We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Nuovo Gabbiano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cala Luna(Cala Gonone)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pop(Cala Gonone)
$89
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bue Marino Hotel(Cala Gonone)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris(Cala Gonone)
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Conchiglia(Cala Gonone)
$187
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Miramare(Cala Gonone)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel San Francisco(Cala Gonone)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu(Cala Gonone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nettuno(Cala Gonone)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
79
67
12
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
67
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelexcellent hotelharbourcoastboatcala
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 167 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Situated right on the harbour, this hotel has a great location for day trips to the exceptional nearby area, is very close to a lovely beach, and it has a very good restaurant attached to it (hotel guests get 10 per cent off, too). The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Cala Gonone is a wonderful place, and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnuovogabbiano, Roberta, Addetta al Ricevimento at Il Nuovo Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Michael,
thank you very much for your recent visit and your great review, we are glad to read that you have enjoyed the Restaurant, the Hotel and the facilities around it.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Cala Gonone!
Best regards

Lo Staff dell'Hotel Il Nuovo Gabbiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I set out for Sardinia with two objectives: to get out onto the water and explore all of the nooks and to see the interior countryside. Bue Marino was a great place to be with only 3 days to get all of that done. I had to book a flight to the main airport in the South, but Bue Marino took care of all the arrangements without any hassles. They also arranged for 2 tour guides to pick us up to explore the Supra Monte and the awesome tour of Orgosolo, the communist town famous for it's Murals. Great breakfast every morning, nice clean rooms with plenty of space -- all of it brand new fixtures and furnishings. Great staff that are very helpful and welcoming: we arrived at 10pm and they arranged a nice table for us and brought out food quickly.

But being right on the water was the best part: rented a dinghy each day for 70 Euro and just spent the afternoons finding all of the wonderful beaches and caves along the coast ... and the water is crystal clear and beautiful with plenty of spots to just anchor and swim around.

One of the best trips of my life ... so much so, I finally decided to go to Italy this year and will be re-visting Cala Gonone on the way home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Calagonone is amazing, and Il Nuovo Gabbiano complement it, the location is perfect, the view amazing.

The people who work in the place are the same as 2 years ago in my first visit.

Everybody made you feel so welcome and very comfortable, excellent service

A good positive point, the free Wi-Fi, wish is very helpful if you cant wait to post the photos in Facebook, or just need to be communicate =)

The restaurants are lovely, as they have Terrance, inside, and al fresco, all 3 in from of the sea

The food wow!, delicious, love the tuna pasta with a Asian twist, and the nero tagliatelle yummy, all the menu is delicious, and the dessert !!!! You can see the chef really love what she do, the menu is lovely interesting, and everything is so fresh!!!
and of course dont forget the MIrto!!! =)

Will back in September with my other half, and of course with out any discussion we are happy to back to our second home Il Nuovo Gabbiano =)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoncatangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Goodmorning Angela,
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday. See you in September!
Roberta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Cala Gonone was our favorite place in Italy.. It's simply amazing! Il Nuovo Gabbiano not only has the perfect location but the people who work and run the place are so friendly and helpful. The food in there restaurant was so delicious. If it were possible we'd return every year...unfortunately it's a long way from Minnesota.
I'm sure people reading this would also like to know that our room was Very nice and Very clean. YOU SHOULD STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUttRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Il Nuovo Gabbiano Hotel. All clients’ comments are important to improve the quality of our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Best wishes, Roberta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The best asset of this hotel is its location, right on the harbour of Cala Gonone and is best enjoyed in a room with seaview and balcony. In off-season, free parking next to the hotel is easily available.

Roberta, the receptionist is multi-lingual and eager to help out with tips on surrounding activities and to make your stay enjoyable. At check-out she also waived a couple of extras from the invoice.

Rooms are clean but not very big or fancy. Bed will seem a bit too firm to some. Also it is not well sound-proofed, among other things expect to hear the door of every guest room slam as guest come in and out.

The hotel has a restaurant where you can enjoy the view over the harbor. You also get 10% off and a free glass of proseco to welcome you. But that would be the only real positives, we took each a fish and none tasted fresh.

The breakfast offers multiple choice and if you favor quantity over quality you will enjoy it. If you enjoy fresh juicy, tasty bread and croissant, you won't.

If you can get over those shortcomings you should greatly enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view rooms will give you the best view and are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavupapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews