We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food in the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pop
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good food in the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel, but choose to eat one evening in the restaurant.
We ate pasta, fish, salad, veal escallops and puddings and the food was very good. The price was also reasonable and no problem with the service.

I recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritexpatRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    30
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We, an elderly couple ( 60 plus) were looking for a nice and quiet base for hiking in the sardinian mountains. Searching the internet we landed at hotel Pop in Cala Gonone. What luck! This small and nice hotel had everything we needed. Nice location overlooking a small port, a beach close by and easy access by car to some very good hikingtracs.
And best of all, very, very friendly staff who really went out of their way to be helpful. They really helped us in every way to make the vacation perfect. Parking could sometimes be a problem, but they always found a place for our car in their small parkinglot.
The breakfastbuffet was very good and the restaurant excellent.
Hard to leave actualy after six nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenffjeldstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Funny Hotel, with a cute quirkiness about it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a bit of blast from the past, sort of what you would imagine a hotel to be like in the 70's, but it was very clean, comfortable and we were lucky to get a great sea view room. Price was reasonable, with a good breakfast in the morning. We had hired a boat for the next day, and the hotel let us keep our car in their carpark while we were out, which they didn't have to do, but was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff is very friendly and speak English. Family atmosphere and professional service. The rooms are spacious and clean. Fridge and safe are in the rooms. But the real winner is the restaurant. The kitchen offers a wide range of Sardinian dishes. Oysters, seafood salads, carpaccio of tuna and swordfish, amazing seafood pasta and grilled fish and prawns. The chef had been working in Thailand for a while and created some typical Sardinian dishes with a soft Asian infusion. Awesome!!!!!!!! They have a large inflatable boat that took us for a daily trip into the caves and the most beautiful beaches with a nice lunch included in the package for just 35 euros. Again something more attentive and personalised than the other trip I have done with other boats. My stay was really memorable. I would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauriziofenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way to Cagliari. we thought it a super find, especially as most hotels in the area were closed, being out of season. lovely welcome from reception and adequate, clean rooms with view from balcony over harbour side. Rooms were good price for area. restaurant was clean and served fresh fish - but was grossly overpriced in my opinion. The manager needs to learn to smile. Young woman on Reception was super!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HMG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived by car and stayed here for 2 nights. During the stay we went on boat trip to the fantastic beaches of Cala Gonone and one day we stayed at the beaches you can reach by car. The hotel itself is nothing special, what makes this place great to stay is the people working here! They went out of the way to help us and always friendly and smiling. Big thanks to all of the people working there. The hotel is also part of a restaurant. The parking there is a bit strange, very small and need to leave keys in reception in case cars need to be moved.

pro
- friendly staff
- good location
- price
- good breakfast

con
- rooms could need a workover
- small parking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NO_Lars_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel Pop is a great place with a great location! We stayed at the top floor and had an excellent sea view! The food is good and the staff is really friendly. Boat excursions leave literally from the doorstep. I would definitely go back. Cala Gonone is a fantastic holiday choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell-Elle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Conchiglia
Hotel La Conchiglia
#18 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pop

Property: Hotel Pop
Address: Via Marco Polo 2 | Piazza Porto 2, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pop 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pop Hotel Cala Gonone
Hotel Pop Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing