We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware: self-park garage is now $35!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Mass
2 reviews
“Beware: self-park garage is now $35!”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Parking is a rip-off. Even self-park is $35. And the garage is nothing special.
The front desk clerk told me that Hyatt doesn't run the garage but contracts with an independent company. hmmm. Hyatt still owns the garage and is STILL responsible for the rates.
There are no other parking facilities nearby so Hyatt knows drivers have no choice. Evidently they see that as an opportunity to rip us off.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gay Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    759
    476
    207
    108
See reviews for
672
418
120
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This hotel is not that good.

The room I stayed in had a temperature control that didnt work. It was around 85 degrees in my room and I couldnt get it down to around 65 -- I set the temp to 60 but that didnt do anything. Since I like to sleep in a cooler room I had to open the window and let in the below zero outdoor temperatures to cool the room down. This is how hot the room was...it wasnt until 5AM that I finally was cold and had to shut the window.

The hotel's location is not very convenient and is not near the subway (its probably about a mile to the closest train stop in Cambridge). You are pretty much stuck taking a cab to and from places unless you have a car. If you do have a car, be prepared to be ripped off by the $35 nightly parking fee.

The bathroom wasnt very clean. There was hair in the tub and on one of the towels.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are dozens of other hotels in Cambridge and Boston that are much better than this one.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — temperature of room and ridiculous parking fee
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keltyrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I recently stayed at the Cambridge Hyatt with my husband. We have had great experiences at other Hyatts, so I didn't take the time to check Tripadvisor about this hotel. Big mistake.

Everything in the room was dirty. The carpet and chairs were stained. The walls and doors needed a serious scrubbing. The shower reminded me of an old school locker room. There was no place to put anything in the shower, but on the floor, which seemed like it had mold on it. There was no do not disturb card in the room and we had to ask 3 times before we got one. When we called the front desk to try to change rooms, we were told that all the rooms were similarly dirty. We didn't pay much for the room, or I would have been seriously upset.

The $35 a day parking was quite pricey.

The few good things about the room were the comfortable bed and a nice view of the Charles.

The whole hotel could use a major renovation.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I've really wanted to like this place both times I've stayed. It's a great location if you're willing to walk a bit to public transit and it's convenient to BU. Nice view of the city, too. Sadly though, the carpet was badly stained and worn. The shower head was cracked and sent a stream of water to the ceiling which was discolored because it had evidently been like this for awhile.

I'm trying to decide if the unfriendliness of the staff is just New England-style surliness or hotelwide indifference to service.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doghand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband recently stayed at this hotel for an orthopaedic convention in town. Normally staying at high end hotels for these conventions, his initial reaction when checking into the lobby was unimpressive. They lost his first nights reservation (which he had a confirmation number) but let him in anyway.

His room: (and I am not exaggerating) stains on rugs, stains and dirt on walls (that hadnt been repainted in years) and the room temperatures were unable to be individually regulated. His first night was unbearable because of the heat that couldnt be adjusted. When complained they never actually showed up to do anything.

Room Service: Service was passable, but the food was the worst that he had ever experienced in any room service. (I am much pickier than him, so if it was bad it had to be really bad). He had to send back the pizza that was unedible to get a second unedible pizza. Salads and salad dressing were substandard.

Food and appetizers presented to physicians were equally substandard. You would think that with 500 orthopaedic surgeons staying at their hotel they would try to make an impression. His peers were equally disappointed.

The only thing that was good at his stay was the Sunday brunch!

In spike of all his terrible experience, he was given no credits and would even not allow him to check out an hour later because they were "too busy". However, the person behind the desk upon check out said that they were really slow that day.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank docjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Cambridge recently. If you are a woman traveling alone the hotel room door does not slam shut. There are no safes in the room and the doors in the room do not double lock but have chains. The service is not Hyatt service but more like Holiday Inn. The restaurant is extremely slow and there are no other restaurants in the immediate area. Breakfast can get $$$$ and service was lousy.. The lobby area is desperately in need of renovations.
They offer a free shuttle to area attractions but is not always available. It is not a good choice. I was totally disappointed.

  • Liked — the view from the balcony
  • Disliked — not feeling that safe
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Be warned. Apparently Cambridge law only allows two beds per room. That means no rollaway bed in a room with two double beds. Of course, nowhere do they tell you that on the website, where they're quite happy to accept a reservation for two double beds and have you check the box for the rollaway bed. Suffice it to say that made for a very unpleasant stay with my wife and two children. The double beds are just inadequate for two adults. Had I known of this restriction, I would have stayed elsewhere. Those of you traveling with kids, be warned.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jon143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing