We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price Marriott can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel in general needs an upgrade (rooms, halls, and etc.). The location of the hotel makes you forget how old the hotel is (middle of Kendall Square) but unfortunately not the room price which is very high compared to what you get. The staff were really great and very helpful.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnaWaRefeginly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

AnaWaRefeginly,

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Boston Marriott Cambridge. We appreciate your comments about the location of the hotel and the level of service offered.

I was however disappointed to read your comments about the price of your room. I can assure you that our rates are very competitive in the area and we have some exceptional AAA and advanced purchase rates available through Marriott.com.

One thing you may have noticed upon arrival is that we are doing an extensive renovation of our first floor. We are in the finishing stages of a major renovation of our lobby area including the main entrance and Starbucks. Once completed, you will feel completely different about your arrival experience and overall feeling of our product.

Sincerely,
Ken Lavigne, Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I wanted to post an update to my earlier review. I had previously commented on a significant reservation problem I found when making a reservation online at this hotel (with 3 people planning on being in the room, the hotel could not guarantee 2 beds. They did offer to put a rollaway bed in our room). After much thought, many phone calls, and finally getting someone helpful at the hotel reservation desk, we did end up staying at this hotel. I was bringing my boys to Cambridge to attend and event at MIT and this hotel was the most convenient. I will say the room was nice, Starbucks in the lobby was wonderful to have with the cold weather. It was in walking distance to restaurants, the T, and MIT which were of utmost importance. The restaurant on site was good and convenient (the weather was bitter cold so we were glad to not have to go out one night).

I do still feel they need to improve their website for making online reservations. If you are having more than two guests in a room (which their system asks) they should be able to guarantee appropriate sleep space. The price for the room is high enough that they should be able to accommodate 3 guests without having to add a rollaway bed.

Room Tip: If you require 2 beds, call the hotel itself to make the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Laurie325,
Thank you for staying at the Boston Marriott Cambridge. We know you have many other options from which to choose while visiting the Boston/Cambridge area, and we really appreciate your choosing our hotel. I also wanted to thank you for the kind words about our hotel and food and beverage options.
I would like to apologize for not having a positive experience making a reservation at our hotel. There are unfortunately times when we sell out of rooms with 2 beds. We do however have pull out couches in all of our rooms with king beds. In the future, I would recommend you contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to a manager on duty. There are occasions exceptions can be made. If you would like to discuss this further, I would appreciate if you could e-mail me at Ken.lavinge@marriott.com

Sincerely,
Ken Lavigne
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great room, with a great view on NYE. We were able to watch the 7:07pm fireworks before heading out for the evening. The lobby was under construction, so we had to check in on the second floor. My guess is that during a busier time this temporary relocation would get crushed due to limited space.

We skipped the hotel restaurant and opted to walk to the restaurants that are a 5min walk away. Great restaurants and easy to access. You also have two Starbucks that are very convenient.

The public transportation is down on the backside of the lobby, so while you are not in Boston proper you have easy access to everything.

We are planning to return during the 4th of July.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the water facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent an overnight in early December with my two sisters and brother to celebrate his 50th birthday. We requested connecting rooms and were given a room with double beds connected to a living room area with a bedroom with a king bed-great views. It was great! Clean, roomy, living room area, quiet and comfortable. We did not have an opportunity to use the restaurants or the pool area. When pulling to the front of the hotel we were greeted by a valet who was friendly and helpful.
Upon entering the lobby the staff was friendly and welcoming.
When planning this weekend I was in touch with the online staff. The person I worked with was wonderful, helpful and accommodating. Nothing we asked for was impossible.
I feel the price of the hotel was reasonable, the location outstanding, staff excellent-a great place to have a great vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during new year, one night, my daughter was sick and vomit on her bed. Their staff came promptly and take care of the situation with the highest hygiene possible! We were so impressed and amazed the efficiency of their professionalism.
Plus, they have very clean, neat environment, right next to the T-Kendall station exit (Excellent if Boston has bad weather). Coffee in the room are easy to make and taste GREAT! Bottle water available for guests for free! 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

There are some great aspects to this hotel. It is really easy to get to from the Red Line - and therefore from the airport. It is well placed for MIT. It has some stunning views over the Charles River (I was on the 22nd floor). The staff are helpful, my bed was very comfortable, everything was clean. The website hides away the fact that there's a swimming pool - so that felt like an added bonus. However, I resent being expected to pay extra for wireless Internet in my room. If it's free to someone who buys a beer in the bar, why isn't it free to people who are paying for a room without them having to go down 22 floors to use it? And I resent having $4.50 added to my bill for drinking the bottled water that was left out in the room without any indication it was an expensive optional extra.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were in Boston for a wedding and found this hotel met our needs very well. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were super clean and had plenty of space. It was a great value. My only suggestion is that free internet be offered in the rooms, with a stronger connection. The front desk was kind enough to give us internet as a courtesy, but guests are typically charged. The service and food at the restaurant was also impressive. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#12 of 19 in Cambridge
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $149 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Cambridge hotels, Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to our historic city. Our Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of Boston Marriott Cambridge enjoy close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Our hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, we can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing