!) and even though in general was clean, it wasn't spotless. The breakfast wasn't really exciting, I don't know if it's always like that or if it's because of the low season.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rociodeviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This was the second stop on a trip around Sardinia that my wife and I took in 2007, and let me say what a great time we had here. Cala Gonone is one of those places that makes you want to pinch yourself to find out whether you're dreaming or not. There is one beach called Cala Luna, about 15 minutes away from this hotel by boat, that must be one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my entire life. Being Brazilian I have been to quite a few beautiful beaches, but this is top of the list. The hotel is a charming adorable place. We just walked in, asked if there were rooms available, we got an excellent rate, probably the best in a whole month in Italy, and stayed for four days. Our room had a balcony with great views, and even the bathroom had views. Staff was very nice and the overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Excellent location in Cala Gonone (possibly the best)! This hotel is fully renovated and good bargain for price. For anyone staying in this charming little village, I would definitely recomment this hotel. You are 3 mins from the port, 1 min for the nearest beach and the sea side rooms have amazing views. There are dozens of little restaurants in the area. Only dissapointment, the awfull breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 20 in Cala Gonone
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 20 in Cala Gonone
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Piazza Giardini 12, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Price Range: $89 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Cala Gonone
Hotel Miramare Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing