We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My brother and I stayed at this hotel during the "Blizzard of 2013", so I must admit it was a bit of a weird trip. Public transport (incl. cabs) were shut down for 2 days, so we were saved by 2 things: my newly-purchased Timberland boots and the fact that this hotel was walking distance of bars and restaurants in Cambridge. I got a great deal as part of a flight+hotel combo, so the hotel was great for the price. Free wifi is always a bonus and the hotel was what you'd expect from a chain hotel. You're 2 blocks from Lechmere T stop (which is great if there's not a blizzard when you visit). Breakfast ok, but eating & drinking from styrofoam was a bit crap. But it's included so can't really complain. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_scarnera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are sorry that you were stuck in Boston during the big blizzard, but happy that you found our location and hotel to your liking. Thank you for providing some feedback about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    245
    95
    36
    10
See reviews for
215
126
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

When first arriving at this hotel I was not overly impressed with the location and surrounding area of the hotel, it isn't in the most picturesque area. However, don't be put off by this, the comfortable clean rooms, friendly staff and free breakfast make up for this.
There are a couple of negative aspects to this hotel, firstly it doesn't serve food or drink, apart from breakfast, so you have to go looking for somewhere to eat and drink, which isn't that great after spending all day on your feet in Downtown Boston. Secondly, the air conditioning units are not the quietest I've experienced!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main road, this will keep the noise levels to a minimum. Also, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wypba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your wonderful hotel. As we are a limited service hotel, and being so close to the T, finding dinner is as easy as a short walk from the hotel. There are so many options without even getting on the subway as our location is perfect for exploring the East Cambridge neighborhood. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I decided to try Cambridge for my latest trip to Boston. A good location, and the neighborhood is okay... I would recommend this hotel, with the following improvements....

Fitness Room...Jeez...I'm in the running center of the Northeast... This was a glaring deficiency..

Internet...Basically crippled. Ran at dial-up speeds. Needs a serious makeover..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and understand your frustration about our fitness room. Unfortunately, due to our urban location, we are not able to have a fitness room. In addition, we recently upgraded our entire internet structure and its capabilities. We hope you will choose to stay at our renovated location the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had reserved a night at a Boston hotel. When we went to check in, they told us they were experiencing some kind of maintenance issue, and that they were sending us over to the Holiday Inn Express in Cambridge. We were initially disappointed that we could not stay where we had planned, but were pleasantly surprised at the HIE. We were treated very well upon arrival despite a confusion in the reservation made by the other hotel. The 2-bedded room was spacious and spotless. The bed was super comfortable as were the pillows (both firm and soft available). Hot sower with great water pressure, too. We only had to walk down the street to catch the green line and go a couple of stops to the North End and TC Garden. Took a taxi back from the Garden for only $9.00. True, the neighborhood isn't upscale but OK and very convenient location. oh, and complementary breakfast! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry that you had the inconvenience of having to change hotels at the last minute but we are happy to have had you as a guest with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when the need arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have to admit, when we first pulled up to this HIE I was a little underwhelmed by the exterior of the hotel. It isn't in the most picturesque area, and the parking lot is a bit jammed. Do not be put off by this!

We've stayed at a lot of hotels in the Boston area, and these rooms were among the best and MOST COMFORTABLE. It appears that the entire interior of the hotel was renovated. I couldn't have been happier with our stay here. It was a great value, you get the HIE breakfast, which isn't exactly crepes suzette and cappuccino, but it's something to hold you over until lunch. MOST importantly, the coffee is fresh!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsbars10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. As you pointed out, previous guests have also been surprised by the level of service at our hotel and the extensive renovation the hotel undertook given that the hotel is in an urban area. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, CT
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Closer to downtown Boston than Cambridge proper, this is a simple, clean hotel with free parking (not a minor issue) and free breakfast. I prefer HIE to HI, and this was a predictable room and environment. The surrounding neighborhood was a tad rough...you're not walking around Harvard Square smelling the flowers, for sure. But I only needed a bed for the night, and the room was large and quiet. Breakfast was so-so, but if you only expect decent coffee and some muffins, you're good to go. Very easy access to downtown Beantown, very polite front desk staff. On-site parking is tight, but they do have overflow across the street...next to the liquor store. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jraygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel and staff. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I could find no fault in the room: the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. It was what we hoped for and expected. The first night there, we had food delivered to our room from a local restaurant (menus were provided in the room) and the food came promptly. We also think the front desk staff was fantastic. They would get us a cab whenever we needed one and were generally friendly. (We did not have a car so cannot comment on the parking.) My only negative comment is about the free breakfast and that is more directed to Holiday Inn Express in general and not to this particular hotel: the cereal tasted odd and the pre-made omelettes tasted fake. But, having stayed at HIE before, I was not surprised. The area was kept clean and there was ample seating (and we found things to eat). Because of its location (near the T and a supermarket) and its price, I will definitely consider staying here next time I'm in Boston.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a hall on the fifth floor and it was nice and quiet there (not counting regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aibutiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel and your recent stay with us. We also agree that you do not need a car as we are located very close to the T and downtown Boston. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing