We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location; Typical Marriott Experience with 2 Minor Complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Marriott Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location; Typical Marriott Experience with 2 Minor Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for one weekend night using Marriott Reward points. Overall, the stay met expectations and I felt like I got good value for my points given the ridiculously high hotel prices in Boston.

I was in town to see a concert at the House of Blues and a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. While I could have found a closer place to stay, the hotel is an easy 2 mile walk away, and worked out well, as I also wanted to access to the more historic sites and harbor area.

I took the T from Logan Airport, riding the Silver Line bus to South Station, then taking the Red Line subway to Kendall Station, which is right outside the hotel. You do not need a ticket for that entire trip, which is great. The hotel is just off the Charles River and the MIT campus.

I used mobile check-in earlier in the day, so when I arrived, my keys were ready to go. Service was friendly and efficient. I was very grateful that to be able to check in around 11am. I was assigned a very nice room on the 21st floor with a great view - just not of the river. The room was a good size and clean. There are lots of easily accessible electrical plugs for charging. The room had a safe and refrigerator (empty). I experienced no issues with hallway noise, even though I was close to the elevator. The bed was comfortable, but not quite as nice as the Renaissance bed from my stay last weekend in ATL.

Wifi was $12.95 / day. The signal was strong - no issues. Wifi is free in the lobby, where there is also a business center with PCs to print boarding passes.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby, a Chipotle right next to the hotel, and an Au Bon Pain across the street.

I'm a runner, and the location was great for it. I ran down along the river into Boston to Bunker Hill, along the Freedom Trail to Faneuil Hall, then to Copley Place and Boylston St where the marathon ends, before crossing the rive at Mass Ave and coming back to the hotel. It was also very easy to walk over to the Fenway Park area. If you don't want to walk, the easy T access makes getting around easy.

Just 2 minor complaints: 1) the showerhead is positioned very low. I'm 6'3 and had to do a lot of stooping. 2) There are just 3 elevators, and it seemed like I was always waiting for one, and often longer than I would have liked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    410
    143
    38
    31
See reviews for
247
133
57
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in the marriott cambridge in september, and while normal prices were expensive i managed to get corporate rates which make the stay really different. So if you can get these rates then different experience.
Good location for business as the metro is just outside hotel entrance and gets you in downtown in less than 15 minutes. However even though the area around hotel is beautiful there is a lot of construction going on right now which might be really annoying and if driving can cause a lot of trouble.
Otherwise, comfortable rooms, great bar downstairs and within walking distance to the river and MIT.
Just make sure you get the corporate rates

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzograf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The good:

This hotel sits adjacent to the MIT campus. It has a pretty upper echelon collegiate vibe as a result. When we visited on our most recent stay it was MIT freshman registration weekend. We were there on business, but the hotel was loaded with proud parent and their future engineers.

The height of this hotel's towers provides half the rooms with the great view of the Charles river. They constructed the rooms to each have a big, floor to ceiling, corner window. Amazing. The rooms on the other side of the hotel look out over the north end of Boston and Charlestown. Less amazing, but still cool.

The lobby provides a comfortable place to hang out and meet people. There is a Starbucks within the lobby, so doppio espressos are easy to find.

The Red Line T sits right outside the "back door" of the hotel. This makes for simple access to the rest of the city. It's one of the most convenient setups in all our travels.

The not so good:

The rooms at this hotel are not huge. I know from past stays that they have larger rooms. They didn't see fit to upgrade a Lifetime Platinum to a better room, so I may reconsider staying there next time.

They don't allow food delivery drivers to bring your food to your room. This irks us at any hotel that does this. Especially when the elevators are not secured. Any Joe Blow can walk up to our floor and cruise around, but someone we are paying to deliver food cannot. This is a ridiculous policy, which seems geared toward making it less pleasant to order from outside vendors. Shame on you Marriott!

The final word:

I would consider staying again. The price would have to be right, unless we are taking our kids to freshmen orientation at MIT, of course.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaDunesTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Held our daughter's wedding here and the attention to detail was superb. Jen Was a delight to work with and Salem and his staff did a marvelous job too. The suites were beautiful and clean the towels plentiful and plush. Everyone at this Marriott worked to make it an ideal occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Hey we use our towels and sheets for more then one night at home so I think this is a great way to save on water and chemicals and our environment. The lighting is fine and all and all it is nice to stay a bit green.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCKMBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in late August 2013. It was located just beside Kendall metro and was near a handful of restaurant and pubs. The room was very clean and cozy. It was a pity I did not spend much time in this nice room. It is within walking distance to MIT and Charles River. However, you have to pay for internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kokchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The building might not say much, but it's location is pretty good to explore Cambridge. Staff attentive. Rooms clean, spacious and bright. Has a starbucks and across the street a Cosi.

The only glitch was that my sheets had a hole.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blankechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here recently while dropping our daughter off at school. Location is great, close to public transportation and many good restaurants. The onsite restaurant, Champions, was very good and reasonably priced. Room was very large and quiet, even on the sixth floor. It was a bit dated but clean. Bed was comfortable. Valet tended to be a bit slow, call early to get your vehicle. Johnny Souza, concierge, went above and beyond to help us during our stay. Overall, an excellent stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cng8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing