We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
1 review
“Nice View, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed here for a conference at Harvard. The hotel had great staff that took care of all of my needs. The rooms were nice and newly remodeled. Their are only two negative points. The elevator was extremely slow and the room didn't come with a suitcase stand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your comments about our guest service and nice view of Harvard University. Sincerely Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    199
    146
    48
    26
See reviews for
192
72
68
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had a very nice stay here. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. My room was spotless. A little fridge in the room almost makes up for no coffee maker, though coffee in lobby was excellent. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are going to add Starbucks Verona coffee makers to our guest rooms. Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Well located. But poor ambiance . I felt like I was staying in a dormitory. Very few amenities...soaps , lotions, etc. No coffee maker. The bathroom light switch was poorly located outside of the bathroom . Checkout was friendly. Location was wonderful for our needs.

Room Tip: Felt like I was sleeping in a dorm room. The cabinetry and layout was similar to a dormitory . Towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guests Thank you for your TripAdvisor posting!! Your comments are valuable and very important to us!! Thank you Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I loved the location and the service, however, someone else's hairs were on the bathroom floor and there was an insect in my bed. I'm really particular about not having any evidence of the person before in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Elin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review. We value your comments and I will follow up with our Housekeepers on the areas that you pointed out! Thank you Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Room was small but nice. Good light, but little closet space. Bed was comfortable and the location was ideal for walking around Harvard Area. Elevator painfully slow, but hotel very clean. Had to go to lobby for coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 756BGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Long Term Stay: Thank you for posting a positive review on TripAdvisor! Thank you. Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Terrific location, terrific staff! It was close to Harvard Square with all of its trendy shops and restaurants. The room was small, but recenty renovated. The bathroom was spacious. If only they would place a coffee-maker in each room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Robert W. Thank you for your review. I will look at putting coffee makers in each guest room. I am happy that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Harvard Square. Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was well located near the Harvard subway, which is convenient to move all over Boston. The room was well furnished and clean (no noise, very comfortable beds). It was ready very early so it was very convenient for early arrivals after a long over-night travel. The free wifi was not working perfectly, but it was ok. Free coffee at the reception. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melany2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Melany: Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am working on improving the WiFi signal. Sincerely Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing