We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any port in a Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived at Boston Logan airport one and a half hours late in the middle of a blizzard. Because of the chaos on the roads we couldn't get home, so we headed for the Hyatt Regency and they took us in at about 11:45pm. We could not have expected a warmer welcome. we got into the restaurant at 11:55pm and were told that the kitchen closes at midnight. We ordered immediately and were served immaculately at 12:20am. The chowder and the fish&chips and the cocktails were delicious, and then we were up-graded to a suite. We took some time to unwind, but the bed was just right! In the morning we realised that we didn't have the toiltries we needed, but they were supplied immediately. Breakfast was perfect, exactly what we asked for, promptly. It was like an extra day's vacation.

Room Tip: The view across the river is delightful in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Valmont80026, thank you for this outstanding review of your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that we were able to be your safe haven in the middle of a blizzard and that our team was able to make your stay a memorable experience throughout your time with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back before the next blizzard! Best, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in mid November, 2013. Did get a room with a very large balcony overlooking the river but the room itself was just average size. Furnishings in room wer OK but the rest of the hotel was below par. Stayed only one night and moved to Hyatt Boston (downtown). MUCH nicer property and proximity to shopping and sights much better also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks in August 2013.
The room is big but I had a view of the back (Not Charles river).
The room wasn't thoroughly cleaned. I spotted a piece of paper on the floor for 3 days before it was picked up.
Air conditioning wasn't working well.
I had to pay extra for parking.
Things not included: Breakfast, Wi-Fi (not even in the lobby), small fridge (they wanted extra for that!!!!).
I was dissapointed and the staff was indifferent.

Room Tip: Ask for a roon with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel and our room were very nice (what we expected, nothing totally extraordinary, but the price was not extraordinary either).

What was really nice was the service - when I politely complained I did not get the wake-up call I ordered for our first morning there, they made it up to us that evening with a bottle of wine and appetizer tray delivered to our room (even though we had declined their offer to do something for us).

We were also doing a long distance real estate deal during our stay, and the front desk staff were wonderful printing off and faxing documents for us, all at no charge and done with a smile. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Here is the thing.
I used to stay in Boston but now stay in Cambridge. Its more for personal reasons and not much else. But in Cambridge I always used to stay at the Marriott because it was right on Kendal square even though places like the Hyatt were much cheaper.
Well I needed to renew my platinum status on Hyatt (its good for the Asian hotels) so I stayed at the Hyatt this time instead. I was not expecting it to be particularly good as it was half the price of the Marriott and the location was certainly less useful.
However I was very pleasantly surprised. The property itself is very nice indeed being right on memorial drive. And it is also more low rise than some of the hotels and hence feels more comfortable. It also has a lot of parking at the hotel itself which beats the more centrally located hotels.
The rooms were also quite nice with good showers (its showers only in the bathrooms) in the bathrooms and a decent amount of space in the room. The rooms have generally been well upgraded (much better than most hyatt upgrades traditionally have e.g. GH NYC.) and the TV selection as well as the internet are good. There is a huge safe in the closet which is useful.
Room service is generally strong and bang on time and the cleaning is very good and efficient.
Overall service is strong throughout the hotel.
The location of the hotel is not much of an issue as there are taxis right outside at all times (I certainly never had to wait to get one during my stay and it was during the first snow storm of the season and also at 5am on Monday morning so its safe to say this would not be an issue generally).
Overall whilst I feel that Hyatt in general is pretty bad in the US this hotel stands out like a beacon representing the way things should be.
I cannot fault it hence I am giving 5*

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

CurlyHongKong, thank you for the “5-star” review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your room as well as your overall stay with us. If you loved our in-room dining, next time you stay with us you should try out Zephyr on the Charles which is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as offering an amazing view of the Charles River and Boston Skyline. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in Boston. Best, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've been to a few hotels personally and traveled for my previous job (5 days/week). Read, I know a how to rate a hotel.

Hyatt Regency was a great weekend stay for us. The parking garage actually has the same Card Reader as the hotel so you don't have 4 pieces of paper to keep account of (Yes, this happened to me before, in Philly). The card will let you into your room and in and out of the garage. The lobby is nice, well designed and thought out. Glass elevators were definitely awe-inspiring. The room was fabulous. Make sure to get a room with a balcony and a view of "Cambridge", not "Brookline". A little out of the way (no T access nearby) but they have a shuttle to go to MIT, Harvard Sq, Central Sq. (not Downtown Boston).

We ordered dinner which was surprisingly awesome, no complaints. Staff is excellent. Check in was seamless (Noah I believe checked me in, EXCELLENT service). Complementary champagne was delivered to our room since it was a special occasion. TV does not take any inputs, e.g., HDMI, etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and view of the Cambridge side. Try to get as high in the building as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Shiz_mac, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you received such authentic hospitality from Noah upon your arrival. He truly is such a great asset to our Hyatt team, and I will be sure to let him know that you appreciated his warm welcome. If you enjoyed your dinner at Zephyr on the Charles, next time you stay with us you should check out our breakfast buffet with so many delicious options that are guaranteed to please everyone! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Best, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Loved staying here. My child was going to an event at MIT and it was very accessible. The hotel shuttle got my child to MIT quickly. The staff was courteous. Wish there was more of a free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Barbara, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you not only loved staying with us but also that our complimentary shuttle was able to make your travels more convenient. Next time you stay with us you should take a break and use the shuttle for your leisure and explore the city! Thank you again for your review. Best, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
252 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
266 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $141 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and Boston skyline. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a short ways from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering stunning views of Boston's Charles River & the Boston skyline. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on a warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing