We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for other alternatives in Bosa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look for other alternatives in Bosa.”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great location right by the beach, however the positives stop there. We booked this hotel kind of late. Since most other hotels where full due to the vacations of many italians we settled for this one. First of all, the breakfast buffet as someone else mentioned was nothing short of disaster, a range of pre made goods with to much sweeteners was all that was offered. In the end of our stay we settled for coffee and cornetto at one of the local bars instead of cramming ourselves full of sugar at the hotel every morning. The staff was ok, but they refused to borrow us a wine opener without explanation to open our own botle that we brougt to our room, something we have always done without hassle at other hotels. You should also know that besides the room rate, you are required to pay 40 euros per person for a beach access card, whether you use it or not. Even though we used the beach every day we found that strange, since it immediately raises the price of the stay significantly. The worst thing however was the music they played every day from around 2-3 to midnight by the pool, mostly repeats of lady gaga at loud volume which made it hard to sleep and impossible to enjoy an afternoon on the balcony. Also teh internet connection in the lobby didn't work for the whole week so we had to go to to Bosa Center to visit internet cafes. All in all not a good hotel. However Bosa as a whole was fantastic, with great restaurants in the the old town and fantastic coves and beaches to explore all along the coast line.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazy_coin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    41
    44
    40
    70
See reviews for
108
83
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for just one night (luckily) and paid 80 Euros. The room was in need of rennovation with a horrible green bathroom suite. The bed was like sleeping on a sheet of cardboard and the pool had algae growth in it -not appealing! The staff were friendly enough but what was the real shocker was the 'buffet breakfast' -the buffet was a selection of jams and butter with no rolls or ham and cheese as in all the others, just a few slices of stale bread and some rock hard croissants covered in icing sugar to disguise the fact they were too old! The cereal was also well past its sell by date -not even edible and the juice was like water. The one plus side was that the location was good!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucytheengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bosa hotels

Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

From reading the reviews that had been placed on this site I went away not knowing what to expect. I was pleasantly suprised when I got there. The resort is not developed as a tourist area, but that should not put you off. The hotel was lovely, there was three in our room and it was not too cramped, and had a lovely sea view. You could tell that it was the first year that the hotel had welcomed English holiday makers but the staff and entertaintment team were very helpful and friendly. The food selection was amazing there was no shortage of what to choose. The antipasti was excellent . There was a pasta section each night meat and freshly caught fish. Some of the puddings were typically Sardinian but fresh fruit was available. The hotel's section of beach is very well maintained. There is a designated lifeguard for the hotel guests. Sun beds are very comfortable I spent a week sunbathing on the beach. The evening entertainment was excelent, o.k it was in Italian but they do try to make it inclusive, they work very hard. I found myself laughing each night. Overall I found this holiday very enjoyable and yes I have and would recomend this hotel to friends and family. It was extremely relaxing and we all came home feeling as though it was one of the best holidays that we had had in recent years. Good value for money.

  • Liked — The proximity to the beach, and the relaxing atmoshere
  • Disliked — The fruit juice at breackfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont expect a lively night life.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maysie-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Resort:
The Malaspina is in a great location beside the sandy beach in Bosa Marina.
Bosa Marina is a Italian resort with few Europeans - it almost seemed like the Thomson Holidaymakers were the only non-Italians in the town. This means you will need to know a few Italian phrases if you want to get buy in the bars, pizzerias, super-markets and gelaterias.
All the locals and other Italian holiday makers were really friendly.

Having driven around some of the other Sardinian resorts, we were glad to be in a location that was quiet and yet still had a town nearby.

Restaurants:
Bosa Marina: Try Celo - wonderful balcony overlooking the beach, so get a sunset reservation.
Bosa Town : Ponte Vecchio (spelling?) - restaurant is on the riverside, and again get a sunset reservation.

Hotel:
The majority of the guests are Italian holidaymakers.

It's got great pools - one 'big' pool, and a smaller one ideal for kids.

Food is good - don't be late if you want the full choice of the antipasti dishes.
Format for lunch and evening meals was
- help-yourself to a wide selection of Italian antipasti (I would guess there was normally about 15 different things to choose from)
- 3 pasta dishes (or risotto)
- Meat (roast pork, chicken) and Fish + vegetables which were only average

Breakfast was continental - cereals, fruit, breads/croissant, cheese+meats

Hotel Entertainment:
There was cabaret every night - in Italian primarily, (a few amusing attempts to use English included).
Other daily activities for kids, and aqua aerobics (which the Italian grannies seemed to enjoy)

Rooms:
Very clean - daily maid service.
Good aircon.
Ours was facing away from the pool which made it very quiet (we didn't hear any noise at all)

Staff:
Not much English spoken, all friendly (the exception being a slightly surly bar lady)

Bar:
Not cheap!

Beach:
50 yards from the hotel. Hotel has private section with no problem getting one of the free sun-beds with umbrella.
There's a beach bar nearby which is a lot cheaper than the hotel bar.

Tips:
Get a car and explore the island.
Visit the beaches at Stintino and the Emerald Coast.
We were unimpressed with the Grottos north of Algherro - expensive for what you got/saw.

Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and resort to anyone who is looking for a holiday that is authentic (i.e. no English chip shops anywhere).
- Just make sure you go when the resort is 'open' i.e. not in June.

  • Liked — It's right near the beach in a quiet location
  • Disliked — Not a lot - bar seemed expensive and you have to wear a swimming hat in the pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Hire a car and explore the island.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mr_uk_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

General: The hotel is at the south end of Bosa Marina (making it about 2km from central Bosa) and set about 50m back from the beach (separated from the beach by a tramline and relatively quiet road). The beach is huge and clean (the hotel has its own private section - free sunbeds and umbrellas). There are a number of small cafes along the beach. The nearest shops are at the north end of Bosa Marina (five to ten minutes walk.). The nearest place to change money is Bosa (the Bank of Sardinia has got an ATM that takes UK credit cards). Cash is king, credit cards are generally OK, traveller’s cheques are a pain. Getting to Bosa is easy enough (there’s a “road train” that goes from just outside the hotel). The locals are very friendly but very few speak English (a bit of Italian goes along way).

The Hotel: The hotel caters mostly for the home market (i.e. Italians) who were very friendly. It has a large deep fresh water pool (be careful with kids), a kids pool and a fully kitted gym. There is a twice daily “mini club” (for children from about four to ten years and which my daughter absolutely loved), various opt-in activities throughout the day and in the evening a cabaret. All of the entertainment is in Italian.

Accommodation: The room was clean and everything seemed to work. The plusses – air conditioning, fridge and a comfortable bed, the minuses – the room was a bit on the small side (even allowing for the two kids). For “Health and Safety” reasons, if you're from the UK and booked a room with a sea view there is a good chance you wont get it.

Food: Breakfast was full continental. Dinner was very Italian/Sardinian and comprised hore'derves, pasta, a main (choice of meat or fish) and dessert. The food was generally of high standard although the hore'derves ran low quickly and the desserts were a bit variable.

Overall impression: The hotel is a family owned/run Italian orientated hotel. It’s very good if you’ve got kids and/or you don’t want anything to brash (everything is quiet by midnight). You can/could pick holes and say this or that wasn’t quite right but the hotel has an atmosphere that you can’t give a grading for but which makes the difference between a holiday you’ll remember (for the right reasons) and one you’ll forget. For us it was perfect.

  • Liked — Entertainment
  • Disliked — Little English spoken
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take Travellers Cheques
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We have just returned from this hotel and agree with the last review that this is not a 4 star hotel. As a 3 star I would rate it as average. Food choice was poor and it was often luke warm. We were particularly disappointed in the breakfast which was a cold buffet with tinned fruit and watery orange squash in paper cups. There was never any variation. The outside terrace on which we ate breakfast was not clean (bird droppings everywhere) and the plant was unkempt with weeds growing from the pot. On the plus side the beach was lovely (although the free loungers were not very comfortable) and it was possible to spend some quiet time around the pool (in between the aquaerobics and games). The rooms were adequate, comfortable and clean with good sized private balconies. Ours was quiet and faced the front of the hotel but I wouldn't have liked to be in one facing the pool or animation area as it would have been noisy. To be fair to the hotel staff, this is their first year of English guests and they are making a big effort to learn English (unfortunately the same can't be said of the majority of English guests who did not attempt any Italian) and were all helpful and friendly. There are several beachside bars/restaurants and ice cream parlours within easy walking distance of the hotel. Bosa old town was a bus or road train ride away, otherwise a 40 minute walk. It had a certain charm and the climb to the castle was worthwhile for the views and the frescoes in the church. The town, however, was rather scruffy and wasn't worth more than a morning's visit. We hired a car and went to Alghero old town which was lovely and then on up to Capo Caccia - stunning scenery. On the whole we enjoyed our stay. Sardinia was lovely and we would definitely return but not to this town or this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grannybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have just returned from a week staying at Hotel Club Malaspina and Thomson need to change their rating for this hotel fast! The hotel was 3* at best as having stayed at numerous Thomson 4T HB hotels this was by far the worse. Okay, one of the reasons for it being so poor was that it was the beginning of the season so Bosa was just starting to "come alive" as the rep stated. It was still virtually lifeless...hotel is 45 minutes walk from town but not a lot to do when you get there. Very pretty town but not good for shopping. There are no taxis and only one bus that runs about once an hour.
The hotel is new to Thomson so the only English were those that arrived on Saturday flight. We found that most of the excursions we did try to book through Thomson were cancelled because they didn't have enough people to enable the trip to go ahead as it's the only Thomson hotel in the area (nearest being about 45mins drive away).
We had a welcome meeting 2 hours after arriving and rep mentioned that Italians don't like their food hot like the English. This made us suspicious and we actually asked the rep if there had been complaints about food not being warm and she said no....she lied!
There is NO hot food available as there are no hot plates. Our first evening meal was a huge disappointment. Starters were a choice of luke warm soup (vegetable most of the week) or 2 pasta dishes. Main course was choice of one fish or one meat (pork most of week) with cooked potatoes. These were also luke warm as the meat is carved off the bone and fish served from a large silver plate and potatoes (the only cooked veg available) were just brought out in a large serving tray and if you didn't get them as soon as they were brought out from kitchen then they too would be cold. The salad bar was the only thing you helped yourself to and that was okay but not a great choice. Now for the dessert...only one... and 3 out of the 7 nights was creme caramel...yuck! You would think in Italy that there would be ice cream but no...probably as they didn't have anyway of keeping it cold! Restaurant is open at lunch time but wasn't going to pay for more cold food, only alternative were rolls available at the bar. There are no cooked breakfasts and little choice of what cold food was available (no fresh fruit at any meal!). Entertainment was limited as the Italian animation team didn't speak much English so they focused on the Italians at hotel. Only one small lounge and bar, totally inadequate for the number of people staying there. Swimming pool was very dangerous for children as there are 2 spring boards at the deep end which attracted the children but no signs by the pool as to the depth. You also have to buy swimming hats before you can use the non-heated pool! If it wasn't for the glorious weather (week before had been rain most of the time) and the lovely beach across the road with hotel's own beds and umbrellas, I would have wanted to go home after a day! If you want a relaxing (won't say quiet as the Italians are so noisy!) holiday and you enjoy salads then this is the hotel for you. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone though. I have posted a review on Thomson website but they have yet to add it to the other 'excellent' review....I wonder why!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank HertfordshireGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosa
0.1 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sa Pischedda Bosa
0.4 mi away
Baja Romantica
Baja Romantica
#9 of 15 in Bosa
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Al Gabbiano
Hotel Al Gabbiano
#7 of 15 in Bosa
91 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corte Fiorita
Corte Fiorita
#3 of 15 in Bosa
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Malaspina

Property: Club Hotel Malaspina
Address: Via Genova, 58, 08013 Bosa, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Bosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel Malaspina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Club Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Malaspina Bosa, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing