We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel La Favorita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Accommodation is very basic, but it is appropriate for the low price. Location is superb- overlooking the beach, and you can have your dinner in the terrace located directly above the shore. Room was clean, shower as well, but there was a bit of nasty smell in the shower. The water in the shower did not go down the drain very fast causing a bit of a flood.
Breakfast was very good and varied - fresh pastry, frutes, eggs and dairy. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    61
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hotel on see side - perfect location, two steps to the beach. Rooms small but clean. Really friendly staff. Restaurant witch lovely pizza and good wine. Stayed just one night on October - perfect please for quick stop. And finally - price: for expensive place like Sardinia, the price is much more like Spain :) So really recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are more expensive so you have to ask about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We usually stay in at least 3-star hotels so were hesitant to book a 2-star establishment, but this one had excellent reviews and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is super cozy, friendly, small, has character, and is located opposite a beach. The restaurant downstairs is very good too. The rooms are very clean and spacious and have all the amenities. The shower is on the small side and the plumbing is indeed a bit noisy, but overall we found quality and atmosphere to be way above our expectations at this price, and what we got elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

after a mix up from bookings.com we ended up here. paid about €60. way overpriced, but they can do what they like in such a tourist hot spot.
staff seem anxious and around them sit a variety of sub owners who look at us as walking atm machines as little extras appear. check your credit cards asap!
very basic room, plastic chairs, double bed is actually 2 single beds so an uncomfortable join runs down the middle.
bathroom was very dirty and smelt terrible.
breakfast was ok, a large pot of instant coffee for everyone, a few slices of fly friendly meats, and someones homemade cake.


wouldnt stay here again, would try the campsite to the north of town who rent bungalows for €40. supermarkets everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeymillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The location of Hotel La Favorita is excellent. Just over the road from the beach on the pretty promenade that runs along the seashore. It has a large attractive terrace where you can enjoy a nice breakfast and it doubles up as a pizzeria / restaurant later in the day. The quality of the meals are excellent, the pizzas are especially good.

However our room was a big disappointment. It didn't have proper air conditioning, it had a portable air conditioner / dehumidifier which was very noisy and very ineffective and had an ugly flexible outlet pipe that went out of the window, the pipe got really hot and was like having a radiator in the room. It went off when it got full of water and needed emptying a couple of times through the night. We totally gave up on it and just used some fans we found in the corridor

The room was clean with clean sheets and towels but it was so depressing, it looked like it hadn't been updated for 20 years- the curtain looked like a sack and the mirror on the wall was so old and corroded that you couldn't even see your reflection in it.

All the other guests seemed to be Italians and had much nicer rooms, ours was very inferior. It looked like theirs had been recently updated and some had nice sea views with small balconies and proper air conditioning, ours had a view of a dark narrow alley. it made me wonder if we had been given that room because we were English.

The shower was dreadful as the water only trickled out of the fixed shower head and there was a gap between the shower tray and the wall so the floor flooded everytime we got a shower, no matter how much you wrap yourself in the shower curtain to try and prevent it.

We were woken several times during the night by the bar next door emptying wheelie bins full of bottles in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.3 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Favorita

Property: Hotel La Favorita
Address: Viale Palmasera 30, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Gonone
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
#7 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Favorita 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Favorita hotel is an original two-star hotel that overlooks the beach of Cala Gonone. The extraordinary panoramic position and the high quality services guarantee the best value for money,details that give an ambience of great care for guests.In the restaurant terrace with a sea view you can taste the flavours of a kitchen that really cares for the choice and the preparation of fish and traditional dishes. The pizzeria with wood fired oven offers delicious pizzas made with selected flour and the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Favorita Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing