We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for our honeymoon on the last week of the season. We had a view and balcony looking over the sea - I'm not sure if we paid extra for this (my memory is hazy) but it definitely made the stay. We saw that some rooms overlooked the road at the back of the hotel, so I'd try to avoid those.

The "downside" of the wonderful view is the walk up a steep hill from the town and much has been made of this in the other reviews. We didn't find the walk to be too taxing, and charged up the hill in 5 mins on our first night. Our walk home did slow down as our stay went on...

The hotel staff were friendly, the breakfast was a standard continental breakfast, and the room had everything in it that we needed. All in all, it was an excellent place to base our stay in the region.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose Villa Gustai Maris having read previous reviews and were delighted to find our experience was as fabulous as expected. Staff were welcoming and helpful, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and the whole place feels light and relaxing. We had a sea view and small balcony which meant we could sit and watch as the sun set and the lights slowly came on in Cala Gonome below us; it was magical. The pool was superb (if rather 'fresh' in late September!) and it was wonderful to simply sit and relax by the pool and savour the view. Breakfast was excellent - a huge choice, something for everyone.
We hope to return to Sardinia next year and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room with a sea-view - definitely worth it as the view is glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoiedeVivreCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Gustui Maris for 12 nights for our honeymoon and are so glad we did. The staff were amazing, the location is beautiful, and the hotel is clean and stylish.

Special mention should go to the food, which along with the service of the restaurant manager Guiseppe is without the best in Cala Gonone, in fact Sardinia!

I can't recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely be back. Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon truly unforgettable.

The staff also organised a boat trip for us by Señor Umberto- highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room- well worth the extra money for a few drinks in your terrace before dinner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Villa Gustui Maris fully justifies its 4-star rating. Rooms and public areas are spacious and light; food is excellent, with the breakfast offering quite superb. You can take both breakfast and dinner on a poolside terrace. The staff are uniformly helpful, producing maps and extra information when we announced our day's plans as we handed in our key. The pool is excellent - the "spa" rating below refers to the pool! The hotel's position offers magnificent views over the bay below. And that leads to the one warning that should be left here: if you want to vary the dining experience by going out to one of Cala Gonone's many other excellent restaurants by the harbour or along the waterfront, you will be faced with a very steep walk back to Gustui Maris - unless you can persuade one member of your party to hold back on the wine and remain legally fit to drive home. There is no local taxi service. Late at night when temperatures have cooled, it's not too bad, but will still take you at least 15 minutes' steep uphill walking! But VGM is a great place to stay, and although the prices are also 4 star, we'd very happily go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night while on honeymoon. Very nice, clean, stylish hotel. The staff was excellent. Nice pool, beautiful ocean view. Quiet and relaxing. Well located for beaches, boating, mountains (short drive). Maybe not the best location for walking - the main town and marina are within walking distance but there is a bit of hill to deal with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rturp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have very mixed feelings about the hotel.

On the one hand, it is pleasant enough. The rooms are spacious even if quite basic; breakfast selection is solid; reception staff is very warm and friendly; and the view of the bay is quite nice. For all I know, this might still be the most upscale option around as so many reviews cannot be wrong and this seems to be the most expensive hotel in the area (and this is why we chose it).

On the other hand, for 160 euros per night in September for a room without a sea view, I expected something quite luxurious. As said above, the hotel was pleasant enough but quite basic and I would certainly not call it luxurious.

Given that the other hotel options were about half the price, the difference in quality did not justify the price difference. I would say the hotel is not for a value-conscious traveler.

Also, if you are travelling with children, the hotel is located on the opposite side of the town from the restraurants and the marina. It takes about 10 min to walk to the center and 20 min to walk back as you are walking quite uphill. So you might need to be travelling back and forth by car. And you might want to have a car to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerFrequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and didn't have any idea how excellent the view would be when we woke up -- but every single member of the hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, from the moment we arrived around midnight until the end of our stay. The staff was easily able to answer all of our questions and provided excellent information about what to do in the area -- namely, take a boat tour to see the fabulous beaches! (One piece of information that would be good to know in advance: it seems that a lot of the boat tours depart at 11 a.m. at the latest, so if you're planning on going on a boat tour, you might not want to sleep in quite so luxuriously as we did -- we barely made it in time!)

Our room (and random upgrade to a sea-view balcony!) was fantastic, and the patio with the view of the pool and the sea could not be beat for breakfast dining. It's a pleasant walk down to the port through neighborhood streets (though a little steep on the return trip!). We really loved the Cala Gonone area, and the Villa Gustui Maris in particular was a highlight of our trip. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Gonone
1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Oasi
Hotel L'Oasi
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
168 reviews
43.4 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gustui Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gustui Maris

Address: Via Marco Polo 57, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Gonone
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range: $145 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gustui Maris 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Gustui Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gustui Maris
Gustui Maris Hotel
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing