We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It must have improved ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Reviewed July 24, 2006

General: The hotel is at the south end of Bosa Marina (making it about 2km from central Bosa) and set about 50m back from the beach (separated from the beach by a tramline and relatively quiet road). The beach is huge and clean (the hotel has its own private section - free sunbeds and umbrellas). There are a number of small cafes along the beach. The nearest shops are at the north end of Bosa Marina (five to ten minutes walk.). The nearest place to change money is Bosa (the Bank of Sardinia has got an ATM that takes UK credit cards). Cash is king, credit cards are generally OK, traveller’s cheques are a pain. Getting to Bosa is easy enough (there’s a “road train” that goes from just outside the hotel). The locals are very friendly but very few speak English (a bit of Italian goes along way).

The Hotel: The hotel caters mostly for the home market (i.e. Italians) who were very friendly. It has a large deep fresh water pool (be careful with kids), a kids pool and a fully kitted gym. There is a twice daily “mini club” (for children from about four to ten years and which my daughter absolutely loved), various opt-in activities throughout the day and in the evening a cabaret. All of the entertainment is in Italian.

Accommodation: The room was clean and everything seemed to work. The plusses – air conditioning, fridge and a comfortable bed, the minuses – the room was a bit on the small side (even allowing for the two kids). For “Health and Safety” reasons, if you're from the UK and booked a room with a sea view there is a good chance you wont get it.

Food: Breakfast was full continental. Dinner was very Italian/Sardinian and comprised hore'derves, pasta, a main (choice of meat or fish) and dessert. The food was generally of high standard although the hore'derves ran low quickly and the desserts were a bit variable.

Overall impression: The hotel is a family owned/run Italian orientated hotel. It’s very good if you’ve got kids and/or you don’t want anything to brash (everything is quiet by midnight). You can/could pick holes and say this or that wasn’t quite right but the hotel has an atmosphere that you can’t give a grading for but which makes the difference between a holiday you’ll remember (for the right reasons) and one you’ll forget. For us it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 283 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2006

We have just returned from this hotel and agree with the last review that this is not a 4 star hotel. As a 3 star I would rate it as average. Food choice was poor and it was often luke warm. We were particularly disappointed in the breakfast which was a cold buffet with tinned fruit and watery orange squash in paper cups. There was never any variation. The outside terrace on which we ate breakfast was not clean (bird droppings everywhere) and the plant was unkempt with weeds growing from the pot. On the plus side the beach was lovely (although the free loungers were not very comfortable) and it was possible to spend some quiet time around the pool (in between the aquaerobics and games). The rooms were adequate, comfortable and clean with good sized private balconies. Ours was quiet and faced the front of the hotel but I wouldn't have liked to be in one facing the pool or animation area as it would have been noisy. To be fair to the hotel staff, this is their first year of English guests and they are making a big effort to learn English (unfortunately the same can't be said of the majority of English guests who did not attempt any Italian) and were all helpful and friendly. There are several beachside bars/restaurants and ice cream parlours within easy walking distance of the hotel. Bosa old town was a bus or road train ride away, otherwise a 40 minute walk. It had a certain charm and the climb to the castle was worthwhile for the views and the frescoes in the church. The town, however, was rather scruffy and wasn't worth more than a morning's visit. We hired a car and went to Alghero old town which was lovely and then on up to Capo Caccia - stunning scenery. On the whole we enjoyed our stay. Sardinia was lovely and we would definitely return but not to this town or this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank grannybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have just returned from a week staying at Hotel Club Malaspina and Thomson need to change their rating for this hotel fast! The hotel was 3* at best as having stayed at numerous Thomson 4T HB hotels this was by far the worse. Okay, one of the reasons for it being so poor was that it was the beginning of the season so Bosa was just starting to "come alive" as the rep stated. It was still virtually lifeless...hotel is 45 minutes walk from town but not a lot to do when you get there. Very pretty town but not good for shopping. There are no taxis and only one bus that runs about once an hour.
The hotel is new to Thomson so the only English were those that arrived on Saturday flight. We found that most of the excursions we did try to book through Thomson were cancelled because they didn't have enough people to enable the trip to go ahead as it's the only Thomson hotel in the area (nearest being about 45mins drive away).
We had a welcome meeting 2 hours after arriving and rep mentioned that Italians don't like their food hot like the English. This made us suspicious and we actually asked the rep if there had been complaints about food not being warm and she said no....she lied!
There is NO hot food available as there are no hot plates. Our first evening meal was a huge disappointment. Starters were a choice of luke warm soup (vegetable most of the week) or 2 pasta dishes. Main course was choice of one fish or one meat (pork most of week) with cooked potatoes. These were also luke warm as the meat is carved off the bone and fish served from a large silver plate and potatoes (the only cooked veg available) were just brought out in a large serving tray and if you didn't get them as soon as they were brought out from kitchen then they too would be cold. The salad bar was the only thing you helped yourself to and that was okay but not a great choice. Now for the dessert...only one... and 3 out of the 7 nights was creme caramel...yuck! You would think in Italy that there would be ice cream but no...probably as they didn't have anyway of keeping it cold! Restaurant is open at lunch time but wasn't going to pay for more cold food, only alternative were rolls available at the bar. There are no cooked breakfasts and little choice of what cold food was available (no fresh fruit at any meal!). Entertainment was limited as the Italian animation team didn't speak much English so they focused on the Italians at hotel. Only one small lounge and bar, totally inadequate for the number of people staying there. Swimming pool was very dangerous for children as there are 2 spring boards at the deep end which attracted the children but no signs by the pool as to the depth. You also have to buy swimming hats before you can use the non-heated pool! If it wasn't for the glorious weather (week before had been rain most of the time) and the lovely beach across the road with hotel's own beds and umbrellas, I would have wanted to go home after a day! If you want a relaxing (won't say quiet as the Italians are so noisy!) holiday and you enjoy salads then this is the hotel for you. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone though. I have posted a review on Thomson website but they have yet to add it to the other 'excellent' review....I wonder why!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank HertfordshireGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank kabraMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cafeRidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 339Davide87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosa
0.1 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baja Romantica
Baja Romantica
#9 of 15 in Bosa
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sa Pischedda Bosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sporting Hotel Stella Maris
1.2 mi away
S' Ammentu
S' Ammentu
#5 of 15 in Bosa
113 reviews
17.0 mi away
Is Arenas Resort
Is Arenas Resort
#1 of 1 in Narbolia
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Malaspina

Address: Via Genova, 58, 08013 Bosa, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Bosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Price Range: $90 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel Malaspina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Malaspina Bosa, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing