We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but free internet is a bad service...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient location, but free internet is a bad service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed a family of 4 in mid July with two internet-hungry internet teenagers. The room was great with a refrigerator, tv and the hotel location close to the Lechmere Station is convenient and offers a easy access to the city. The hotel is almost opposite to Hampton Inn (Haven't stayed there, but if you compare the location is the same) and the hotel recommends restaurants on Cambridge Street, only a few hundred meters away. Cambridge street is not a nice neighboorhood and in a park on the way people drinking alchohol all day and people could look frightening. Back to the internet: You access an open router on each floor, which opens up a webpage to accept and enter a passcode (Which is "expressn", where n=1,2,3 or 4 depending on time). On 4th floor it only worked the first hour or two and several reports to the reception didn't change the status. Internet in the lobby worked fine all the time, but free internet in the room is not quite the same....
Overall satisfied, but annoying staff and their external IT company didn't feel like solving the internet access problem. The breakfast was great, even a pancake machine. I've never had eggs with soft cheese in i before and I'll never have it again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOBETROTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We appreciate your comments about the hotel and are very glad that you enjoyed our stay with us. As our internet service has recently been upgraded, the problems that you have described have been rectified. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    240
    92
    32
    9
See reviews for
207
121
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I spent this past weekend, 7/7/2012 - 7/9/2012, at this hotel - and from the moment I checked in, I felt completely taken care of. We arrived early (10am) excited to start our trip - we were 5 hours early for our check in, but they happened to have two rooms ready and allowed us to check in. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating our entire trip - providing snacks upon check in, and a razor and tooth brush when I realized I had forgotten mine.

We booked two rooms - both were clean, large, and came with a microwave and mini fridge. I have stayed at other hotels in the area, but would choose this one for my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is our people at the hotel that make all the difference and I am glad that you felt at home and that we took good care of you while you visited. We look forward to your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late May, for three nights, prior to an east-coast cruise. Very good price, clean, good sized room, really good breakfast included, and convenient to the Metro (subway). No pool; no fitness center. Free access to their "business center" computer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuendeTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you also enjoyed your cruise. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I spent three nights at this Cambridge hotel at the end of June. I traveled to Cambridge to do some quick house hunting with a relative moving to the Boston area. The Holiday Inn was one of very few hotels that still had rooms available for all of the days I was to be in town, Apparently most hotels were booked solid due to an important event in the area. We were pleased to be able to book a junior suite with a separate living area with sofa bed, and a bedroom with a queen size bed for a reasonable rate (half of what we would have paid at one of the other hotels). It faced the back parking lot. The suite, though not huge, was adequate for the three people in my party. Although the room was booked under my relative's name, the hotel graciously allowed me to check into the room ahead of him since he was a very late arrival. The suite was clean and quiet. Modern decor with brown, blue and beige colors. The living area also had a desk, refrigerator, sink, microwave and coffee pot. The queen bed was comfortable, one flat screen TV in the living area and one in the bedroom. The air conditioner worked well in both areas. The bath room was clean; shampoo and soap replenished every day by housekeeping. Breakfast offered from 6 am to 10 am was fine: eggs, sausage or bacon, pancakes, cereals, coffee, pastries, juice....The breakfast area was very clean and well maintained at all times and it was possible to get coffee there during the day. The free parking area, though limited, was a great plus. We were able to park the car there with a placard that the hotel provides and not drive for the duration of our stay, since driving in Boston can be a brutal experience. The T station was within walking distance. The hotel is not in a glamorous part of Cambridge but we did not feel unsafe. We were able to walk to Cambridge Ave. in search of a laundromat, and post office, and also had lunch at one of the pizza establishments there. During our stay the smoke detector in our room malfunctioned and awoke us very early prompting us to inquire if there was a fire drill. Maintenance was very quick to come up and replace the malfunctioning detector. The last evening of our stay we realized that our room didn't have the microwave we were needing to re-heat a meal and maintenance once again came up promptly to install the missing microwave which had apparently never been replaced after the remodeling of the rooms. Our card keys often were demagnetized but the front desk was quick to correct this. The only disconcerting moment for me was to come to the room the afternoon before check-out and find our door ajar. We didn't see anything amiss, so we assumed the security bar had shifted and blocked the complete closure of the door as we left the room or housekeeping assumed we were checking out since we later discovered that our card had been incorrectly programmed for check-out a day earlier. The hotel will allow a limited number of rooms for late check-out if one calls the front desk early in the morning of check-out, and puts one 's name down on the "list". On the actual morning of our check-out we were told by the early morning clerk that late check-out would not be allowed since the hotel was now fully booked for that day and they needed to get the rooms ready for incoming guests. But when I later inquired with another front desk clerk she graciously allowed an extra hour for check-out and they also held our luggage for us as we needed to complete last minute errands. I found the front desk to address all concerns promptly and cheerfully. Overall, this hotel although "off the beaten path" as another reviewer aptly noted, was very adequate and reasonably priced for our needs. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking area are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryGoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and all of our amenities. As a newly renovated hotel, we continue to be very popular and our location to the T is a popular reason why. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a nice hotel that is not too far from the things to do and see in Boston. Most of the hotels in Boston charge for parking. This one did not and we could walk to the mass transit station. We were also able to catch a cab from the heart of downtown. We drove our car into the city one day, but the parking is very expensive, so it is best to take a cab or do mass transit.

The hotel itself was nice with a free breakfast bar and free parking which keeps the overall vacation cost down. The hotel staff was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others who want a good quality hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your great feedback about our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Room was clean, and well maintained. Breakfast was OK. Wish it had a pool, but knew it didn't when we booked. Parking lot is limited, but we were told there was an overflow somewhere. Decorations were not to my taste, red orange and brown globby stripes; but that is a personal preference. It actually led to a discussion about what is art, and who gets to decide. LOL

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn and Suites Cambridge. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked a suite (private room w/ a bed & living room w/ sofa & desk). The room set up was spacious enough for 2 adults & 2 kids. The breakfast is adequate & mostly due to having a pancake making machine- it makes 2 fresh pancakes at time- other than that most everything else offered was C+ quality. The rooms were super clean and quiet (we faced the back parking lot). We had no trouble w/ parking although others have mentioned this. It's w/in walking distance of a park, shopping center & T line. The front desk staff was not very helpful at check-in (would not look up my rewards card # to add credit and told me I had to all the 1-800 # to get it added....but I asked a different person @ checkout who happily took care of it for me).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BND0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Address: 250 Monsignor O'Brien Highway, Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Banknorth Garden, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing