We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Cozy Centralized Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My experience was perfect. The staff was polite and courteous. Mr Vil, the front desk employee, deserves the employee of the year award. He coddle my friends and I throughout our stay. If I am fortunate enough to travel to Cambridge in my near future, I will stay at this hotel. The room was small, but it was clean, cozy, quiet, and cool. The Air Conditioning blew fresh air verses old musky and damp. That in itself impressed me. The cleaning staff was quiet as they cleaned the rooms around us. That never happens so I was amazed. I can't say enough about this place. The location was away from the desired fun clutter of play areas on the main streets, but all within walking distance. Again perfect. Sometimes one hates to share great little secrets about a treasure like this, knowing the availability of booking next time could mean no rooms vacant. But this Hotel and the Staff deserve a shout out for others to enjoy. Thanks for the great memories. Suzanne

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfswinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 805 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were looking to stay in or around Harvard Square, but being freshman orientation week, things were quite packed. Found this place which seemed too affordable to be true, but decided to go with it. Boy are we glad we did:
1. Location, location, location! Smack dab at the center of all the action, close to the university, all the restaurants and shops, yet just a bit around the corner to avoid all the late night rabble-rousing. We decided to forgo the car rental which was fine as taxis, buses, and T-stations are all a block or 2 away.
2. Customer Service... 5 stars. We came in off a red-eye from LA around 7am, and thought to just drop off our bags and hang out until check in. Richard greeted us at the door, welcomed our check in, and gave us the keys to our room immediately! It was phenomenal and completely unexpected. We had the chance to catch a few hours of rest, to recharge our batteries and hit the day fresh, rather than mull around a coffee shop like zombies as we typically do! And the continued service and attention from the entire staff was first class the whole time.
3. Rooms and lobby. Very clean and modern look, inviting colors, a nice place to relax. Beds were totally soft and cozy, slept like logs with no late night distractions. The space was a bit small, so not much room to entertain, but truthfully nothing too noticeable. And as mentioned before there was no door on the shower... but I never realized how truly unnecessary a shower door was!
4. Value. This place was hands down the most affordable in all of Cambridge this weekend and where we thought we would be compromising, we found a wonderful experience. Will definitely be coming back to this cozy little gem, again and again!

Room Tip: Get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Clean, quiet comfortable stay. Staff v attentive, with same staff as visit 2 years ago. Great location, foot access to all of Harvard and the Square, as well as underground transit. Renovated since last stay, v fresh. Great value for staying in Cambridge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvarddad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Besides an excellent location, hotel is not worth it. Everything is very small. The elevator could only fit 4 people - 2 if they had luggage. Every nook and cranny had something in the very, very tiny room. 2 Full beds - very tiny. Less than a foot clearance between bed and cabinets. TV was old flat screen plasma and cable system was shotty. Shower was the worst. No washer pressure and no door. Door wasn't missing, it was designed that way. All modern styling. Very few outlets and could not put anything on the counter, because there was no counter space - at all! Only reason why I gave this a Poor vs Terrible is that it is in a great location. Right around the corner from the Harvard T stop and all of Harvard Square. And it had a parking garage. Other than that - too much for what very, very little you get.

Room Tip: Rooms on Garage side don't get Sun in AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USCGamecocks20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was certainly expensive, but then there's no cheap accommodation in Cambridge in August, so no complaints. Staff was helpful and friendly, room was nice, beds were wonderful. And of course, location couldn't have been better. Really good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Halcon Viajes
Thank fenzof40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Harvard Square Hotel was a pleasant experience. It has been recently renovated. The hotel was very close to our conference and public transportation to the airport and art museums. Definitely no need for car rental. A good number of conference attendees from Cambridge stay here, we recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent a night at the hotel after staying at another hotel in Cambridge for two weeks. The recent renovation can be easily noticed in the lobby and from the fairly new furnitures and fixtures inside the room. The room was amply equipped and free wi-fi was a big plus although the ref was empty. The location of the hotel is very accessible from Harvard Square and there are many cafes and restaurants within the vicinity. Was unable to try the coffee shop and other facilities of the hotel because I was out for most of the day. Front desk was hospitable and helpful when I was about to leave the following morning. Would surely consider the place if I return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,929 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
511 reviews
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,015 reviews
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 19 in Cambridge
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $164 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! Stay tuned for updates as we plan out our hotel renovations scheduled for late 2018 !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing