We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stapp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Stapp”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Cambridge for one night during the Head of the Charles. The hotel was spotless and well maintained but what made really impress us was the staff. Not only did they make some great recommendations for dinner, It was a rainy weekend, and they let us check out at 3pm on Sunday so my son could shower after the race.

Any special requests we made were filled immediately at no extra charge. We hope to back again next fall!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    438
    156
    43
    32
See reviews for
266
145
61
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We took our kids (12,10,7) to Boston for a Red Sox game. Since it was during spring break, all hotels in town that we were familiar with were booked or very expensive. I used Marriott points and stayed at this hotel. It was awesome! There is a T-stop right aross the street - and my kids loved riding the T so this was an unexpected benefit. We rode right to Fenway with no problems.

The restaurant/bar in the hotel was amazing for the kids. They have an upstairs section with a Wii and free popcorn! My husband and I enjoyed a few cocktails and the kids had a blast.

Pool is small, but warm and certainly adequate. We had a small corner room, but it was ready early and we wanted early check-in. They were accommodating to us.

Rates were unbelievable compared to downtown Boston. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_W22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We got a great deal on the Cambridge Marriot. We were visiting our daughter at Harvard and wanted to stay fairly close. The subway was literally a few steps out of the hotel door was 2 stops from Harvard. I was easy to get to all the major tourism stops. The hotel itself was very clean, roomy, and had a Starbucks downstairs. There was also a great sports bar downstairs and one of Boston's well-known seafood restaurants next door. Would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezieAlbuquerque_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott because of its location. I requested a room on an upper floor, and we got a room on the 22nd with a gorgeous view of the river and city in the distance. The room was modern and spotless. Because we were on foot, we parked in the garage next door (didn't splurge for valet) which was still $23, even though we arrived at 5 p.m. and left the next morning at 9. Very much enjoyed the fresh-baked cookies and the beautiful lobby. Would go back in a heartbeat, even with the expensive parking and no free internet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BouchardVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Rooms are OK. Buffet breakfast choice is quite limited, Lobby bar is very small and unpleasant. Hotel needs a serious upgrade to be value for money.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rolmops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Cons:
I think my unhappiness with this hotel was mainly from the standpoint that there is NOTHING around this hotel or this subway stop which was not what I had in mind when I made the reservation. The hotel has a nice restaurant that is now closed after breakfast and only the bar is open for dinner. We walked the first night 7 blocks to eat at an OK Chinese Restaurant that had been HIGHLY recommended by the hotel. The restaurants 2 stops away at Harvard were packed the second night due to a game and so we just opted to go back into the city to eat.

I didn't like the fact that the college students were just hanging in the lobby and the hotel didn't seem to care. The washer and dryer were broken and we had to go next door to do our clothes at the Residence Inn as we had been gone from home quite a few days before checking in here.

The windows could use a good washing on the entire hotel and some attention to trash on the carpet that was there our entire visit was not appealing.

The hotel rooms face the afternoon sun and our room heated up each day to a nice 78 degrees which took a while to cool back down in the evenings. Our room didn't stay all that cool during the evening either and the windows don't open.

The Pros:
The front desk staff and the manger could not have been any nicer to us. The concierge had an attitude which wasn't appealing but the other staff promptly made up for this. They sent up wine and a godiva bar just because, and some chocolate covered strawberries and champagne for our anniversary.

The standard room was OK but I opted to upgrade to one of their suites and boy are they worth the extra money. It is a HUGE two room suite with hardwood floors and a dining table, sofa, wine bar refrig, and the bedroom was decorated in really modern furnishings that the standard rooms did not have, the bathroom was huge with double sinks in it's own room and then the bath tub in a seperate room. VERY NICE and I stay at Marriotts all the time. I was disappointed that there was no microwave though for all that extra money.

The lobby was nice and clean once the students cleared out. The health club and pool on the 4th floor were nice and clean and there was a hot tub but it could use some upgrades for sure. There is a really nice outdoor area with flowers and benches on this floor that you would never know is there if you aren't looking closely as it is behind the desk where the "lifeguard" sits.

The location to the Kendall stop can't be beat and in one stop you are back in Boston in Beacon Hill. It is an easy and LOVELY walk to the bridge and you can walk across or just stand and enjoy the view and snap some pictures. The view from the hotel rooms (above the 10th floor) are amazing and there are concierge floors on the 24-25th floors that you can upgrade to as well. Not sure it is worth what they charge but we were fortunate enough to gain access to the ammenities of this floor due to some other displeasures that we had with the hotel. The continental breakfast and evening snacks were really a nice touch and I have the manager to thank for this.

I am a long standing marriott rewards member and have had some back luck with Marriott visits on recent stays and although i was not happy that I chose to stay here due to the "location" and lack of anything at the stop among a few other things the manager more than made up for it. I have not been treated with such care and concern as a customer in a very long time. Thanks Cashius.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbriaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I have stayed in both Marriot Hotel and Marriot Residence inn in Cambridge. Generally speaking, I like the room in Marriot Residence Inn better because it is much bigger and overall more comfortable (except the breakfast).


Marriot Hotel
Pros
1. Good location
2. They have 2 restaurants plus a starbucks in the hotel so it is quite convenient.
3. Great view of Boston city, MIT campus and charles river in the room
4. Service is ok
5. Comfy bed

Cons
1. The room is small and old compared to Marriot Residence Inn.
2. The ceiling is quite low compared to Marriot Residence Inn.
3. Damp smell in the hallway
4. Internet is not free

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teatime321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing