We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service - Centralized, convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Service - Centralized, convenient location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

Hyatt Cambridge was a pleasant stay. The front-desk staff accommodated us well and our room was larger than most for a standard room. The hotel is situated with easy access to downtown Boston. We had a great time and will definitely return. They do have a huge renovation underway and I'm certain this will be one of the classiest hotels in Cambridge / Boston when their renovation is completed! Do stop by the top floor for their Charles River ballroom with spectular views of the river and the Boston skyline.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTiGeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Hello,

Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay. As you mentioned, we have begun a multi-million dollar renovation of our guestrooms. We would love to welcome you back once renovations are complete. Please feel free to contact me at 617-441-6400 or by email at michael.hickey@hyatt.com and I will personally handle the details of your stay.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    748
    469
    197
    107
See reviews for
661
411
119
783
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

I had the chance the get a last minute rebate at this hotel in June (I reserved one day before arrival) so my husband and I paid 120$ for 1 night in a King size bed room. We arrived late since we were visiting family and left early in the morning but the room was clean, the service was fast and professionnal and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't really have the opportunity to use others hotel services but I know this area is very nice (close to Harvard Un.) and when we had breakfast, a lot of people were jogging and walking by the river. Now, the breakfast, we never had a breakfast like this in a hotel, it was table service for coffee, eggs and omeletts and a large self-serve buffet with a lot of fresh fruits, eggs, meats and cereals, yogourt... You could easily skip lunch with such a breakfast! I would definitily recommend this hotel and will go back next time we visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Hello,

Thank you so much for the review of your stay in June. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast buffet. We would love to welcome you back the next time you are in the Boston area. Please feel free to contact me at 617-441-6400 or michael.hickey@hyatt.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

This hotel was not up to our standards for a Hyatt. The rooms were old. It was very easy to hear the noise in the lobby. The staff was friendly but not near transportation.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nhs831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
Hello,

Thank you for the review of your stay in August. You will be happy to know that since your stay we have begun a major renovation, set for completion in April 2010. Currently, we are on track to have renovated rooms back in circulation by mid-January. We would love to welcome you back once our renovation is complete. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance to you. You can reach me at 617-441-6400 or by email at michael.hickey@hyatt.com.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Some recent reviews have criticized this hotel on its room appearance and service. We had a delightful experience yesterday (nov 24, 2009.) Our room was very clean, well furnished, and overlooked the river. I understand that renovations are to start immediately, so future reviews should be even better. Service was excellent - responsive and very friendly. Perhaps previous somewhat negative reviews got this hotel moving in the right direction. the only note is that this hotel is not near Harvard Square, much closer to MIT. Parking is $21 with AAA discount, internet cost is $13.00. Based on one night's experience, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Delightful stay. I was hesitant, secondary to the reviews, and only told my husband as we entered the lobby we should check the room prior to check-in. He observed the lobby, the level of service from the valet and the reception staff prior to check in and said it would not be necessary and he was correct. We were impressed. The hotel was immaculate, the food was delicious, and the staff was receptive to our requests. They staff met our requests for particular service and seemed very eager to please and they did. We will recommend this hotel for those visiting Cambridge. I would also recommend the riverview balcony rooms and the breakfast. The only con is that AFTER I booked the non-refundable room, there was the $35-38 parking fee. But would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissafromNorthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Hello,

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you were so pleased with our staff and facilities. We aim to provide the highest levels of customer service to our guests and are happy to hear that our staff is delivering on that promise. We will be beginning a major renovation on November 27 that is currently scheduled to be completed in Spring, 2010. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Please contact me at 617-441-6400 or by email at michael.hickey@hyatt.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

My son and his wife and my husband and I stayed at the Hyatt during Harvard Freshmen Parents Weekend.: October 22-25. We got our reservations for a great price through Priceline. The week before we left on our trip I went on this website to check out the amenities, etc.of the hotel. I began to read the reviews and became very worried because the majority were so bad! It was definitely too late to change hotels so after a few days, I just decided to call the manager and ask him about all the reviews. He was extremely nice and understood my concerns. He told me not to worry that he would look out for us...and he certainly did. Our rooms were wonderful. They were clean, roomy, and well appointed. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. After having dinner at the hotel the first night; we found it so good that we all ended up eating there every night. After a full day of walking all over the Harvard campus, the bar and the dining area was a great place to relax. The waitstaff was wonderful and we found the prices of the dinners and breakfasts not out of line with what we are used to paying in our homestate of Louisiana. The next time we are in Cambridge we will certainly stay at the Hyatt again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gppearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Hello,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me the next time you plan on visiting the area and I will personally handle your reservation. You may reach me at 617-441-6400 or by email at michael.hickey@hyatt.com.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

The service at this hotel was great, and friendly. We didn't have any problem overall it was pretty good stayed for 2 nights didn't have any problem at all.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tubby116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHickeyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are always delighted to hear when a guest has enjoyed their time with us. We would like to welcome you back the next time you are in the Boston/Cambridge area. Please feel free to contact me at 617-441-6400 or by email at michael.hickey@hyatt.com if I can be of any assistance to you.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing