We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

There was almost always a 20 minute wait for the on-demand shuttle service. In one case, I had to wait more than 40 minutes. The shuttle service is necessary, because the hotel is located in a foot desert--more than a mile away from everything, including restaurants. If you don't have a car, you are stuck eating at the hotel restaurant. Employees were rude and unaccommodating throughout my stay. When I checked in, I told the desk clerk that I would be staying I night less than I had originally planned. She said that she would alter the record and that that would not be a problem. But when I checked out, I was told that I would have to pay for the extra night, because I had not notified them! When I objected that I had, indeed, notified them, the clerk did not say that I would not be charged--only that she would check with her manager about it. The management of this place must be awful. Employees seem very unhappy.

Room Tip: You have to pay considerably more to get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay regarding the shuttle times and bill. The shuttle typically runs every 10-15 minutes, however during peak times the wait could be longer. I apologize for your experience with the front desk and want to assure you that this is not typical. If you have time please e-mail qualitybosrc@hyatt.com and further explain the issues you had at the hotel so moving forward we can resolve these matters so they do not occur in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    748
    469
    198
    107
See reviews for
663
413
119
783
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt for three nights on business. There are two reasons this hotel really stands out; the great view of the Charles River and the quality of the service from the staff. Starting with the check-in at reception which is incredibly friendly and efficient. The reception staff actually come out from behind the desk to make sure you are being helped as fast as possible.Unheard of!
The rooms are of modern design and average size and quality but all very clean. I ate in the restaurant twice and the staff were amazing. My server Chelsea was just fabulous. On my second night I didn't even have to tell her my preferred drink, she remembered. All the restaurant staff were very, very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just off of Charles river and in the heart of MIT, this is just located right. I stayed two times in this hotel - a week each time and the last time I got a room with nice view of Charles river with a balcony. You can have morning walk along Charles river before going to work or trip.So don't forget your walking/running shoe. Restaurant food was OK, but could have been a little better. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudipkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business and overlapped with the 2013 National Poetry Slam which made for some interesting people-watching opportunities. The big Muscle Milk table was a bit confusing but again, I enjoyed people-watching in the lobby. I arrived in the evening and found I didn't have a reservation for both nights but they had room for me. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was okay. There wasn't a huge variety but they did have an omelet station and my omelet was delicious. They serve TAZO tea (nice). I thought it was odd that I had to go looking for butter and had to use the cereal milk for my tea. I really enjoyed my king size bed and cushy pillows. I tried to watch tv but when I pressed the menu button the screen was snowy and hard to read so I gave up. The internet worked just fine so I was able to get some work done. I found that Shiela at the front desk was extremely helpful and pleasant. I'm not sure if I'm spelling her name correctly but that's how it's spelled on her name tag. My colleagues and I had meals at the hotel between training sessions and the staff was just great. Helen, in particular was just wonderful. She remembered our names and went out of her way. Helen and Shiela are the primary reasons I rated this hotel a Very Good. The location is the reason I did not rate it Excellent. Had to take the hotel shuttle to Harvard Square to find a fun bar and some shopping. Would have been nice if we'd been able to walk somewhere.

Green Features: This hotel seems to make an effort. The bathrooms in the common area have "green" toilets.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Initial impression was it was a nice hotel. Lobby was neat and clean. Front desk staff was friendly even though was a slight problem with my reservation they quickly took care of things. Clean room nice soft pillows. Courtesy shuttle to nearby subway stop and downtown Cambridge. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fff2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was initially excited to stay here because the pictures were great. However, I was very disappointed with the service, which is surprising since I was a pre-paid guest staying for 7 days.

BAD SERVICE. Always lines at the front desk - they always seemed to be understaffed here.

Terrible "on-demand" shuttle service - always had a 15-20 min wait, so most people end up taking the cab. I tried calling the operator to schedule a pickup, and the operator was rude, impatient, and inefficient (I never called again).

WRONG CHARGES - when checking out, I saw charges for local calls (I had accidentally called the full operator number instead of the shortcut, and they weren't going to waive the $2 even though I was a guest paying $1,500 for that week).

There was also a meal charge, which I never had. After some back and forth and their condescending tone insisting that I must have forgotten about eating at the hotel, I asked for a copy o the receipt, which showed someone else's signature. This person had mistakenly put down my room number on the bill, so I was charged for a stranger's mistake. Turns out they were wrong, and barely offered an apology.

This is why I prefer boutique hotels - they are much better with personal touches and value guest experiences. Will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for informing us about the issues you had during your stay. I want to assure you that this is not typical of Hyatt Regency Cambridge and I apologize for any inconvenience. I would like to urge you to e-mail qualitybosrc@hyatt.com and further explain the issues you had so we can assist you in any way possible and look for ways to resolve these matters so they do not occur in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I don't often stay in Boston, as I am a local...but wanted to avoid some traffic. I am so thrilled with this hotel. The location is great, right near MIT. The view is even better, perfect view from the balcony of the Pru, Hancock Bldg, and Shell sign. Check in and check out were quick. A nice safe parking garage.

I really have to compliment the wait staff, particularly Raj. He was my waiter the first night, and always made a point to come over and say hi every time he saw me (the next two nights). He was happy to make food recommendations and offer items that were not in the menu (Boston Creme Pie).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdavison58, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your “5-star” review! Reviews like this are such a pleasure to read! I am so glad that you enjoyed our location, views, and that Raj was able to make your dining experience unique and special! Thank you again for the outstanding review and we hope to welcome you back, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing