We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Worst Dump Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge Gateway Inn
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not The Worst Dump Ever”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

But close to it. Old, decrepit, broken, stained, disgusting. First room, no water in the faucet. Second room, the faucet came off in my hand. Third room, faucet worked, but the room smelled odd. We checked the bed for bugs first.

Got stuck with out a hotel, and they had a coupon so we tried it. They refused to honor the coupon. The manager was a very nasty person, as if she was doing us a favor by letting us stay in this dump and overcharging us for the privilege. Go elsewhere. Seriously, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: There is no good room here. None.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StoicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    11
    41
See reviews for
26
10
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Worst place I have ever been to and ended up paying 97$ to stay there. The hallways were stuffy and smelly. The carpets in the hallways remember the Civil War. The room was ok. The towels were white, no stains and the sheets were white but don't know if they were washed. Someone mentioned in their review about drug dealers at the hotel. Yes, possibly they were there in room 218 but they didn't offer us anything. There were people going in and out of their rooms until at least 1am, slamming their door. We stayed there because we wanted to be near Harvard and it was late. In a rush to get a hotel room I forgot to check the reviews on Tripadvisor otherwise I would have never stayed there. The hotel should be torn down immediately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannakl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Terrible! The worst stay of my life!!! Air condition did not work and room was unbearable hot and smelly. Insects were crawling in the bed! I reported it to the management which was extremely unfriendly and did not solve any issues. I decided to leave. Manager refused to give any refund. In a nutshell, I got screwed. Tempted to take this to court.
Avoid to stay there at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sepp290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked this hotel, but then called to cancel my reservation after reading the review on this forum. They gave me a cancellation number which I thankfully recorded. I noticed that my credit card was charged and no refund was issued. I called and was given a lame excuse about how it was because I was booked for a group event. In any case, had I not followed up, I would have been charged for a cancelled booking. I would not trust this establishment at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndiPhillyArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My son and I were directed to this hotel by another hotel that overbooked its rooms. As soon as we stepped inside, there was a horrible odor. There were large, unsightly stains on the carpet. There was a washer/dryer in the hallway. The dryer was not properly ventilated and the hallway was muggy and hot. Our room was no better. It was clear the carpet had not been cleaned for some time, and there were cigarette burns on the edges. The bathroom did not appear to be clean, and there was a faint odor in the room. Even though it was 1 am, I promptly turned around and returned the keys to this dump. I would rather my son slept in our car. The place was filthy and unsanitary and I was very concerned about our safety. I don't know how they can call this a hotel. It should have been condemned long ago. I wish I had had the presence of mind to take pictures, because the pictures on the website are entirely misleading, but my only thought at the time was getting out of there as quickly as possible. I strongly discourage anyone from staying at this place. It is beyond awful. I cringe every time at the thought of that hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetPea609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and he son had a terrible experience , checking in early Wednesday morning . It had a unsanitary oder , was very noisy. The described the rooms as very dingy and concerned about bugs ad rodents . Please if you get directed from another hotel in the area due to overbooking , please request another hotel. Also take note to the hotel that redirected , as not having much consideration for your business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard41378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Why it can be zero?
Why Public Health allow such a place to be open?
On top of all that, the owner is very rude. I was given a weekly rate and 4 days later asked to pay another $300 with the allegation that the employee made a mistake.
STAY AWAY!
You better off sleep in the gas station rest area. Its cleaner and safer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank traveller9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#10 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
4.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
2.4 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Gateway Inn

Property: Cambridge Gateway Inn
Address: 211 Concord Tpke, Rt. 2 East, Cambridge, MA 02140-2304
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the Cambridge Gateway Inn, one of Greater Boston's best values. The Cambridge Gateway Inn is an independently owned and operated hotel that has built its reputation on what travelers want most: Comfort at an unmatched value. The Cambridge Gateway Inn also offers: 1/4 mile From Alewife-Subway station w/shuttle service, free high speed wireless Internet access, free continental breakfast, free onsite parking and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Cambridge Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Gateway Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing