We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, creative seafood”
Review of Quintessenza

Quintessenza
Ranked #1 of 253 Restaurants in Trani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $104
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A contemporary Mediterranean cuisine with roots on Puglia, tasty and light, affordable and understandable, made of elegance and concentration of flavors, always emphasizing simplicity and aiming to preserve the identity of each ingredient not to confuse it.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding, creative seafood”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Clearly one of the best, most creative seafood meals ever. Antipasti included grilled octopus with green beans, baccala that was succulent and sweet, salmon with a cream sauce, grilled shrimp, then orecchiette with almond pesto and frutti di mare. The waitsatff were very helpful and rightly encouraged us to wait to decide on more after the primo piatto.

If you like seafood prepared with respect and immagination, try Quintessenza.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintessenza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quintessenza, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mr Weber,
thank you for sharing your thoughts, for your positive and detailed review.
We appreciate the praise, the full trust you placed on us has put us in a position to express ourselves in the rightest ond honest way we've could.
It 's been a pleasure to meet you.

Domenico Di Gennaro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    152
    31
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful end to a holiday. I was looking at trip advisor as a suggestion where to spend our
Last evening in Trani, and I am so pleased that we choose Quintessenza. We were the first ones in the restaurant in the evening and we were given 100 per cent attention, all the dishes were
Carefully explained to us and it was very difficult to make up our minds. Each dish was perfectly cooked, presented and explained to us. We did not have to decide on the whole meal at the beginning, we gradually decided after each course. The fish was wonderfully fresh and very
Simply cooked, which allowed us to enjoy the full natural flavour of the dish.
After a very refreshing lemon sorbet and a glass of local Moscat wine we received a very
Modest bill for what was a very memorable dinner and evening. Thank you. Ann & Jeff - UK.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann D Walker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintessenza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quintessenza, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Jeff and Ann,
sorry for the late answer, it seems like italian review are showen first on TripAd so we didn't realize you didn't get answer from us.
By the way we wanted to thank you for the nice contribution on this social network and we appreciate you choose us for your last evening in Trani. As always happen when somebody come from abroad ( well... even if for people from here ) we wanted to must give the best of us to honour the hospitality of this city, of this area, of Puglia. And we're glad to read that it happen.

Domenico Di Gennaro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic - highly recommend”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant with sympathetic decor in keeping with the old part of Trani but with a modern twist.
Our English speaking host had great knowledge of the area and it's history not to mention advising us on wines and food combinations.
He was beyond helpful and put together a bespoke menu when we explained that we didn't eat shell fish.
Marinated salmon and the lightest, fluffiest tempura cod were simply devine as was the recommended crisp white to accompany them.
Next came ravioli stuffed with roccota and aubergine together with fresh sliced smoked tuna and pasta with an almond pesto - both out of this world.
Although we were sorely tempted by the fresh fish selection, there was only room left for a refreshing home made sorbet.
When the bill arrived we were shocked at how cheap it was and left extra as were so satisfied with the meal and impeccable service. A visit to Quintessenza is a MUST for anyone visiting Trani.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintessenza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quintessenza, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sara,
sorry for the late answer, we've just realize we didn't before, probably because TripAd did show italians one with priority. by the way we really appreciate your excellente review, it is an honor for us to have people from abroad and grant them a nice experience, we want to be part of their memories, it happens the same for us when we travel to somewhere... and we're glad to read that probably it happen. We hope your all experience in Puglia was the same, who knows maybe one day you'll fell to come again.
And then you'll be always welcome.

Domenico Di Gennaro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A relative newcomer to the Trani restaurant scene is a family run restaurant opened by 4 brothers less than 12 months ago. I'm glad a friend of mine recommended this place as the food is the best in town without any doubt. Domenico (the English speaking brother) is lovely and friendly. The portions are quite generous and I was full after just shared antipasti. But you absolutely must try the pasta as well, even if you may burst afterwards.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonHello_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintessenza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quintessenza, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Come on... you not gonna burst, believe me!
Jokes aside, thanks so much London_Hello kitty user, it was a big pleasure have you at the restaurant for two times during your holidays in Trani. Hope you've enjoyed the time you've spent here and around through Apulia's land.
We're happy to know you had a nice experience at the restaurant and we thank you so much again for the nice review about us.
It was nice to meet you, maybe one day you could be in Trani again...
Say hello to your boyfriend(or husband) and your friends.

Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trani, Italy
1 review
“The restaurant to be visited by everyone!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I had the plaesure to visit this admiring restaurant in Trani. it is a seafood restaurant which will surely become the most popular of its kind. My dinner was not only a supper but an experience what i will never forget thanks to the waiter who introduced himself Domenico. From the first antipasti till the dessert(which was a perfect chocolate fondant) every single dish was well explained by him. He speaks a good English and has a perfect knowledge of the meal and vine they serve . That fact helps them to make a supper into a journey through the secrets of seafood even to the tourists. The presentation of the meals showed the professionalism and passion of the chef. Domenico was very friendly and kind just like the atmosphere during my dinner. i had the chance to talk to him and now i know Ristorante Quintessenza is a family run business (4 borthers). When i paid the really affordable bill i ran into the chef Stefano who asked me how was my experience at their restaurant. My answer was that: this was my best experience, everything was much better than it has ever been expected!! This is a stunning place with lovely people and fantastic food!! They really deserve to become the best restaurant of their region!! I am so lucky to going back tonight to have an other fantastic dinner. i think in this place everything is in a perfect harmony. There is nothing to be changed there.
i highly recommend it to everyone who likes seafood and want to have an amazing supper at the heart of this lovely city in Puglia

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabesz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintessenza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quintessenza, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Mr Gabesz,

you've been so generous with your review.
You cannot imangine how your full satisfaction make us so proud.
We were surprised with how much passion you were eating the dishes i could say that we were almost moved (and i'm not joking).
Thank you to put full confidence on us, that made things much easier.
It's been a pleasure to meet you and drive you through that experience.
We know you've stayed at trani several times already for your job so we wish you to see you again.
you'll always be more than welcome.

Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quintessenza also viewed

Trani, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Trani, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 
Trani, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Trani, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 

Been to Quintessenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing