We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvard Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is expensive and feels quite motel-like but the location is absolutely unbeatable - right off Harvard Square and right next to a T entrance - and cheaper than all the other big hotels. The entrance leads up over the parking lot and is very plain but staff are helpful.The rooms are fine and have been redecorated since I was last there in 2010. They feel more modern but the furniture is too big for the rooms and it all seems to have come from Ikea (looks like the cheap Lack line). Small bathrooms and ho hum amenities. Only one bedside lamp between 2 beds which always means someone isn't happy. Loads of restaurants within a 5 minute radius and although there is a fridge in the room, it isn't stocked - they have do have some food items for sale in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher up and on the River side are the best. The other side faces the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    196
    145
    46
    22
See reviews for
190
72
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed last week at the Harvard Square Hotel and highly recommend it to other travelers. Jenny and David were very nice and helpful, and you can see they truly care about your stay. I stayed in room #420, which is beautiful, with large windows from floor to roof and breathtaking views. The hotel has been recently renovated and the location can't be beaten. 1 minute walk to the T and in front of restaurants and cafes. It has a parking lot for those who have a car. The bed and the room itself are really comfortable, with a large desk in front of the large windows, to inspire good work. They keys worked well and I never found any problems getting in and out my room/hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rooms are small and overpriced. The entrance remains locked during the day and our key cards did not open it. That was extremely annoying because a couple of times we were stuck waiting for several minutes for someone to push the button to open the door. It was an inconvenience that should not happen when we are paying what we paid for the room. One good thing is that it is near the T stop and conveniently located to Harvard's campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivegotnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked this hotel through Expedia as it was one of the few hotels in Boston that was near the T, available for Patriots Day weekend and wasn’t charging $500+ per night. Prior to arriving, I emailed the hotel and asked for a late check-out and a king bed. The late check-out on Monday wasn’t possible because the hotel was “fully booked” for the night and my request for a king was roundly ignored. I then checked the hotel’s own website and looked at their availability for that night, and it was NOT sold out. We also didn’t get a king. Poor customer relations.

As far as facilities, this hotel appears to have been recently renovated, which was a plus. Room had two queen beds, a flat screen tv with plenty of channels, and a standard bathroom. Nothing really to write home about. View was of the parking lot. Closet is really a shelf in the wall. Luckily we were on the first floor (one floor up from reception) and took the stairs as the elevator was slow and small.

The hotel itself looks like it might have been a motel at one point, and they took out the M, slapped on an H, and did a renovation. The lobby facilities aren’t grand by any means, and there is a parking lot that takes up a large part of the outer façade.

It is located very close to the Red Line T. Exit near the buses (look for Brattle Square exits) and you will be able to see it up the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corndog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Harvard Square Hotel still has the layout of the original Harvard Motor Lodge, but now that Harvard owns it (and the Inn At Harvard) and manages them together, standards have gone up. The rooms are sleek, with a hyper modern design and well-thought-out, no-nonsense functionality. The beds are extremely comfortable and might have some memory foam component. The glass-brick showers are euro, but the water pressure is like it was 30 years ago as the Motor Lodge. Clean, well-managed, ideal for campus visitors, and a little cheaper than the neighboring Charles Hotel. If you have one, be sure to use your Harvard ID (or your child's, or your host's) when registering, which should save you 35+%—over $100 off.

Room Tip: The west side is away from the bright lights of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is substandard and way overpriced at $260/night. We stayed at Sheraton Commander last year and had a much better experience. The beds are nice, but there are no doors on the showers, the closet space is a joke (i.e. hole in the wall literally), the amenities are not washed or replaced daily, the towels are the quality of a cheap motel and the most offensive of all is that there is coffee/tea/snacks in the lobby - FOR CHARGE. There's a sign with prices well above your eye-sight, no warning that the items are chargfed by the front desk staff that is encouraging you to enjoy the beverages/snacks and as soon as you walk off with the item, they charge your room. It was just cheap. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The customer service was outstanding: friendly and accommodating. We were greeted very warmly and politely. We needed dinner suggestions and the gentleman behind the desk, gave have us several suggestions and also gave us a map of the area. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and lush. The room was spacious, comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed a spectacular view of Harvard Square. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing