We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and beautiful apartment”
Review of Residence Biriola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Biriola
Ranked #2 of 15 Cala Gonone B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and beautiful apartment”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere with such an outstanding view. It was incredible - out of one bedroom window you could see the sea, out of the other you could see the little marina, with a backdrop of mountains and the coast. It was so good to fall asleep to the sound of the waves on the rocks below.

We had a HUGE balcony and it was so nice just to sit out there, eat breakfast and lunch and just enjoy the view. It was very clean, very comfortable, 5 mins walk to the little beach and about 10 mins walk into town - perfect location. If you're going to Cala Gonone, I'd highly recommend staying in one of the Biriola apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, we were lucky, all our rooms had amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday_postcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the Fuili at Residence Biriola for about a week in June. I was attending a conference at a nearby hotel in the afternoons/evenings while my wife and two boys stayed at the apartment. We had the mornings and afternoons to explore the area.

The videos on the Biriola web site show you exactly what the apartments look like. These are very nice, very clean apartments in a nice quite neighborhood. Perfect for a holiday of beaching, boating, and hiking.

We stayed here because of the positive reviews here. I'm writing to confirm everything positive that folks have said. Matteo and his parents, Bruno and Giovanna, were friendly hosts. Matteo speaks very good English and his parents were very patient with my broken Italian.

I think it says a lot that Matteo was okay about some last-minute changes to our plans. Perhaps he might not be during the peak travel season, which is understandable, but he was for us. I thank him for that.

If you visit, you need to rent one of the boats and take it out yourself. As long as the seas are calm, if you can drive a car and have an IQ over 90, you can handle the boat yourself. It's visiting the remote beaches along the Gulf of Orosei which is the capstone for a trip to this area. Matteo can help arrange it and may be able to get a discount for you. Boats can also ferry you out to some of the beaches.

Note to folks from the US. These aren't like beaches in Florida. The beaches range from tiny pebbles to golf-ball-sided smooth rocks. Makes sure you bring water shoes with solid soles or be someone with the soles of their feet made of dragon skin. My wife absolutely loved these beaches because she absolutely hates sand beaches. My boys liked them because they were so different. I liked them because they were so amazing to see. A fairly small beach surrounded by massive cliffs and mountains with azure blue water. In June, the water was crisp, but refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed for two weeks i Residece Biriola. The first week alone for writing and the second week with my wife for holiday. We have been in the village a few times before and really like it. The flat we stayed in now was absolutely super! Light and fresh, well equipped, a wonderful view Breakfast at the balcony could not be better. The warm welcome and service by Matteo, Bruno and Giovanna - perfect. I have already booked for two more weeks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in the Luna flat with our two girls ages 12 and 9. It was perfect for us - so nice to have a little more room to spread out than in a hotel room and being able to do a little cooking was great too. Everything was very clean, the rooms are bright and comfortable. The Luna flat is on the top floor and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. It was such a lovely place to enjoy our morning espresso. We were pleasantly surprised by how very quiet the neighborhood was - maybe because we were there in April and there were very few tourists around. There are three grocery stores less than a 5 minute walk away, and the beach and everything in Cala Gonone is also within easy walking distance.

Matteo is very friendly and helpful, and speaks very good English. He had great recommendations on restaurants and made reservations for us when necessary. He also arranged for us to rent his boat, which is part of a rental fleet at the harbor. We were in Cala Gonone for the rock climbing and Matteo was able to give us recommendations on which crags to go to based on weather conditions which was also quite helpful.

We would highly recommend Residence Biriola and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmd4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Cala Gonone. The place was exactly as we saw on the website. Matteo welcomed all of us the best way. very polite, always with the smile..he took care of us during the stay. he came to see us to know if everything was ok. He answered all the questions we have et he knows his subject! in a word Perfect. the residence was spacious, with a large garden, and it was a sadness to leave the place and sardinian people. See you soon......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inamoramento35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We, Fritz and Diana, had a wonderful stay in an appartment of Biriola in Cala Gonone. The appartment was very clean, spacious with a large balcony with perfect view. Moreover, Matteo, the manager of Biriola in Cala Gonone provides a perfect service and helped us out with all questions, e.g. best restaurant, good wine, interesting excursions, .... He and his family really make you feel very comfortable. We will come back next year.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FLAN45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Believe all the good reviews because they are true. Matteo and his family took wonderful care of us during our stay at Residence Biriola in gorgeous Cala Gonone. The apartments are spacious, very clean and there is airconditioning which is essential. Matteo went out of his way to recommend good restaurants for us to try.

You can rent boats and visit all the amazing coves. It's the best water I've ever seen. If you don't have any experience with boats, I recommend you hire one with a skipper. We didn't and it became stressful at times getting the boat to shore and out again. Save yourself the stress and get a skipper.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lychee-Caprioska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.2 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#5 of 20 in Cala Gonone
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 20 in Cala Gonone
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Biriola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Biriola

Property: Residence Biriola
Address: Via Taloro 18, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Dorgali, you arrive to one of the most beautiful place in Sardinia : Cala Gonone, little resort in the Orosei Bay. Originally village of fishermen, the resort is now famous for its beautiful sea and beaches surrounded by calcareous cliffs. This is the perfect place for the nature lovers.In a Residence surrounded by a garden with plants and exotic flowers, we propose you flats that can welcome 2-6 persons (each) . From the veranda, you have a beautiful view on the Gulf. From the reception, you can book some boat trips to visit the coast and the beaches. Di Carlo's Family a welcome you. Special reduction for free climbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Biriola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Biriola Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing