We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Cala Gonone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Gustui Maris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Cala Gonone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel Villa Gustui Maris was a wonderful base for exploring the beautiful coastline around Cala Gonone. Hotel was clean, nice and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is set high up on the mountain with amazing views of the town and coast (but a car is helpful to get to and from town, otherwise a ~20 min walk to town). It's worthwhile springing for the rooms with a sea view and balcony given the impressive views. The bed itself in the room was not terrific but the rest of the stay made up for it. Great stay overall and is definitely the star of Cala Gonone.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    93
    31
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
271
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at Villa Gustui Maris three days in week 30. Very nice people working there. Especially the women in the reception and the man in the bar. Nice clean (small) rooms. Good aircondition. Perfect view to the sea from the hotel and a nice pool-area. If we ever return to Cala Gonone,we will stay here.

The wi-fi was poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyBanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here 20 July for four nights in room 222 room had small balcony with amazing sea views.
The balconies are very open and close to neighbouring guests, trees have been planted so when they are established the area will be a little more private. But we used the balcony with no issues throughout our stay.
The hotel is spotless good bedroom, large comfy bed, modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, tv in room with Italian channels.
The breakfast was very good and was taken on the terrace next to the pool with the most amazing views.
Pool was great place to relax, pool side drink service available.
The staff were fantastic full of information and always willing to help.
Walk into town 5-10 mins and took 10-15 minutes on way back uphill. Anybody with walking difficulties would need to drive into town which is few minutes by car.
Loved everything about this place and had fantastic trip and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms right at front overlooking pool have biggest balcony and view but not sure if they were of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claraWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent considerable time trawling online to find a decent hotel. Without repeating the comments of other travellers I'll specifically mention our experience with a 3 year old.

Staff
The two ladies - Paola and Christina couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, everyone else was very pleasant too. The daily dose of sweets lead to my daughter standing by the desk and waiting

Pool
Perfect with 1/3 shallow and clearly divided, that was just perfect and we saw it being cleaned daily. Ideal for small children.

Going to the beach
They have two bins with umbrellas and toys in - again, an absolute must and good of them to provide them.


Food
Breakfast was simple with nice fresh fruit. Don't expect bacon and eggs, but you probably wouldn't want it anyway with the wonderful view. Evening was also good and no trouble just to have some simple pasta and cheese made up for our daughter.


Room
Quite simple for 4*, but everything was good. My only (tiny) criticism would be the shower needed a hook to hang it on, rather being hand held.

I'd recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 305, it was a good size for the 3 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_in_a_barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Modern hotel on the hillside overlooking Cala Gonome and the sea,
We stayed in a prestige room which was adequate, but nothing special. The 'balcony' was very small with a pleasant view over the garden and mountains behind the hotel. You could pay extra for a sea-view room, but there are plenty of places to sit and admire the sea and pool view so why pay extra unless you're planning to spend most of your holiday in your room? Overall we enjoyed our stay, the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The organisation of breakfast, particularly the clearing/cleaning of tables was impressively prompt. We didn't eat at the hotel opting for the splendid range of restaurants in the town. Walking into town is ok, but the walk back is seriously steep and, in 30 degrees plus high humidity, isn't for everybody!
A couple of niggles: the shower temperature wasn't stable alternating between scalding and freezing. There is no wifi in the room which is disappointing for a hotel of this type and the wifi hot spot was unreliable not working for 2 of our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The views from the pool, breakfast area, bar area are lovely and looking at these was a great way to start each day. The staff are very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They have plenty of beach equipment (towels, umbrellas, etc) for guests to borrow. A 15 min walk into town is pleasant (although the walk up the hill on the way home is steep). Poolside drinks service was appreciated, as well as the ability to use the facilities on the day of check out. Breakfast was simple, but nice produce, and the plates of breakfast were constantly replaced, even close to the end of the breakfast service.

Shower (water pressure) was not very good. The rooms are simple, yet comfortable.

Room Tip: If possible, I would book a room with a sea view. All sea rooms have a balcony and chairs to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry_kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in Cala Gonone...in my opinion the best in the area. We stayed in the Cala Goloritze room and the view was stunning. The hotel pretty much offers this stunning view from all it's communal areas. It's located on top of a hill a minutes drive and a few minutes walk to the town centre. We used a car so can't comment on the uphill climb back to the hotel but it is steep.
Rooms are very clean and the bathrooms spotless with good toiletries provided. The breakfast is varied and we really loved it. There are no hot choices available. This really wasnt a problem for us though.
The best part about this hotel are the staff. Paola, her husband and Christina are so friendly and nice. As soon as we arrived Paola gave us a map of the area and the beaches nearby. She also gave us directions on how to get to the beaches. We hassled her with the silliest of problems (Some not even hotel related) and she took care of them always with a smile. The reception can also organise tours if u want them to.
We ate dinner once at the hotel and the food though good was nothing extra ordinary. It was however the most expensive meal we had in Cala Gonone. I would suggest trying the various other eating places in the town centre.
We would definitely be recommending this hotel...wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Gonone
0.7 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#5 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gustui Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gustui Maris

Property: Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Address: Via Marco Polo 57, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Gonone
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gustui Maris 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Gustui Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gustui Maris
Gustui Maris Hotel
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing