We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, out of the way, but central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Su Baione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Su Baione
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, out of the way, but central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Here for a family wedding reception (took over the whole hotel for the weekend). We stayed a full week and loved it!. Hacienda-style building, our room was huge and although quite basic was very comfortable and spotless. French doors opened on to a small patio facing the meadow. Could have done with a little more shelf space, especially in the bathroom, but this didn't detract. Food in restaurant was delicious and cooked to order. Staff amazingly helpful/friendly - nothing was too much trouble - some English and French spoken.
All the other wedding guests had departed so on our last day we had the whole hotel/pool/restaurant to ourselves, like having our own villa plus servants for the day!!
Does appear to be in the middle of nowhere, so car plus satnav is essential.
Will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter (corridors echo), but each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pashkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    13
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
35
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

It's hard to know what to make of this hotel. We stayed here because we needed a hotel in the area. It is a ranch style hotel 5 or so kilometers off the motorway. There is nothing else near it.
We were there in the third week of September. There were only, I think, six other guests ie maybe four rooms out of maybe 40 were occupied. The rooms are large & clean & the beds big & comfortable. But the food in the restaurant was not very good & the staff were downright awful. When we arrived we were told we had arrived on the wrong day: we hadn't. But there wasn't a word of apology!
Maybe if you went with kids earlier in the summer , it might be a good place? There is a pool & , I think, horse riding is available..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david-206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Thought we had taken wrong road, as hotel signs small after leaving motorway, Road narrow & winding through tall grasses & untended meadows of cork trees, so tempted to turn back, but finally came upon modern hacienda style building, with many cars parked nearby - attending wedding function, as it turned out! Swimming pool & garden area well maintained & attractive. Reception very efficient & welcoming, with some English spoken. Escorted along tiled corridor to very large, clean room with attractive decor, which opened via French doors onto central grassed courtyard with ancient olive trees. Bathroom spotless & modern - couldn't fault our accommodation - real value for money! Breakfast next morning was bit sparse, as group of bike riders had eaten earlier & just about cleaned out kitchen supplies! Also, as hotel is isolated, it is necessary to drive to nearest town of Abbasanta (6km) to find alternate meal to on-site restaurant, which was bit pricey for us. Having read previous reviews, we knew that there would only be 1 pizza place there, but fortunately pizzas were great! - much cheaper than A la carte in hotel! Overall, hotel was one of best that we stayed in while in Sardinia, but rather isolated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L.A.M.60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Su Baione is a nice hotel with spacious rooms and pretty gardens.

It's in a remote spot so probably best for travellers with children. But a good base if you have a car.

The food is not great and it took about 10 minutes of running the shower to get hot water out of it.

I found the staff helpful apart from one who was a bit useless. They booked us a great horse-riding trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateJolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

We Liked:

- Our large spacious room
- About half of the staff were very friendly and helpful
- Free wifi
- Freshly ground coffee included with breakfast

We dislliked:

- The dirty nappies in the bathroom bin from a previous guest (which smelled disgusting)
- About half of the staff did not seem too interested in ensuring we enjoyed our stay
- The fact that in the evening there was no hot water in the shower
- No wifi or internet connection in our room (just in the hotel lobby)
- No drawers in the room
- Breakfast was the worst we have experienced in any hotel. Food selection was very poor and left uncovered for flies to roam upon. There was no cooked food choice. (The coffee was good though.)
- Poor quality restaurant food with quite a limited menu
- The dirty looking swimming pool
- Being left to find our room ourselves - there are no directions to rooms
- No welcome, no help with luggage, no thank-you when we left

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millionyearsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at Su Baione at the end of a 10 day trip around Sardinia. It was wonderful. Our room was spotless, large, inviting. The children aged 8, 11 and 12 loved every minute, especially the horses that roam freely! The hotel is in the countryside but very near to the motorway so very easily accessed and brilliant signs.
The manager Enrico, went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He bought the children toys for the pool and equipped his television/dvd room with a remote in order for them to watch films in English.
Dinner was lovely in the garden and the set priced menu very reasonable. One evening we took the children to a local pizzeria (also excellent) and we went back to have a peaceful dinner for the 2 of us, while the children watched a film. A great end to our holiday. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreBWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

A very good hotel in a very quiet and peaceful location with very considerate and helpful staff and an owner who takes a real pride in his hotel. The hotel is a couple of kilometres from the motorway on an attractive site in the middle of cork oaks and farming land, The buildings are quite modern but in a traditional style with a very nice courtyard to take meals in and a good pool area which was never busy. The staff were all outstanding, very friendly, considerate and clearly wanted to make all the guests feel at home. All meals were being served on the terrace, the breakfast was traditional with plenty of choice, the evening set price menu had several options for each course and was very good quality and value, the a la carte menu was also good with some interesting regional dishes.

The room was large with decent air conditioning, modern fittings and a good bed. Each room on our floor had a patio area onto an internal courtyard which was carefully planted and gave a very nice place to sit in the cool of the evening, (upstairs rooms all had their own balconies I think). The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and well decorated. Although a little off the beaten track the nearby motorway made it easy to visit many places of interest and beaches quite quickly.

All this and an excellent price too (£68 a night for the double room). This is really an excellent hotel with great staff in a very attractive quiet part of the island, which is suitable for those who just want to relax by the pool or those who want to investigate the history and culture of the region.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbasanta
8.2 mi away
Sardegna Grand Hotel Terme
Sardegna Grand Hotel Terme
#1 of 1 in Fordongianus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mandra Edera Country Hotel
Mandra Edera Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Abbasanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sa Mola
Sa Mola
#1 of 1 in Bonarcado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
15.0 mi away
Hotel la Baja
Hotel la Baja
#1 of 1 in Santa Caterina di Pittinuri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
76.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Su Baione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Su Baione

Property: Hotel Su Baione
Address: Localita Losa 1, 09071 Abbasanta, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Abbasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Su Baione 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel in the heart of historic Sardinia, Su Baione offers typically decorated accommodations and comprehensive amenities amidst the picturesque tranquillity of unspoiled native woods. With 31 comfortable and well fitted rooms, a typical restaurant using fresh local products, a gorgeous swimming pool, and a thoroughly equipped gym, the hotel offers a relaxing and revigorating base from which to further explore the region. The famed archaeological site of Nuraghe Losa sits only a short walk away, and ancient treasures are abundant throughout the entire area. As a guest of Hotel Su Baione, you may enjoy all year round a host of activities including horse riding, canoeing, mountain biking, golf, and trekking (to name only a few), making the most of your stay in Sardinia whenever you choose to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Su Baione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Su Baione Hotel
Hotel Su Baione Abbasanta, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing