We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Paolo al Convento
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great room, large, clean huge bathroom. Very good staff. Nice breakfeast. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    136
    61
    27
    7
See reviews for
35
147
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is lovely, and the staff is too. To stay here is to really feel you're in Italy, as there are not swarms of Americans around (but we were there in April before tourist season), and you don't feel it caters to Americans. However, not many go to Trani anyway, which is a lovely town after you get past the modern parts. You want to be on the waterfront where the hotel is. Not many tourist sights in Trani, but we had the best days of our trip here, feeling we were in an old Italian town and just wandering freely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Festivamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I would echo the other reviews in that this is a well-appointed hotel overlooking a beautiful little harbor, conveniently located to the bars and restaurants.

However, I would also echo the comments about noise. People tend to walk and congregate along the wall around the harbor and you do get that noise. Also, some of the cafes play loud music past midnight and the sound carries across the water. You have a choice between a stuffy room or open windows with noise.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel and some earplugs for sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PainDoc5653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Our tour of Puglia began in Trani, which is a delightful starting point for the region, with its interesting old fort and cathedral, great on-the-dock fish market, picturesque harbour and promenade, all of which we could view from the windows of our room in the charming old Hotel San Paulo. We were warmly greeted by the staff, were provided an excellent clean room, and a very acceptable continental breakfast with the usual South Italian breads, cheeses and meats.
The hotel is on a quiet street, although there is some late-night revelry on the promenade below our windows that might bother light sleepers - but it's a fair trade-off for the great views.
The hotel staff gave us good dining advice, and we highly recommend the Osteria Corteinfiore, especially for its extraordinary seafood antipasta.
One word of caution: the morning train from Rome arrives during afternoon siesta in Trani, and taxis to the hotel are virtually impossible to find. Perhaps arrange ahead of time for the hotel to find one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was very spacious with a terrace overlooking parts of the habour and the park behind the hotel. The location is great if you would like to visit the cathedral and the harbour. There are some nice bars and restaurants in only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The receptionist recommended us the 'beach' next to the hotel. Be aware that this is not a sandy beach but just some concrete place from where you can access the water. It is nicer to drive to a real beach around Trani. Parking was available righ in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-expert71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We spend three nights here in Trani, a delightful city on the Adriatic, known as "the Pearl of Puglia". For 150 euros (we splurged since our usual budget is 80e) we had a magnificent room overlooking the enchanting harbour. The room was as big as our living/dining room back home and the bathroom, all red marble, was the size of a normal hotel room in Peschici (where we'd stayed the night before). The ceilings must have been 14 foot high and the windows almost matched, with a stunning view of the harbour. The breakfast room, the cloister....everything so lofty and serene! My poor husband either got a virus or food poisoning on our second night but the dear receptionist phoned ahead to Matera and was able to get our first night's accommodation cancelled with no penalty! It was highly amusing to watch her describe the "deathly" situation with my husband, almost a death's door and going to the hospital (well, not exactly, but that was the line she took!). The scene: me, the housekeeper, two other employees, all leaning over the front desk, anxiously looking at each other and the receptionist as she finally reached her goal: "Perfetto! Non pagaranno? Si, si!" No, we would not have to pay. Moreover, the staff were so kind in helping us to find the best restaurants in town: Pesevenghi, Gallo, Corte in Fiore (the latter we were unable to visit). Another place, the pizzeria Pizza e Vino, recommended by the clothier, was "perfetto", too....for, after all the food at Pesevenghi and Gallo the day before, we could barely handle pizza! Be forewarned: when one orders "antipasti" in Puglia, nothing else is needed! You'll be inundated with food before you even get to the primo! Ah, Trani! Now, if they would only do something about all the abandoned dogs....yes, they're abandoned. I thought they were waiting for their fisherman masters but I was wrong. And except for the one shivering, sick animal (how scary! was it distemper, could it be rabies?) I saw on the day my husband was sick and shivering in his bed (what a weird coincicence!), all these magnificent dogs which ran amongst the people or lay snoozing in the sun were once beloved pets....how to understand this? The waiter said it was "la mentalita' del Sud", the mentality of the South....no money for the SPCA, he said...but I said, "Look at these people, look at their "fashions"...there's money but not for the animals." On the other hand, unlike Vancouver, there were NO PEOPLE SLEEPING on the the streets....a conundrum.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I stayed here with an expensive cultural tour. My room was relatively comfortable but the service was poor. The waiters in the breakfast room were most unhelpful. When i was leaving I found the night before I was unable to open the safe. I told the staff and said that I would need to have it opened before 9am the next morning. I came down early and waited for an hour and a half. Eventually the tour leader had to almost drag the receptionist to the room, where it was found that the battery of the safe had expired. No apology was made

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliciasynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trani hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lucy
Hotel Lucy
#2 of 6 in Trani
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regia Ristorante
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#6 of 6 in Trani
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Bella Trani - Suites and B&B
0.1 mi away
Mare Resort
Mare Resort
#3 of 6 in Trani
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Stanze di Corteinfiore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Paolo al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Paolo al Convento

Property: Hotel San Paolo al Convento
Address: Via Statuti Marittimi 111, 70059 Trani, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Trani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Paolo al Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Paolo al Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing