We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but where's the spa?”
Review of Mare Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mare Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really loved Trani - and a good part of it was this hotel. We had a lovely room and the staff were exceptional. The only problem is - there is no spa! The hotel offers a "solarium" which is a set of deck chairs on the roof - and it offers massages for around 60 euros. Other than that, it is just a lovely hotel. Only 13 rooms. The hot water does take a while to kick in, but you are staying in a former palace. Worth the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Mare Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was slightly nervous when we arrived in Trani, having read a few reviews from Tripadvisor regarding very small windows in rooms etc. Well, there was absolutely no need, we walked into our room and thought 'wow'! Spacious, stylish and an amazing view over the Piazza and harbour. The whole hotel is gorgeous with a spa-like feel to it. The roof terrace provides a beautiful setting for breakfast each morning and a place to soak up some rays if that is what you like to do. It's a shame the hotel doesn't provide towels for this purpose, my only criticism of our stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful and provided us with all the information we needed. Due to the timing of our visit the roof top bar wasn't open despite it being absolutely scorching hot, which was a bit of a shame but seems as we could drink our drinks from the room fridge as part of the room rate it wasn't so much of a problem. If we return to the lovely town of Trani we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Mare resort again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great modernized hotel whilst keeping the spirit of the house intact.
Superb rooms and bathroom. Only 13 rooms. Great breakfast on the sunroof. Right in center of Trani, without any streetnoise.
We recommend highly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great experience, friendly staff and the most beautiful surroundings made the Mare Resort a perfect place to stay. We were there in May 2011, when the weather was perfect.
The staff were attentive and helpful, the room gorgeous. We had 3 rooms in our group, and they were all lovely. The large one overlooking the water was fabulous, but more expensive.
It was a bit hard finding the entrance to the hotel, but, when we rang, they sent someone to help us find our way. The rooftop terrace is stunning, and sitting there for breakfast and taking in the view is certainly special. Also, a great spot for seeing the sunset with a cocktail in your hand.

Room Tip: If the Euro is good value, get the rooms overlooking the water, it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I love this hotel,its archetecture was that of a castle,the marble staircases,the waterfall showers,the view from the balcony looking at the Mediterranean sea was breath taking,I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qcbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

as we made a last minute reservation we were not expecting much and even hotel seemed cheap as price.but all family was similing when we arrived our room.a perfect old palace.super clean,super organized with super kind and nice staff.we were staying 2 hours during breakfast on the terrace.to tell the truth we were lucky to find such place.and of course the smell will be on unforgettables list

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibelelif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great hotel in an old building right on Piazza Quercia overlooking the harbour. Nice, well appointed rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, although a bit understaffed. The poor receptionist had to handle not only reception but also opening and closing the parking in an adjacent palazzo and getting the bags down when we left (which we did not let her do but carrid them down ourselves)

The hotel is a bit hard to find and our gps system put us into a road closed off with a chain directly opposite the hotel. One of the staff saw us and walked over offering to guide me and the car to the hotel door and the parking which involved some navigating thru back roads. The hotel does not have a sign because it is in a protected historical building, the only indication is the writing on the big flowerpots on the sidewalk near the entrance.

Great Rooftop terrace with aview where they serve breakfast. They also have a restaurant on street level, both inside and outdoors. The hotel breakfast is good, although typical italian sweet stuff. The egg dishes we ordered were excellent.

Free wifi and secure parking (for a fee) were highly appreciated.

We loved the place and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trani
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Paolo al Convento
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lucy
Hotel Lucy
#2 of 6 in Trani
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regia Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trani
Hotel Trani
#5 of 6 in Trani
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#6 of 6 in Trani
93 reviews
3.4 mi away
Memory Resort
Memory Resort
#2 of 5 in Bisceglie
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Resort

Address: Piazza Quercia, 8, 70059 Trani, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Trani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Trani
Price Range: $128 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing