We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, park elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here while in town for one weekend night. If you are running around in Cambridge the location was decent. There is actually a police station on the street behind the hotel so safety wasnt an issue. There are also a few city parking garages nearby so paying for the one at the hotel was out of the question. Take a walk.

I stayed on the 7th floor. The check in was quick and painless. I did have breakfast included in my rate but I had to come back later to confirm how they would handle it as it wasnt mentioned at check in. They did check for my AAA card for that rate.

I had the buffet breakfast which was very good. The blintzes were a nice surprise.

They charge something like $14 for internet per day. Really. Come on, this needs to stop in hotels. Just some kind of low speed something is necessary in these days to at least check email and flight information.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,426)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great place to hang the hat for the night. Very clean, beds are great. Not to much to walk to.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBO258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spent a week at the Hyatt earlier this month and the stay was marked by the friendliness of the staff and the much better than average gym/exercise pool. After some confusion at check-in [no king bed available even after I made special arrangements], I was given a room overlooking the river. Highly recommend that view since it compensates for an otherwise average [at best] room. If you've stayed at other Hyatt Regency hotels you will be underwhelmed by the one in Cambridge. Room is oddly shaped with a very low ceiling in the bathroom. Glass elevators [a fixture in most Hyatt Regencys] are slow. There is absolutely nothing to walk to from this hotel so expect to drive or take a cab to get to anything of interest. If you're working in Brookline or visiting BU it's convenient. Restaurant is often very crowded...perhaps because for the business traveler there are few other options unless you want to venture out in a vehicle. But again, the staff is very friendly and that makes up for many other shortcomings. Good deals are available on Priceline.com...try naming your own price below the best advertised price and you're likely to get the hotel at an appropriate price.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have worse view but easy access to restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge, and we felt like we were constantly paying for every little thing we did. We arrived with a car as I have relatives in the area. When I was told that it would cost an additional $35 per night to park, my jaw hit the floor. Thirty five dollars on top of my already overpriced room? Really? I decided to park on Vassar St. behind the hotel, but there are limited non-metered spots so I had to make sure to be plugging the meter by 8:00 a.m. We were traveling with a small child and we thought we would watch a children's movie one evening in our room. The only problem was that the movie rental was $18.00! Unbelievable! Also, the food and service at the hotel was mediocre at best and a bottle of water in the room will cost you $5.00. The only real plus is the location. We really enjoyed our runs along the Charles River and the views of downtown Boston are spectacular. Overall, I will be staying somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanView_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great location, restaurant and bar both very nice, good food. Bed was not very comfortable, but not terrible either. Forgot our AAA cards but at checkin rate for parking was still honored. At checkout the young caucasian woman with long dark hair, muffin top, nasal voice and snivelling attitude (just want to make sure you know who she is) acted huffy and childish over the parking rate. Someone like this is much better suited for a career with Motel 6. She certainly didn't spoil our nice stay, but ugh, put this one on dish duty.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouRememberUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt in Cambridge Thurs.-Sunday. The location is wonderful, being on the Charles River. Our room had a view of the river and Boston's skyline. I choose hotels for the location, and this one is good not only for the views, but to be close enough to Boston to not need a rental car. And, driving in Boston is not fun ! The hotel has a free shuttle van that goes to Boston University West (which is the name of a T stop on the green line) and also to Kendall Square where MIT is located. From either of these locations you can hop on the T to get around. The staff at the desk, the lobby, and restaurant are welcoming, friendly, and attentive. The shuttle van drivers even wear a jacket and tie. Our room was plush and large. There was lots of room on the desk and also a chair, footstool, and side table with a lamp, and an ipod dock alarm clock. We had five comfy pillows for the two of us ! The only thing we did not like was the heating system. The fan was loud, and the temperature never reached the temperature we set it for. The bathroom was large, the bath products were high quality, and the shower had a rainfall shower head. The breakfast buffet was included with our room, and was fabulous. The quantity and quality of the food was great. They served not only bananas and apples for fresh fruit, but also blueberries, blackberries, cantaloupe, honeydew, and sliced strawberries. The baked goods varied each day and there were specials like ginger bread pudding, or vegetable frittata, or whole wheat pancakes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I recently won a contest to go to Boston MA from Cleveland. We flew out of Pittsburgh on Jet Blue..that was great, they let you check one bag for Free...Free! The hotel sits on the opposite side of the St. Charles River from Boston but they offer a shuttle service which does not run late but there are many other options available, we used the subway/train and that was even a neat experience. The staff is so helpful, offering history info, area info, maps, recommendations, etc. The restaurant food was very good, we had the breakfast buffet and a steak supper(they're frozen pina colada is heavenly), pricey however, couldn't have done it with a couple kids to pay for. Rooms were clean. Do not stay in this hotel unless you stay on the side of the St. Charles River..the Boston skyline at night is absolutely beautiful and in the early morning the college kids in the "skull" boats on the river is an awsome site. I read many reviews before going to this hotel once we were told where we were staying from the contest sponsor, I was apprehensive because everyone stated it was so far away from everything, After traveling the cities both Boston & Cambridge side I would prefer staying at the Hyatt. The staff went above and beyond expectations during our stay and we really appreciate it.
In the end, we were so fortunate to win the contest and even more fortunate to have stayed at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge, I'm a clean fanatic and they passed with flying colors.

Room Tip: Absolutely worth getting a room on the side of the St. Charles River, the Boston skyline at night is...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondie4069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $152 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing