We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rehabbed hotel is sleek and efficient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Harvard Square Hotel still has the layout of the original Harvard Motor Lodge, but now that Harvard owns it (and the Inn At Harvard) and manages them together, standards have gone up. The rooms are sleek, with a hyper modern design and well-thought-out, no-nonsense functionality. The beds are extremely comfortable and might have some memory foam component. The glass-brick showers are euro, but the water pressure is like it was 30 years ago as the Motor Lodge. Clean, well-managed, ideal for campus visitors, and a little cheaper than the neighboring Charles Hotel. If you have one, be sure to use your Harvard ID (or your child's, or your host's) when registering, which should save you 35+%—over $100 off.

Room Tip: The west side is away from the bright lights of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 806 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is substandard and way overpriced at $260/night. We stayed at Sheraton Commander last year and had a much better experience. The beds are nice, but there are no doors on the showers, the closet space is a joke (i.e. hole in the wall literally), the amenities are not washed or replaced daily, the towels are the quality of a cheap motel and the most offensive of all is that there is coffee/tea/snacks in the lobby - FOR CHARGE. There's a sign with prices well above your eye-sight, no warning that the items are chargfed by the front desk staff that is encouraging you to enjoy the beverages/snacks and as soon as you walk off with the item, they charge your room. It was just cheap. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The customer service was outstanding: friendly and accommodating. We were greeted very warmly and politely. We needed dinner suggestions and the gentleman behind the desk, gave have us several suggestions and also gave us a map of the area. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and lush. The room was spacious, comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed a spectacular view of Harvard Square. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here during a conference and it was ok, it served the purpose. The carpets were dirty and there was a wad of toilet paper on the bed and disheveled towels on the rack. The mattress was ok and the saving grace for me was the feather pillows and feather blanket. The free wi-fi was a plus and there is a little fridge in the room. The decor is supposed to be modern and they try to use the space in a smart way, given the size of the room. On the plus side, you are right in Cambridge and within walking distance to everything. I'd look at other options, but if this is the best value it's ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aNHFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

None of the small number of hotels in Cambridge is cheap. This one is no exception, though it is one of the least expensive. It is basically a remodelled motel calling itself a hotel, charging luxury hotel prices. The furnishings and the decor in the room were pleasant and functional. The space was small. When I arrived, there was nothing resembling an amenity, including soap, shampoo or towels. As with all motels, there is minimal service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here while taking a class at Harvard extension school. The price was cheaper than other hotels that were close to Harvard square. I found this hotel convenient to everything and clean. Everything is in walking distance. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be that the walls were a bit thin. I could hear every word from the next room. However, that did not bother me. I really think it is a good hotel and value for the money. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well-designed, modern, spare room. We were very comfortable, but some might prefer a little more floor space. Staff was helpful. Very convenient to Harvard Square and the T.
My only complaint would be the wi-fi, which was extremely slow in the late evening, when I assume everyone is trying to get on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tora135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,930 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
511 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#12 of 19 in Cambridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $165 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! Stay tuned for updates as we plan out our hotel renovations scheduled for late 2018 !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing