We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, very clean, quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Western United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient, very clean, quiet.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I selected this location due to its proximity to the T Station and relatively reasonable cost for the area (though it was still quite costly…). The hotel itself appears to be a much older facility heavily remodeled. The lobby looks very fresh and to my surprise when I stepped into my room it too looked very modern and recently updated; it looked just as good as the lobby. The room was good sized with a sofa bed in the front plus a bed in the regular spot. The bathroom was smaller but still relatively functional.

The staff seemed to try really hard to go the extra mile to be helpful but I couldn’t help but notice they did not seem overly enthusiastic. Still, they were helpful and went out of their way to answer questions about the area when asked, and I really appreciated that.

Parking is a bit of a wreck. There are maybe 30 parking spaces directly on the hotel’s lot then across the street next to the Shell there are another maybe 20 parking spaces that you can use for the hotel. I question how secure the overflow parking is but I did not have any issues. Parking is free. I am not sure about the review that says parking costs $5… the website says it is free and when I got here they told me it was free.

They also have a little wheel to spin for Priority Club so you can get some extra points on your stay, which is a nice touch.

The surrounding neighborhood did not look the best, but it seemed fairly safe. I walked around pretty late at night and never felt unsafe nor did I see any people loitering around the surrounding blocks that appeared to be up to anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank storewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love the look of our newly renovated hotel and being so close to the T and many other attractions and restaurants truly has its advantages. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    245
    95
    36
    10
See reviews for
215
126
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We knew we were in a great place, when Joe the front desk attendant made us feel right at home. First impressions are normally what make or break a place, and Joe makes you want to go back. I wish all the front desk staff in all the hotels were as good as him. We had to park in a designated lot across the street, but our vehicle was quite safe there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our employee. We pride ourselves on making sure we have the best individuals working for us as part of our team and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice, value-for-money, practical hotel for business folks and leisure travelers alike. Located not too far from the Cambrdigeside Galleria mall which allows for quick shopping trips if you'd like. A medium shopping center near by contains Shaws groceries, Rite Aid pharmacy and the ubiquitous McDonald's. Rooms decently sized with no-nonsense practical amenities - restroom, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, free internet, and AC. Simple, complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Front desk very helpful with ordering cabs. Expect $35 to BOS airport. No fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. Despite our urban location we are just three blocks from the T with quick access to Boston. We look forward to your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alkmaar
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Staff at the reception is great. No, the best!!! They are friendly and helpfull, they make you feel at home. Rooms are spacy and clean. Excellent beds. Price/Quality is really good. Free parking and breakfast. Walking distance to the 'T' , science museum, mall and supermarket. Best deal you can get in Boston. Stayed here 3 nights with my family. Kids loved the free wifi, but missed a swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ooievaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and that you found everything we offer to be of so much assistance during your vacation. We look forward to your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We got this hotel for a great price on Hotwire while recently staying in Boston. We liked it because of the easy access to the "T" (subway) and within walking distance to a great restaurant called the Eastside Bar & Grille. Decent breakfast, nice room. Very friendly & helpful. $5 parking fee per night. We would stay here again while visiting the Boston area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your great stay with us. We are happy that you found our hotel, staff and location advantageous and we look forward to your next visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flordia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed one night and stayed up all night on the chair, found out they don't put box springs on the beds. Called my daughter and she picked us up the next morning. breakfast was OK the view was not the best

Room Tip: Can't do that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmpctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As all of our beds also have box springs, I am not sure if there was another issue with your room or not. Thank you for your comments nonetheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed a week for a convention in downtown Boston. The room rates are pretty low compared to downtown Boston which is a plus. The room was recently renovated, was nice and clean. I used the T, which is a short 5 minute walk and super convenient. The Lechmere station is the last stop on the green line, so the trains were never packed and easy to use. Neighborhood is urban, but fine and safe. There is a McDonald's next door and nice grocery store a 3-4 min walk away. Only things I would complain about is the wireless Internet would occasionally fake out or slow down. The morning breakfasts were pretty packed with people, but they did a good job of bringing out more food.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room in the back of the building since it's off the street, over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank13000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about our recently renovated hotel. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, services and location within Cambridge and Boston. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing