We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2008

- Rooms have the minimum for the claimed stars. Nothing special but comfortable.
- Location was ideal for me as I was visitng a neighbour company and its also on T so you can jump in the train and go to Boston downtown or Harvard area.
- Didn't try the gym + pool
- Didn't have breakfast there
- Food in the sports bar downstairs is average - normal.
- Rooms + hotel needs a facelift.

I have no negative or special (positive) memory of this hotel. Everything was average. Not a great stay but nothing really to complain about. Will I stay there again? Maybe - because of the convenience to the location I visit for work.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VeryPickyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    432
    154
    42
    32
See reviews for
258
143
61
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I stayed two nights with my teen. The staff was extremely efficient in all regards, and pleasant to deal with as well. We checked in early with a can-do staffer. The room was very clean, and very quiet. The beds are awesome, as is the TV. Sitting area and desk are very comfortable. The gym is great, but definitely run/walk the loop around the Charles River, go left outside the hotel, up and over the Longfellow Bridge, and head to the Mass Ave Bridge.
The hotel is @ the Red Line Kendall stop. Only 2 stops from Park Street, which is the main connector city wide. There is a food court open during business hours connected to the hotel. The Coop next door has shampoo/toiletries. 7/11 up the block.
MIT college type eateries a few blocks up on Mass Ave. Up over the Longfellow is a Whole Foods Mkt (1 mile). Dunkin Donuts 1 block away at foot of bridge. I have stayed at every location in Boston, and would go back to Marriott first! (plenty of ice available, however, no mini-bar in room)

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of mini bar
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momentum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a on-site conference.

This is an standard business hotel, good sized rooms, good meeting facilities, good location near MIT and right on top of a T stop. But the hotel seems a bit dated: decor is a bit drab (but the flatscreen TV is nice), flourescent lighting in the bathrooms a bit harsh; the lobby area is not very inviting, and it feels like it needs a bit of updating.

The price was also very high for the quality: the first night my rate was well over $300 (as the special conference rate was sold out), and the second night was over $200.

The elevators were out of service one morning, meaning everyone had to take the stairs (Luckily I was on the 7th floor!). Inconvenient, but it was fixed by mid-morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CSGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Marriott in Cambridge this past June. The hotel was very clean and check in only took a few minutes. This was our first trip to Boston so we weren't sure about the location but the T (Boston's Subway system) was literally outside the hotel door. We parked our car and took the subway system everywhere. Very easy to do and convenient since parking is rather expensive. In the lobby there is a Starbucks which is very convenient. Also, the hotel has a bar/restaurant named Characters. Usual bar fare nothing fancy but pretty good after a day of sight seeing. We also got some room service which was very good. The hotel is located right near MIT. During the week there is a "food court" that is opened which is very convenient. You can find pizza, sushi, bagels, etc there. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. I had some questions about getting to downtown Boston and they were very helpful in telling me exactly which train to take. Provided map and all. I would highly recommend this hotel and we're hoping to return to Boston so we will definetely be staying here again. We were traveling with our kids which range in age from 20-7 years of age and they were all pleased. We did the Boston Duck Tours and visited Cheers at the Quincy Market Place. Next time we hope to go for longer. Boston is such a nice place it almost doesn't feel like a city. We had also lost our parking garage ticket and they were able to retrieve our parking information without any fuss. Very nice staff. Highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The proximity to the T (subway system)
  • Disliked — nothing it was perfect.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paslea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Great hotel, even better for 4th of July. Right across the street from the 'T'. Walking distance to the waterfront and MIT.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The Marriott Cambridge is a great place to start your visit to Boston. The very clean, hotel is directly across from the Kendall/MIT subway station. A free shuttle service is offered to the Cambridge Galleria where you can shop , dine or grab a Charles Riverboat cruise.
If you plan on staying at the Mall after 7 PM, grab a cab back.
Great views of the Charles River or the City Skyline from the upper hotel rooms.
Only problem is for those using a GPS system to drive to Boston, you may have difficulty locating the hotel parking garage. You cannot enter the parking lot from Broadway. You must drive around the block to enter the hotel garage otherwise you will end up driving in circles. Self Park your car and use public transportation. Plan on paying for Internet access. A small indoor pool is available, but can be crowded on weekends with young children. Concierge was very helpful giving directions to attractions. I would recommend this hotel for families and business travelers alike.

  • Liked — incredible location, easy to get around
  • Disliked — parking lot confusion
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfgalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Just stayed here on Friday night 7/11/08. Got the room for $80 on Priceline while lowest online rate was $179. What a great deal! Asked for a river view upon checkin (around 3:15pm) and was given one on the 18th floor. The rooms have ceiling-to-floor corner windows which are beautiful. The bed was amazing with unbelievably soft pillows and mattress. Nice large widescreen flat TV too. I did a little research before going and I knew the hotel's overnight parking was $22. There's a Pilgrim Parking garage right around the corner (5 minute walk) that charges only $7 after 4pm until 6am, and then it's $7 a day on Sat/Sun. So we only paid $14 since we left around 3pm Saturday. I think the internet access fee is $6 for 20 minutes or something crazy like that but we were in for a Red Sox game and didn't need to use the business center anyway. The hotel is right at the Kendall Sq/MIT red line stop on the T, so it's so convenient to get around the city.

Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hrteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing