We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed overnight here to avoid the drive to Logan Airport on the morning of the 3 January 2014, when a severe snowstorm was forecast.

The price was good, the breakfast was fine, the room was comfortable with very good free wi-fi and reasonable TV news channels (yippee! I couldn't even find Fox News which was wonderful).

What really made the stay was the staff - really helpful and so calm when all was chaos around them - a lot of people looking for a room, luggage all over, endless enquiries. In particular we should thank all the reception staff who were lovely, the catering staff who probably get paid peanuts but were smiling and polite, and the deputy manager who was not only great but seemed to revel in the challenge of a snowstorm like a boy scout with a badge to achieve. Thanks and well done to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: Smile at reception and understand they are doing their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsultantNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

You could not have been more correct about our hotel staff. One of the great things that we have come to enjoy is a challenge and snow storms are just that - a challenge on many levels. We are very happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that you took the time to acknowledge our team and their efforts. We look forward to seeing you again in this new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 555 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The minute we walked in the door, greeted by such friendly staff..easy location off highway...clean, comfy rooms and warm cookies to boot.. she gave us directions to wonderful restaurant and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable after s long day of driving after a huge winter storm..price was great for Boston..neighborhood was safe and within walking distant to quite a few places..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ccyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

We appreciate you braving the winter blizzard to stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Free wifi, free parking, big full free breakfast (with hot items like eggs and bacon), two-room suites with fridge and microwave, 5 minute walk to subway, 5 minute run to Charles River running paths, what more could we ask for? Will definitely recommend this location to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the hallways have windows looking in two directions. Breakfast room can be u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moms76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for mentioning how close we are to everything, including the Charles River. As we are just three blocks from the Lechmere T station and about 10 minutes to the river, we are the perfect location for guests who want to see Boston without having to pay for Boston. We look forward to your next visit in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

STAY DETAILS
December 25-26, 2013
1 king guestroom
Rate: $72/night at Hotwire.com

I would recommend Holiday Inn Express Cambridge MA for proximity to stores and the MBTA (Boston's transit system), and value.

We booked the hotel via Hotwire without knowing the hotel name before booking. The total cost at Hotwire came up to $91.41 / night. It was listed as a 3-star hotel in the Charlestown area for Boston hotels and recommended by 95% by Hotwire guests. The amenities were:

Free Parking
Free Breakfast
Free Internet
Business Center
Internet access
Accessible for the blind
Accessible for the deaf
Accessible path of travel
In-room accessibility

LOCATION
The location was very convenient. It was 4 blocks away from the Lechmere station of the MBTA Green Line (see pink on MBTA map I uploaded). You probably won't even need a car if you're visiting within metro Boston and Cambridge.

There was a shopping center on the next block that includes Shaw's supermarket, Rite Aid pharmacy, Dollar Tree and McDonald's. CambridgeSide Galleria (mall) was 5 blocks away, Museum of Science and Boston Duck Tours were 6 blocks away and Target was 4 blocks away.

PREMISES
The lobby was modern, clean and smelled like White Citrus of Bath and Body Works. The room hallways tho smelled a little less pleasing. The lobby wasn't large, but sufficient. There was a door leading to the entrance of the parking lot which was very helpful when dropping off or picking up guests. It is not a resort so there was really no outdoor space besides the parking lot and it was right by the road.

I find it a little weird that they didn't have ice machines on every floor. They only had them on floors 3, 5 and 7.

STAFF
We arrived at the hotel around 6:00 PM on Christmas day. My husband dropped me off to check in. There was no one at the desk. There was no bell so I decided to call the desk after more than 10 minutes waiting for someone to appear. Two ladies came in from outside and one said "She didn't see me." That was not true, coz she was smoking outside by the parking lot entrance where my husband dropped me off.

The front desk staff was honest. We left our laptop on the counter and they kept it until we remembered to get it.

Around 7:00 AM the morning after, I had to call housekeeping for soap coz I dropped the one we had in the toilet. I was told by front desk that housekeeping doesn't come in until 8:00 AM. For a hotel that caters to business travelers that usually start the day very early, this was a little disappointing.

ROOM
We were given room 810 on the top floor (8th floor). It was just two rooms away from the elevators which was nice. It was decorated nicely with modern furniture and amenities. We had a view of residential houses and buildings.

Bed was comfortable and I didn't have trouble with sleep. We were provided with 2 firm pillows and 2 soft pillows. One of the firm pillows did seem softer than the others. I usually don't like firm pillows, they give me neck pain. But I didn't experience this with their pillows.

The room had great features and amenities like the little spotlights by the bed and portable table by the chair. There were a lot of electric outlets perfect for the business traveler, but I was disappointed they didn't have USB outlets. The desk was movable and can double as a dining table. There was a fridge and microwave. Closet was a little small.

The climate control system worked good. It made a little noise, but it was low enough for it not to be bothersome.

Housekeeping didn't do a great job cleaning the room. I found straw cover and another object I can't identify on the floor. There was also a red stain on the sofa. It didn't look like blood. The emergency evacuation map was wrong.

The bathroom was on the small side. Toiletries were provided by Bath and Body Works with the White Citrus scent. The shower head was nice, but it had lime deposits. Bathroom sink drain cover wasn't working properly. I had to take it out for water to drain.

AMENITIES

Internet
Internet was complimentary. Password was provided at check-in. Connection was slow at around 1.25 Mbps download and 0.30 Mbps upload. My cellphone's LTE connection was faster. At one point at night, connection was so limited I could barely do anything.

Breakfast
The hotel offered complimentary breakfast M-F 6am-10am, Sa-Su 7am-11am. It was more than the usual continental breakfast I've experienced in 3-star hotels. The breakfast area was very clean.

There were automatic made-to-order pancakes, scrambled eggs, omelette, hard-boiled eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal, muffins, toasts, bagels, rolls, fruits, cereals, yogurt, milk, juices, coffee. Orange juice was bland. The hot food appeared to have been bought pre-packaged.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We agree that we are a great option for guests who want to see Boston and Cambridge without paying to rent a car and without sitting in Boston traffic. As you mentioned, the Lechmere T station is just three blocks from the hotel and provides the best way to see all of the sights. Guests who bring a car can park it for free at the hotel but find that the cost of renting a car when they don't really need to use one. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotels location enables you to get to the t station and downtown locations by car easily.
They have free WiFi, not so strong though and free breakfast. The time we stayed was very crowded and difficult to relax during breakfast. Id suggest going out for breakfast if hotel is crowded.
The staff is very accommodating and friendly!
If you are looking for a fitness center, this hotel does not have one.
Another bonus is free parking!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy123170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind words about our hotel and our outgoing staff. Our team makes every effort to have our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home" and it sounds like we succeeded in this regard. We look forward to your next visit and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Overview:

Stayed here in late November. Got a decent (but not great) rate at around $160/night with taxes included. Large rooms, decent sized bathrooms. No major complaints.

The good:

1. Large rooms, and good sized bathrooms.
2. Quality furniture.
3. Plenty of hot water.
4. Good breakfast included.
5. Has fridge/microwave, and iron.
6. Has some fast food and shopping/grocery store inside 5 minute walk. (McDonalds, Dollar Tree, local chain grocery store - same appearance as a King Soopers/Kroger, but different name)
7. Pleasant staff.

The bad (not much):

1. Very limited hotel parking.
2. On a very busy road in a not too attractive quasi industrial area.
3. Rooms were a little neglected - build up of dust/debris behind furniture, outlets in the bathroom were worn and razor cord kept falling out while shaving, a few marks on furniture and walls (but not extensive).
4. Ice machines on every other floor.

On the whole I had a good stay and I would recommend for someone to stay here. I myself would consider staying here again, but like I mentioned the hotel did need a little TLC. (I would have liked a little cheaper rate, too, but then again it is a big city.)

Please rate my review. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing all of your comments, though as a recently renovated hotel, the condition of our property is very good despite how popular our location is. We have overflow parking across the street from our hotel as well as parking in the lot next to the hotel itself. Many of our guests choose to not bring a vehicle as it is much less expensive to get to Boston by taking the T which is just three blocks away from us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Locate 5 min by walk of train station that can bring you to Downtown Boston, Fenway Park. Bus 69 to Harvard University.
Next to Cambridge Street (some good restaurants)
Hotel and room was very clean. Free Breakfast was good (a lot of choices).
Free Parking. Free Wi-Fi.
We (my wife and our 2 kids 10yrs-12yrs) stay there 3 nights and everything went perfectly.
We will return to this location without a doubt next time we will come to Boston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and echo your sentiments about our location and the cleanliness of our hotel. Our staff makes every effort to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us. Please come back and visit on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
917 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $121 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing