We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Start - Got Better Though !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Albans
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing Start - Got Better Though !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Disappointing in so far as we had booked to stay at The Double Trees - but as has been previously recorded we were also moved to the Hyatt. All the Hilton Honors rewards were transferred as well - free wifi and cooked breakfasts and a lovely room on the 3rd flooor overlooking the Charles River. The breakfasts were excellent - very attentive staff -and the fresh fruit was the best I have ever had in a hotel - and had a drink in bar one evening - reasonably priced. They also provided a complimentary shuttle bus service to various parts of the city where we connected with the public transport system (which is very good $2.50 for each journey no matter how long). Would I stay here again ? Yes - cant wait to go back to Boston !

Room Tip: Any overlooking the river would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I’m happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and all of the amenities we offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back when you’re in the city again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    737
    462
    193
    105
See reviews for
646
411
117
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrive a bell staff was right there to help you at the reservation test they did a great job that I've greatest wonderful room with a view of the Charles River. Size of the room is ample wonderful appointments granite countertops. Hotel has been renovated and a great job

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimksatx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! It’s always nice to hear that our associates helped make your stay more enjoyable and of course, we appreciate your positive comments about our room renovation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Boston area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed with my wife and 2 year old child in a King bed room, whilst attending a conference on site. VERY GOOD: clean rooms, comfortable beds; all staff very helpful; breakfast great; shuttle service to local subway stations (MIT & Harvard). GOOD: serving sizes at dinner; layout of room with separate dressing table area that can be used to work without disturbing other room occupants (like a sleeping child); minimarket on site open to 10pm. AVERAGE: location convenient to MIT and BU but not really walking distance to anything else (20-30 minutes minimum); parking expensive. POOR: No double glazing on windows means any room on low floor facing the driveway is very noisy (due to taxi marshalling, function guests departing); rooms facing river get road noise but at least able to sleep; no mini fridge in room; vending machines not restocked often enough; wireless approx $15 per 24hours.

Next time, I probably would stay in a more convenient location with free wifi. For the casual visitor, this hotel needs to offer a few more extras to make its (walking) distance from anything (other than the two universities above) worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarbonOffset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a Regency, not a 'Grand', so it's not flagship hotel, but one of the better ones of the Regency line I stayed in. The staff is just great (all of them). The breakfast buffet offers a wide selection and is fairly priced. The interior might look a bit strange a first (very open construction, typical Boston-Brownstone) - but you get used to it. The rooms are nicer than the halls, almost 'Grand Hyatt' quality. The main difference was that there is mini bar (but there are vending machines and rather expensive mini-market in the building. Tip: drinks are just half the price in the vending machine). The bathroom had the usual amenity kit (I am not sure if a toothbrush was included - better ensure to bring you own). The river view rooms are worth the price (when you get up in the morning you already see the first canoe trainings, at night you get a million dollar view of the Boston skyline). There is always some at the front desk - you can also check out very early morning if you need to catch an early flight. They have shuttle that can take you to Kendall square (or any other location) - but the location could be better if you need to go to MIT frequently (as mentioned, the shuttle can take you to Kendall but on the way back you might be on your own, they can give you a number to call the shuttle - but a taxi is often better - alternatively, it's a nice walk). The gym is great too.

Room Tip: Book a river view room - the view is great, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kintung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stay at this Hyatt frequently when visiting MIT, though it isn't the closest (about a mile to the middle of campus). The rates are generally lower than the closer hotels and the Hyatt has nice rooms, a very pleasant staff, and good views of the river, especially if you get a balcony room.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for the best views if the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTxGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are into sports activities, then this hotel is perfect for you. It is located just next to Charles River. Along this river there are always lots of joggers. In 20 minutes walking distance is the boat house where you can rent sailing boats, windsurf boards and kanoos. I myself rented a kanoo and was paddling under five bridges along the shore.

The service personnel is very friendly and there is a shuttle buse which brings from you from the hotel to important places in Cambridge (e.g. Kendall Square)

Unfortunatly, you have to pay an exra charge of USD 9.80 per day, if you want to use wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinguin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We did not have a great room, but it was clean and fairly spacious. It was disappointing how many things involved an "extra" charge. No free wifi...ANYWHERE. After paying an exorbitant amount for the room I think free wifi is called for. The little shop in the lobby has some great food and coffee but it is expensive. The free shuttle to the local sights was awesome. All the drivers were friendly and helpful, especially, Ricky :-) He directed us to an awesome place to eat breakfast, The Friendly Toast. It does not open until 8am so we spent some time in the coffee shop nearby....great coffee, great food AND free wifi! So Beantowne and The Friendly Toast became our morning ritual. NOTE: Beantowne is NOT open on Saturdays or Sundays.

We had access to a fitness center and a pool. Locker rooms have both steam and saunas. The cleanliness of the pool, locker rooms and workout area were not very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, otherwise skip it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing