We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I like HIE, I wake up smarter! However, this is the second time at this one and I have to admit, I need to learn. It's tough to get to and not in the great part of Cambridge. If you get a room on the highway side, it is LOUD (bring earplugs for the noises really start about 5am). The parking is very limited (both times I have been lucky). My biggest complaint is that the wifi just generally stops working, randomly. Also, amazingly, since May the password hasn't changed. Seriously, why even have a password if it isn't going to change. One nice thing is the breakfast is free. You just have to like pre-made breakfast. I don't. The coffee is hot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJDrZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We appreciate your comments and apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 554 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Over-priced for its location. It's a hotel for early-birds, because cleaning staff starts knocking your door at 8 am on the weekend. Weird room design! Bed is just 8 inches from air flow from air conditioner and 10 inches from window. meanwhile there is a chair in the opposite site of the room. Designer thought that silence is more important for reading than for sleeping or design was done by people who never stay in hotel.

Room Tip: just search for another hotel. there are many good one with much better prices
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Salut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the design of our hotel rooms and the clear abundance of air conditioning within our guest rooms. As we are a newly renovated hotel, this is not a complaint we have had very often and we are sorry that our hotel did not suit your needs. We wish you success in locating a hotel that is better suited for you in the future and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is within easy access of the Lechmere T station and in turn close to the centre of town.
The room was big, clean and well appointed with all the amenities we needed. The staff were polite and able to point us in the right direction with maps, tips on restaurants/bars and how to best enjoy the Red Sox game at Fenway!
The breakfast on offer at the buffet was not great but remember you can order food from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. As we are so close to the Lechmere T station, getting into Boston is very easy and so much less expensive than renting a car. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I liked the hotel itself and the room, which was nice, clean and big. The hotel was also well located near a T station and we could also walk to Boston, plus the parking and breakfast were included. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the service from the front desk team. We arrived at 2h45pm and check in was garanted at 3h. We were ask to wait 20 minutes, which was ok for me. Then I was told my room was almost ready, to wait 5 more minutes. At 3h30pm, I was then told is would be another half-hour before my room is ready. And I wasn't the only one, the hall was full of people waiting for their room. We finally decided to leave the hotel and to come back later to check in and as I went to my sister's room, I saw that the housekeeping was doing my room. It was then 4pm. I though the front desk was really laughing at me by telling me at 3pm that my room was almost ready and then making me wait so long while the room wasn't clean yet. Plus, I haven't seen any of the front desk staff smile for the whole week-end! I was really disappointed with the guest service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefafou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay on Labor Day weekend. Unfortunately, the hotel was very busy on that weekend and we were not able to service some of our rooms until later in the afternoon. We are very sorry that you were inconvenienced by this and we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always remember this hotel. in addition to excellent service, convenient location, the most important being the luxurious hotel rooms at an affordable price. in this hotel I can meet hundreds of people who come from different countries who travel to the surrounding area including 2 boston university famous in the world of Harvard and MIT.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judexxx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are very happy that your enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for business. It's kind of in a seedy area. The front desk was really rude - we checked in at 4:30 or so in the afternoon and the man at the desk said 'hold on one minute' very rudely when I walked up. It didn't seem like he was really doing anything while we were waiting, either.
The wifi did not work the entire time I was there, which was an issue since I was traveling for business. I was on the second floor, and the hall on my floor smelled moldy. My room smelled fine, though. I went up to the 6th floor at one point to get something from a colleague's room and it was as if I was in an entirely different hotel. The hall was well lit and did not smell moldy.
The elevators were incredibly slow, and since I was on the second floor I could hear all the noise from the parking lot below, which kept me from sleeping very well.
But, the value was quite good and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well stocked and had modern appliances and granite counter tops. The room was very clean.

Room Tip: As for rooms on higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGH864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied while here. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed over a sunny weekend and appreciated the convenience to the Transit and Cambridgeside Galleria. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast outstanding. Internet sometimes slow but hotel staff very willing kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A J G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. Please come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $152 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing