We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, tired Hyatt with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old, tired Hyatt with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like many other reviewers, I think this Hyatt is past its best days. Part of the problem is the mid-70s architecture involving a closed-interior behind glass, which as well as looking somewhat dated, is at least in part responsible for the whole hotel smelling musty. Balconies are on the interior which echoes with the sounds of the lobby and restaurant, and so are not well used. The 2010 refresh/refit failed to give the place a new lease of life, and everything continues to have the appearance of decayed 60s-70s modernism. My other criticism is that the parking is bleak and expensive ($30/night).

On the plus side, the service is fine, the hotel clean (despite the mustiness) and the views of Boston and the Charles River are spectacular. We were upgraded to one of the University Suites of >1000 sq ft, which may well be the largest we've ever experienced. Location is perfect for visits to MIT, and not terrible for Boston. Value for money was acceptable, as this is not one of the more expensive Hyatts.

Room Tip: Suites are massive with excellent views, so recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that our associates were able to impress you with great service as well as upgrade you to a suite during your visit. If you enjoyed the spectacular views of the city next time you stay with us you should stop by the Zephyr Patio for some cocktails and appetizers. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    738
    462
    193
    105
See reviews for
647
411
117
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I was bringing my daughter to. College. There are many good hotels in the Boston area so my ultimate selection is usually price driven. This is an older but recently renovated hotel. My room was a respectable size with a King bed, recently redone with contemporary furniture and views of the Charles River. It is convenient to the Cambridge schools and Boston University but is not as convenient if your are spending time in Back Bay or Downtown Boston. I highly recommend this Hotel. One warning--the cost of parking is $35 for self parking and $45 for Valet. With AAA discount self parking is reduced to $25-- better but .....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleZ531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so happy to hear that you took advantage of our close proximity to Boston University when moving your daughter into school! Next time you stay with us you should check out Market on the Charles for coffee or a snack before venturing out into the city. We hope to welcome you back for future move-ins and parent weekends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

How the highly above-average have fallen! I, like a lot of people, stay here at least once a year during move-in to any of the dozen or so colleges. Over the last two visits, in particular, I've noticed that maintenance and refresh of the hotel has deteriorated. I enter the hotel from garage floor 3. A pipe has leaked so much that it has corroded away the guard rail by the stairs, and I get sprayed by a pipe so badly corroded pinhole leaks are pushing water (hopefully just water) through. I check in after 12:30a so I'm getting bottom-of-the-barrel rooms anyway, but my shower let more water stand in it than lake Michigan. There was a 4" streak black greasy substance across the shower by the drain that was stuck on there nicely, gunk on the shower walls, and enough dust in the shower area vents to make a velveteen dust bunny. Thankfully they moved me to a view room on a higher floor which they take more pains to keep up, not that the view did me much good collapsing into bed after midnight again (Move ins are long days). I have bad allergies and suffered pretty badly last year until I asked them to change my air filter. I see a guy, a few hours later, getting on the elevator with a cart full of dirty filters. He's complaining on the radio to another maintenance guy about how some guest complained about the air filters and he had to work really hard on the floor because "none of them had been changed for six months, easy."

The furniture is getting beat up from years of cleaning and use in the public areas. Torn wallpaper, sadly even behind the front desk. Lots of scuffs and skid marks on doors and other surfaces that get painted. Whomever owns this hotel is going to have to plow a lot of money into fixing it up. Some of the neglect, like the rust oozing up through the paint on my door.

It's getting bad. I really need a clean room, a good shower, also clean, and, as this Hyatt is located away from retail areas, a way to get a sandwich after midnight. Hyatt Regencies are supposed to be the top of the chain, and maintain standards at least marginally above a Super 8. I will be finding another hotel, I fear, that's not as convenient, but at least isn't falling into the ground.

Room Tip: Given the condition of the cleaning, the Respira rooms cost another $40.00. It's terrible to hav...
See more room tips
Green Features: THis hotel is no more green than a dozen I visit annually. Saying it and walking the walk are different things.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I deeply apologize for all of the issues you faced during your stay, this is completely unacceptable and I want to assure you that I have escalated your concerns to the correct departments. I urge you to contact qualitybosrc@hyatt.com, we would like to speak with you directly and more in-depth about your stay. We are going to work as quickly as possible to fix these issues to insure that moving forward future guests will not deal with the same problems. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went for my wife's high school reunion. The property was well maintained and the rooms were nice. For some strange reason the dressing area is right next to the bathroom door. When the door is open there is no room to move. Also, the light was missing so you could not see your self in the mirror because the wall blocks all of the light from the rest of the room. I do expect more from Hyatt. The shuttle service drivers were very nice. If you want to go into Boston they will only drive you to the nearest T stop at Boston University but that worked out okay except for the day that it poured rain. It is about 6/10 mile walk to the T stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Charles River. You pay more but it's worth it. We had a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollebcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA area
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

After spending several days at this hotel, I would say it is a very typical Hyatt property. Nothing special at all, but comfortable enough. Best price in the area, I found, though possibly because there is nothing else nearby in terms of amenities. No restaurants, shops, etc. It is convenient to MIT, but at least a half mile from anything else. Which means you are more likely to eat in the hotel's only restaurant, especially for breakfast. Which is unfortunate, because the breakfasts are AWFUL. I tried the buffet, twice, and ordering from the menu, and all my experiences we negative. Over-cooked bacon, rubbery eggs, burned omelets, cold toast, stale muffins/pastries, over-salted potatoes...only the pork sausages were worth eating. I will say that one night I ordered a hamburger for dinner, and it was quite a good burger, but this was the exception.

Room Tip: If you'd like a nice view of Boston across the Charles, ask for a room above the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoofballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt, but it wasn't perfect. In the end it was charming and nice and that made up for most of the flaws.

The good:

Comfy bed. Very good shower. Separate dressing area. Big closet to hang clothes. Big desk that you could actually use to work. Lots of amenities packed thoughtfully into a smallish room.

Not a lot is within walking distance (see below), but walking or driving along the Charles River is beautiful. The Hyatt has a great view of Boston and the river.

Because it's in Cambridge, it's easy to drive around and relatively easy to get in and out of Boston (we drove up from NY) without most of the city traffic hassles.

Parking is expensive but at least you can get your own car in and out.

Breakfast buffet was very good, and fairly priced.

Everyone we talked to or interacted with on the staff was extremely nice and helpful.

The bad:

$35 for parking, and it's in Cambridge. Which is great if you want to walk to MIT or take the complementary Hyatt shuttle, but less great if you want to drive into downtown Boston where you'll pay another $20+ to park. At least they give you in and out privileges and you can get your own car. The elevators in the garage were pretty slow too.

There isn't a lot within walking distance. If you want a Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts you'll have to walk 15+ minutes. There's a faux-Starbucks in the hotel gift shop, which is also nicely stocked with most convenience items, but I like having the ability to walk somewhere close.

Overall, this would be a great place to stay if you didn't have a car, and you could use the shuttles or walk to wherever you wanted to go. The amenities were very good and the location was great for MIT or BU.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Charles River. Others overlook the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent one night here while visiting a client.

The hotel is right on the Charles, which makes for amazing views of Boston.

The bed was the usual Hyatt bed, which is my favorite. The room itself was pretty big and I loved the view from my room. When I woke up and saw all the runners by the Charles, I joined them. Great motivation.

The A/C was a bit loud, but I slept well.

The only complaints I had were parking and the TV.

Parking is $35/night (or $25 if you book with AAA rate). Wow - that's a 15-20% surcharge on the room rate just to park. Robbery.

Each room has a nice big LCD TV. However there are absolutely ZERO HD channels. Zero, zip, zilch. Watching over-split analog cable on an HDTV is absolutely maddening as the quality is awful.

I didn't have to pay for internet due to my status with Hyatt, but the speeds were pretty good.

Room Tip: The views of the Charles are great, but I wouldn't pay more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing