We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than other Hyatt hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst than other Hyatt hotels”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

First of all it is cheaper to book a room from Priceline than directly from the hotel.
Regular parking fee even for hotel guests is not fair, 35$ per night!!
It takes 30 minutes to get the hot water, we had to call the front desk but to be fair they responded quickly.
Breakfast is nice since it was included in the room when you book from Priceline, otherwise 20$ per person which is kind of expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Milkstout, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, however, I apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations. I want to assure you that this is not typical of Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We would like to hear about your stay in more detail, please email qualitybosrc@hyatt.com to speak with us directly. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will give us a chance to win you over again. Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    787
    492
    214
    114
See reviews for
696
435
122
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Rooms are good and quite. Not much near the hotel. The restaurants at the hotel are very expensive. Internet access was slow. Had to go to Harvard square to eat at a reasonable price. The hotel provides shuttle service to several places in Cambridge. Recommend for business stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Manuel, thank you for your recent review. I am so glad that throughout your stay with us you enjoyed your room as well as took advantage of the complimentary shuttle. Next time you stay with us you should check out the Market on the Charles for any convenient items you may need! Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Rooms were big enough to work in, and as I was in a balcony/river room, the view over the Charles was very welcome. Staff were really helpful, particularly the doorman, restaurant staff and shuttle driver who went out of his way to drive me to work. The interior of the hotel is very dated, but if you're in a room overlooking the water this doesn't matter so much. There's little around, but the bar downstairs was a nice enough place to hang out outside of your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krrr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Krrr4, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that we were able to be your home while you were traveling on business, and that our rooms met your work and leisurely needs. Next time you stay with us you should check out Market on the Charles for any grab and go items you might need such as freshly brewed Starbucks Coffee or a breakfast sandwich before venturing out for a meeting. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although I only live about 25 miles from Cambridge, I stayed there over this past Christmas while enjoying the holiday with friends and family. I have been to many functions there, and have eaten in the restaurants and had drinks in the lounges, but never stayed there until this month. It is located right on the Charles River, with a great view of Boston. There is a shuttle that will take you to Harvard Square. This hotel was built during the period when Boston was just becoming a world class city. I remember we thought it was so "swanky" at that time. It has aged well, but many of the eye-popping features (open atrium and elevators) seem somewhat dated. The rooms are nice and the service was FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a Queen room with a balcony on the East side of the hotel. The views of Boston are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24shoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
24shoregirl, thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge! I am so glad that even though you live close to us we were able to be your home away from home for a little while. I am pleased to hear that you love the view, and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle. Next time you stay with us you should dine at Zephyr on the Charles and enjoy great food with an amazing view. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I recently spent nearly a week at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge while in town for a series of meetings. It has all the facilities you would expect of a good business hotel, plus exceptional views over the Charles River towards Bostons. The breakfast buffet was a highlight - I'm not normally a fan of hotel breakfast buffets but this one had a wide variety of items including omelettes made to order, freshly made Belgian waffles, and great fresh fruit (that being said, the price was a bit steep if it wasn't included in the rate). There's also a small convenience shop/cafe which serves Starbucks coffee, including their holiday specialties. This was particularly helpful due to the issues with the hotel shuttle. The hotel is on Memorial Drive, a short drive from the nearest T stop at Kendall Square - it's a long walk especially when it's cold and snowy. There is a free shuttle which will take you most places in Cambridge (Harvard Square, Kendall Square, etc), which is great if you can manage to catch it. As it's 'first come first served' rather than running on a schedule, it always seems as if it has just left when you go to catch it, making it difficult to plan on being able to take it anywhere. A 20-minute wait was common; it would be really helpful to have set times for at least one of the two vehicles so people could plan on being able to come down and catch it. This wasn't made clear when I checked in, and with meetings to attend I couldn't wait so I ended up spending quite a bit on cabs. If you are on vacation this probably matters less, but it's a real issue when you are on a business trip. There was also two other shuttle issues: the shuttle service was cancelled during a small snowstorm and the shuttle failed to pick us up from a restaurant (we were told that it had stopped outside and left when we were not there as it was 9pm and the service had ended, and we had to pay for a cab back to the hotel - however, as it was freezing we were waiting inside and unlike the previous day no one contacted us to let us know it was there). While the cancellation was understandable the failure to pick us up was less so. Additionally, although I was initially told I would be reimbursed for the taxi expenses I incurred due to these issues I ended up having to bring this up with the management when the reimbursement was not forthcoming. They did send a bottle of wine and a cheese plate to my room to compensate for the inconvenience, but it does highlight the issues with the location. While I enjoyed my stay aside from the transportation issues, next time I think I'll probably opt for something located closer to public transport, such as the Marriott in Kendall Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jasher, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Zephyr on the Charles and took advantage of our Market on the Charles for grab and go items such as freshly brewed Starbucks Coffee and pastries or fruit. However, I want to give you my sincerest apologies regarding the issues you had with the shuttle. We do tend to shut down the shuttle during unsafe road conditions for our drivers and guests; however we appreciate your other comments. I have forwarded your suggestions to the appropriate departments, and we will work to come up with a new plan to make our shuttle more efficient for guests. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back. Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is right on the Charles River, looking onto Boston, so if you need to be located within minutes of Boston, this is a very good choice. Pull up to the hotel and check in before parking in the parking garage. This way your room key can be used to get in and out of the garage. As far as views, ask for a high floor that does not face the front of the hotel. The "river view" room costs about $20 more...worth it to some but our room had a great view of the river even though it wasn't technically river view. Anything from 10th to 15th floor should get you a nice view. As photos show, the rooms are modern and we found everything, including bathrooms, clean and very tastefully done. I booked directly with the Hyatt website and got a package that included breakfast and that is one of the best features of this hotel. Fresh fruits, cheeses, made to order omelettes, various sausages, quiches, blintzes, many pastries, breads, oatmeal, cereal...and tip is included. You can also get snacks from the little shop which has almost anything you need. The Zephyr restaurant is open until about 10 PM for drinks, dinner, appetizers but there are so many restaurants in that MIT area that the restaurant might be an option only if you don't want to leave the hotel. The staff at check in seemed to genuinely want to answer any questions and make sure we were going to be happy...not pretentious...very approachable....real people who seem to enjoy their work. Make sure you get a room with a quiet heating/cooling unit as they are in the process of replacing them and some can be a little noisy but the staff are more than willing to make your stay great. The neighborhood is safe. You are right in the middle of MIT buildings/campus. They have a free shuttle van which takes you to one of the subway stops, either Kendall or Central, which is the red line, which takes you to either Harvard or into Boston...only a few stops and maybe a 10 minute ride to the Center of the city, Park Street. You just walk out the front door and tell the doorman you need the shuttle. On your ride to the subway, the driver gives you his card with phone and you call him when you need a ride back. He picked us up in about 15 minutes. You can walk to the subway but it might take about half an hour. The hotel charges for parking, $35/day or $25/day with AAA card. Parking in Boston/Cambridge is difficult and other parking garages in Boston charge the same day rate, so the Hyatt price is not unreasonable. Driving in the city is stressful anyway, so we just left the car in the parking garage and took the subway, the T. Get a "charlie card" at the station and pay $2/ride and use the same card all day...just touch it to the turnstile to use it.

The hotel has a very long lap pool. I think it was 4 feet deep all around. It's in a glass building at the top of the garage. It's a haul to get to from the room because you walk through an enclosed corridor to go from the hotel to the gym/pool. The gym is right there, not huge but has a few different machines, free weights, treadmills, stairmasters....not crowded at all. There is a no frills steam room and sauna in each of the locker rooms....could use an update.

So you stay at this hotel for the wonderful breakfast buffet, great open atrium lobby with glass elevators that Hyatt is known for, proximity to subway and free shuttle, and the lovely modern rooms...and of course the view on the river and friendly staff. I found the rates here to be some of the best too! See photos for more details.

Room Tip: Choose high floor, 10th or above. River view is best but some of the others have partial river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StandByTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Karandken, thank you so much for the “5-star” and extremely detailed review of your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that not only did you thoroughly enjoy your breakfast buffet at Zephyr on the Charles but also that our associates treated you with genuine hospitality throughout your entire stay. Reviews like this are so amazing to read because it truly shows that the hard work our team puts in really pays off in the eyes of a guest. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now. Both times we used Price line, and each time we got a pretty good deal. The first time we had a room with a view, this time we did not.

Pros

Great location.
Quiet and comfortable rooms
Plenty of on street parking right behind the hotel.
Rooms with a view have an amazing view.
Very nice hotel overall.
A shuttle to numerous Cambridge locations

Cons
$40 parking if you prefer not to park on the street.
The rooms without a river view have very little view.
No free internet.
Overpriced convenience store in the lobby.

Overall-
This is a pretty nice hotel in a great location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jack, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you enjoyed the view, and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle connecting you to different hot spots in Cambridge. Next time you stay with us you should try the breakfast buffet at Zephyr on the Charles that has an abundance of delicious items that are guaranteed to delight! Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you again soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
184 reviews
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,945 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
859 reviews
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
966 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing