We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel to attend a family members graduation. The room is spacious, comfortable and clean, with a reasonable sized bathroom, our room overlooked a parking space, the hotel in general has a good view of the city, but has a 1980s feel. The hotel is not close to much and you will need a taxi to get to places, it took us around 30min to walk to Newbury, but it was a nice walk along the river. There is a shuttle that goes to town, but depending on the time, and sometimes a large group might take the shuttle and you will have to wait for the next one which could be another 30min. It is a good place for a short stay, we got a good deal for it on that particular weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,538 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

this is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views. it was very clean and the staff were extremely polite. there are beautiful views of Boston from the balcony room where we stayed. we had dinner in the hotel and it too was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munoz1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for this outstanding review! I’m so happy that you enjoyed the views from our river front hotel and even more pleased that our associates impressed you during your stay. We hope to welcome you back, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is not located next to anything. You can't walk to anything and there is no public transportation close by. To make up for the there is a COMPLIMENTARY HOTEL SHUTTLE that will take you in to town, which was a nice surprise. The hotel is just fine. It was clean and just like a typical Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg_baca512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent service, nice and comfortable rooms and the most beautiful view of the Charles River. It's worth it to stay there. Ask for a room in the front facing the river.
I was in Boston during summer of 2008.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had. The whole staff, from check-in through restaurant and checkout were incredibly and unbelievable nice. For example, we were going to do takeout from the restaurant (Zephyr) since we had kids and didn't want to disturb others. Instead, they said we could in the upper unseated area if we would be more comfortable. They didn't mind making the extra trip for us! We got a free "upgrade" to the river view - totally worth it! The room was big with lots of floor space and a good bathroom setup. This was a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here two nights to celebrate our anniversary. This hotel could be a real gem but it definitely needs some polishing.

1. The location is alright but a bit out of the way. Although they offer a shuttle we waited 20 minutes (while being told it would be 10) and then decided to take a cab. On the plus side it's only a mile and a half to Fenway Park, which we did walk on day 2.

2. The room was spacious enough but the bed was a NIGHTMARE. However I will give management credit; when we asked for a new room for a second night we were moved and also nicely compensated for our troubles.

3. The restaurant is a very pleasant spot, and despite being a buffet the service was superb. However breakfast featured fairly dry eggs, arid turkey sausage and not much to make the food selection really special.

In all a good choice but not great. I would have stretched my rating a bit further but the hotel also charges for parking and for Internet access, which I think is absurd for ANY hotel regardless of what you pay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The room was fine and clean. The view was beautiful and the food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. Service is friendly. However, the hotel is very isolated with nothing near it. To get places you must rely either on the hotel van, a taxi or drive. The van is notoriously sporadic with long waits. We were visiting BU as was another family. They were waiting at 9:25 am for the van in order to be at a 10 am information. My daughter and I decided to walk the 1.1 miles to BU instead. We left the hotel at 9:30 am and arrived at the Admissions Office before the other family did. Taxi rides are expensive. It cost roughly $12 for a taxi to Harvard Square.

Both times I went to the fitness center, the Ladies Locker Room was disgusting: wet towels heaped in piles on the floor, toilet paper on the floor, and hair on the floor and surfaces of the sauna and steam bath. I never want to enter the place again. The outside porch for sunning is fine, and mainly pleasant for the sun. We had problems the last day with housekeeping. We were out of the room from 10 am until 2:30 pm and 3 pm to 6 pm and somehow the room was never cleaned. I requested that the room be cleaned while we were at dinner. We were gone for an hour and a half and came back to find that they were only just starting to clean the room. Housekeeping told us it would be 10 minutes and it was, but apparently in their haste they failed to make the bed properly.

Overall, I didn't hate the stay, but it thought it was too expensive to be so mediocre. I won't come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m very sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay and appreciate your feedback. The condition of the fitness center that you described is inexcusable. I have forwarded your statement to the fitness center management and expect our standards to be revisited to ensure this does not happen again. I am glad that you enjoyed the view and your experience in our restaurant and hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you the service we pride ourselves on providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
982 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#18 of 19 in Cambridge
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
247 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Dr, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $126 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing