We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Hyatt is in a great location for events at M.I.T. (the reason for my stay - my son was in a triathlon and had to be on campus by 6:15am - we could walk from the Hyatt). However, the hotel reminded me of hotels in former Communist Countries - cold and depressing. The carpet in the room was dark brown. The whole room was dark and cold and had a bad smell. Very unwelcoming. I had planned to ask for extended checkout, but changed my mind and checked out early. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly at both the front desk and restaurant. The restaurant was nearly empty but the food was good. The bed was very comfortable. My son enjoyed the pool and there was a decent gym. However, all the positives don't outweigh the negative feeling in the room, I won't be booking a stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi, Colleen W, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our close proximity to MIT and were able to enjoy the campus and cheer on your son at his triathlon! At Hyatt Regency Cambridge hospitality is our #1 priority; we are pleased that you enjoyed interacting with our associates, but we are sorry to hear that you did not feel as though the décor was as welcoming. We are renovating our first floor starting in December and hope that you will return to see the beautiful changes. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    707
    446
    181
    100
See reviews for
612
400
109
736
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The good: a nice buffet breakfast ($19), attractive physical features, attentive staff in the restaurant, shuttle to Fenway on game days. The bad: my wife, son and I went to Boston to see the Sox. I booked through Expedia, requesting a HC room (son is in a wheelchair) and a rollaway bed for him. We got into the room, finally, around 4:00 (the check in time). Despite emphasizing the need for a second bed, it had not arrived at the time we left for the game. (The desk clerk informed me that they pay no attention to such requests when they come from a second party, in this case Expedia (yet they did have a HC room for us). I asked the desk again as we were leaving, but upon return to the hotel a little after 11 PM, the bed still was not there. I went to the front desk and asked again for it. 20 minutes later, nothing. I became highly annoyed and was prepared to return to the desk and create a scene. But my sweet wife went instead. It was promised in 10 minutes. 15 minutes later, still no bed. I opened the door to head to the desk, and coming down the hall was one of the desk clerks, a pleasant Asian man. Apparently room service people are not available at night?). So around midnight we went to bed. The second morning we were awakened to a high pitched scream from the plumbing at 7:30 that went on for at least 20 minutes.

Green Features: It's isolated in Cambridge, with only the Charles River nearby. A shuttle is available to go to a couple spots in Cambridge, and on game days, to Fenway.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Rick S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. It is great that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and utilize our complimentary shuttle. I deeply apologize that you experienced such a frustrating time while awaiting a roll-away bed for your son. We take pride in our efficient and friendly associates and I'm sorry we missed the mark. We take your feedback very seriously and will use your example as a training point. We hope to invite you and your family back to Cambridge soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel is in poor shape, unclean, unhelpful staff and terrible restaurant service. Would never stay again. Room was not what was requested in reservation. Parking garage is actually hazard, staff did not assist in needs, was unable to view the pool or balcony, bugs on food in coffee shop. Overall very poor experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Krista D, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your opinion and comments mean a lot to us. We know that it can be hard to find a decent meal on the road, and strive to make sure that each person is completely satisfied with their food. I sincerely apologize that we clearly missed the mark during your stay. We do hope that you will give us another shot to provide you with the authentic hospitality that we are known for. Please be in touch should you wish to return, so we can ensure an amazing stay. Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hyatt at Cambridge is in a great location. Near Harvard and MIT. It's also near the subway which is easy access to Boston. The hotel was very clean. We also had a beautiful view of the Charles River. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 638Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello, 638Angela, Thank you so much for your "5-star" review. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy the local attractions, our convenient location and amazing views of the city and the Charles River. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
299 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I spent a few nights at this hotel last week. As far as Hyatts go, it is average.

The pros..

Friendly Staff
Courteous Service
Restaurant food
Views
Clean Rooms

Cons.

The location is quiet, but away from restaurants. There is a shuttle, but it seemed to be quite busy. Without a car, a cab seems pretty essential.
The rooms and hotel seem a bit dated.

I am pretty happy with my stay and could see myself staying here again if I were back in the area. I received an upgrade to a balcony room, but I do not believe the room had the king bed that I had requested. I believe it to be a queen. Thankfully, I was not traveling with the other half, as we like a bit more space.

The room was small, but the balcony was huge with an amazing view. You could watch the rowers on the river as well as the other boats. The weather was great and added to the experience. Such a room in January would not be as enjoyable.

Very pleased with front desk and restaurant staff. Bar area is small and the overflow seating is a bit awkward, but a simple redesign could fix that.

Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Go for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much, crazyhotelguy, for your review! We truly appreciate and value your feedback, especially from guest such as yourself. We’re pleased to hear you had a good experience with our associates. We, at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, pride ourselves in our ability to anticipate guests needs. As far as our property, we are happy to tell you we will be undergoing an upcoming renovation. We hope to see you again with your other half at our new and improved Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Have a great summer!! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Hyatt Cambridge is a great hotel for families. This property is very clean. The Staff is always professional and kind. The shuttle service is great too. We wish the service at dinner was quicker but we have had good luck at their restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 254jilianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello, 254jilianl, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to a long-standing relationship with you and hope to welcome you back soon. All my best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

check-in with the concierge and plan your day. Hotel shuttle brings you to and from the train (Kendall station) so you have access to all the tours and historic places. Restaurant was ok and breakfast buffet was average. Suggest eating out as it's cheaper and offers more choices of what the city has to offer.

Check the discount web sites for lower rates

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Charles river... it's worth the extra if you have to pay if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Mike T., thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are so happy you got such great use of our complimentary shuttle connecting you to convenient Cambridge locations! However, I am sorry you were disappointed with your dining experience at Zephyr on the Charles. We take your review seriously and have passed along your feedback to the appropriate departments for immediate review. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Sarah. qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Dr, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing