We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, well located and good value”
Review of Hotel Lucy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lucy
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Albergo Lucy, a renovated Palazzo, is a pleasure to stay at. Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza Plebiscito. You will have a balcony, a view of life in the town and keep an eye on your parked car. The rooms are clean, well furnished and bright with high ceilings and tall glazed doors to the balconies. Very friendly and helpful staff. Trani itself is well worth the visit and, if you are running late as we were, you can make the Bari airport in half an hour.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellently placed family run central hotel. We stayed in a sympathetically restored high ceilinged room overlooking a central square. Comfortably furnished and well appointed. Good for walking round Trani which is a 40-50 minute drive from Bari airport. Luca gave us very clear instructions from Bari and was full of helpful suggestions. A lively and lovely spot. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Albergo Lucy in the charming village of Trani. After days of struggling to find hotels in tiny city centres with one way streets and no space either side of the car, it was a relief to be given clear directions, and to find parking close by. The room was, as promised, light and airy, spacious, had wifi (not always easy to find in Italy), and a tiny balcony overlooking the square. The owner was extremely helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophile51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room does have the feeling of being very large due to the high ceilings. You can conviently park close. We had the room with the small balconey over looking the square where we were able to see out into what seemed to be an elementary school celebration of some kind with little kids running all around and doing some dances and what not. The location is great next to the promenade and small park. The park is spectacular you can just go for a stroll see the great gardens in the park and there is a small playground and the turtles and there is a free area to walk in with aquariums displaying different types of fish.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the square with the balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is really fantastic in every way! The location is perfect! Near the harbor in the old town. (a big plus is that you can park your car very easy for a small fee.)
We had a big, nice and tasteful room overlooking the park and a nice square? The owner is so friendly, he gave us a lot of tips about the area, he is very well informed.
We can recommend anyone to stay here, you will absolutely not regret!! Sabine K.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived in Trani unexpectedly. Our destination was intended to be Vieste, but after driving through the promontory, and discovering it is essentially a trailer park of camping Germans, we decided to change plans and move on to Bari for a night or two. Before approaching Bari, we dropped into Trani on a whim, and discovered a gem of a town. We were so delighted with the little port town, we decided to stay the night there instead of Bari. Albergo Lucy, right at the cusp of the port and the city seemed the perfect location to bed down, so we inquired about a room without reservation. The man that greeted us showed us a very spacious room with elegant vaulted ceilings, antique furnishings and a lovely balcony, all for 65-EUR, a bargain compared to the squalid accommodations offered to us for double the rate in Vieste. We booked it for one night, and went out to explore the town. Trani enchanted us, with it's sparkling port and abundance of restaurants, bars, and shops in spite of its small-town charm. We enjoyed the town, and our room at Albergo Lucy so much that we extended our stay to two nights.
The rooms at Albergo Lucy are not only spacious, but very comfortable, and the location is ideal. There is plenty of street parking directly in front of the hotel, which is metered (although, admittedly, we never paid the meter and were never ticketed). The town is quite small, so all of it's bountiful dining and nightlife options are easily reached on foot. There is no breakfast provided, and no fridge in the room. Other travelers have noted that there is no AC, which I did not notice as my stay was in mid-September and the temps were quite moderate, but in July/August heat I could see this being problematic. Staff is fluent in both Italian and English. I highly recommend this hotel, and Trani as a destination for anyone exploring Puglia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We initially struggled to find the entrance to the hotel which really isnt obvious. However behind the front door is a real gem of a hotel with beautiful high ceilings and rustic furniture.
The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean with plenty of clean towels. We were pre-warned that there was no A/C in the room but a large fan was provided which was more than sufficient.
The only down side was the fact that our room & balcony were near a busy road and a popular bar. There was a lot of noise throughout the night with people throwing bottles in the bottle bank at stupid o'clock, deliveries being made and received and LOTS of screaming and shouting from local kids. This meant a very disturbed night which in no way is the fault of the hotel, but did reduce the pleasure we took in our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoLucy, Proprietario at Hotel Lucy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

I'm glad to read you appreciated the hotel and our way of working. Probably you slept in the room on the street in summer time, with windows open and when the area is crowder than usual; the other rooms are quieter (they have balconies or windows on a pedestrian area or on a parking place of a school).
However next year the problem will be probably solved, we're installing air conditioning and it will be possibile to keep the windows closed during the night. The rooms in the hotel have a good sound insulation: the walls are very thick (1mt at the first floor and 80cm at the second) and in each room there are shutters outside, windows and shutter inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trani
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Paolo al Convento
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trani
Hotel Trani
#5 of 6 in Trani
105 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Salsello
Hotel Salsello
#4 of 5 in Bisceglie
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Memory Resort
Memory Resort
#3 of 5 in Bisceglie
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mare Resort
Mare Resort
#3 of 6 in Trani
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Bella Trani - Suites and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: Piazza Plebiscito 11, 76125 Trani, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Trani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Price Range: $85 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albergo Lucy!Hotel Lucy was realized in a 19th century building, managed according to a eco-friendly way of life. It is the ideal place from which to begin your holiday in Apulia, wheter you're visiting the historical center with its medieval harbor or using Trani as a base to explore nearby cities and towns. Trani is reached by train, car or bicycle with the train station only 400 meters from the hotel. Bicycle travellers can enjoy indoor parking.The "villa comunale", beautiful public garden situated along the sea, is the perfect place for a stroll or for the kids to play, or take the esplanade along the sea for a longer walk or run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lucy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Lucy Trani
Albergo Lucy Hotel Trani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing