We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff but an average accommodation”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is placed in a great location, just steps away from the beach. It's also very close to all restaurants and the harbour. The receptionists speak good English, are very welcoming and helpful. We also enjoyed the hotel's breakfast as there was always lots to choose from and even had some eggs & bacon now and again. But the room on its own was quite average. It was kept clean (the cleaning was done on a daily basis) but was slightly worn down. The shower was not that great, it was not very warm and the pressure was pretty poor. Parking was free in May - may be a bit tricky during the season though.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with the beach view. They have balconies and look nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice location of hotel. Beautiful view over harbour. Good breakfast, with proper bread with fiber. Good ham and cheese. Eggs and bacon. Fruits. Parking could be cumbesome we suspect in high season. Fairly worn down room. Bad shower with no extension tube. This makes showering inconvenient. Good service by staff. Pretty expensive given quality and time of year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pappatilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We dined outside under the huge trees on the terrace in front of the hotel, overlooking the harbour. There were only a few tables, and consequently there was lots of space. Food was excellent, and service likewise. Unfortunately the season ended during our stay in Cala Gonone - around 26 Sep - so we were denied the chance of a return visit. The cheese served as part of a Sardinian antipasto was the best in the whole of our visit to the island. The extremely helpful waitress - whose English, thanks to her studies in England, was excellent - demonstrated more skills by deftly removing the skin and filleting a fish at the table. Against some tough competition, probably our most enjoyable meal in Cala Gonone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 14 days in Sardinia in September 2012 without booking anything but a rental car. In Cala Gonone we went in to hotel Miramare since it looked nice and is a 3 star hotel. We got a room on the third floor with a fantastic view over the sea and part of the harbour.

The positive with this hotel next to the view is the LARGE terrace we got, with sun chairs, a table and chairs to sit at it. The room was of acceptable size, clean with good beds.

The negative was that the safe did not work, the TV showed only italian programmes (would have liked at least one English speaking channel), and that there was no WiFi in the room (only in the lobby). Breakfast was OK, no more. We had one dinner at the hotel and found it OK (worth 3 dots).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

PRAISE!
The reputation of the superb hotel staff was the first reason for booking this hotel. They did not disappoint! The owner works incredibly hard (he's told us he works hard for his family) and his employees were incredibly helpful. They upgraded us to a larger room on the top floor when we mentioned it was our 10th wedding anniversary. The top floor terrace was also perfect for romantic pictures, sunrise view on the sea and a drink by moonlight.

The breakfast was simple, yet satisfying. We aren't big breakfast eaters so bacon (amazing! Ask for it.), Italian croissants and cappuccino are just what we needed. The dinner was also very nice (order the Seadas - a traditional Sardinian fritter - for dessert: foogasm!) The wifi was strong in both the lobby and on the restaurant terrace as advertised.

The hotel provided beach towels and an umbrella for our visit to Caletta di Oscalla beach (a 20mn drive over the mountain - highly recommended!). They also helped us book a small boat in order to visit the spectacular beaches on the coast. We picked up the boat which is a 2mn walk away near the hotel's beach. It's the only way to see the world famous Cala Goloritze beach (50 minutes away by boat). This splurge of €150 (boat and gas) was well worth it!!! The small boat was very easy and loads of fun to drive (think James Bond) and didn't require a boat license. We even spotted a dolphin. Do not miss this once in a lifetime opportunity.

Pay for the boat and eat the cheapest pizzas in the world for lunch and dinner (only 5 euros each!).

We read reviews of mustiness in the room, but this is to be expected in sea-side hotels. We noticed it upon arriving in the room, but after running the AC for an hour the smell was completely gone for the entire trip.

We very strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea-side rooms on the 4th floor are strongly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethCagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel was built some time ago and it shows a bit; you can tell from the architecture and the many stairs, including on the way to the elevator. However, it has been well-renovated and it is comfortable, though may be a bit moldy upon arrival (NB: this goes away after running the AC for an hour).

We had a room on the last floor, with access to a private balcony. The view is amazing. It was very nice. The noise insulation is great.

There is good Internet access in the lobby of the hotel as advertised.

Parking can be a bit of an issue and the street is closed in the evenings.

Breakfast is very pleasant in the patio area with a sea view.

Finally, the staff was amazing. Very nice, very helpful and went out of their way to help us with every need we had (lending us beach towels and an umbrella, reserving a boat for us, etc.).

We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in order to do a boat trip down the Gulf du Orosei, which both myself and Lonely Planet recommend as the only thing you HAVE to do in Sardinia. We stopped into a few hotels that were a bit more pricey and decided to go with the cheaper on which, was Hotel Miramare. We took the small room with a small balcony because we knew we weren't going to be hanging out in our room at all and we were going to spend our days outside. The room was clean, had WIFI accessible in the lobby, right in the middle of town, and had a great breakfast that actually included eggs!!! The egg was one of those golden beauties that I assume was from a farm in close by. The staff at the hotel spoke English very well and booked us on a private boat trip down the Gulf du Orosei which only holds ten people and takes you to the beautiful beaches that the big trips do not take you to. It is a clean and well priced hotel. On another note. When you come into Cala Gonone make sure you do not the the road alongside the cliffs that makes you feel like you are on a roller-coaster ride. There is a much nicer route that goes through tunnels and will not freak you out. I dont think our GPS liked us so much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunkDoc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 20 in Cala Gonone
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Piazza Giardini 12, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Price Range: $87 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Cala Gonone
Hotel Miramare Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing