We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Full Service Marriott, With a Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Full Service Marriott, With a Great View”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The good:

This hotel sits adjacent to the MIT campus. It has a pretty upper echelon collegiate vibe as a result. When we visited on our most recent stay it was MIT freshman registration weekend. We were there on business, but the hotel was loaded with proud parent and their future engineers.

The height of this hotel's towers provides half the rooms with the great view of the Charles river. They constructed the rooms to each have a big, floor to ceiling, corner window. Amazing. The rooms on the other side of the hotel look out over the north end of Boston and Charlestown. Less amazing, but still cool.

The lobby provides a comfortable place to hang out and meet people. There is a Starbucks within the lobby, so doppio espressos are easy to find.

The Red Line T sits right outside the "back door" of the hotel. This makes for simple access to the rest of the city. It's one of the most convenient setups in all our travels.

The not so good:

The rooms at this hotel are not huge. I know from past stays that they have larger rooms. They didn't see fit to upgrade a Lifetime Platinum to a better room, so I may reconsider staying there next time.

They don't allow food delivery drivers to bring your food to your room. This irks us at any hotel that does this. Especially when the elevators are not secured. Any Joe Blow can walk up to our floor and cruise around, but someone we are paying to deliver food cannot. This is a ridiculous policy, which seems geared toward making it less pleasant to order from outside vendors. Shame on you Marriott!

The final word:

I would consider staying again. The price would have to be right, unless we are taking our kids to freshmen orientation at MIT, of course.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaDunesTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    438
    157
    44
    32
See reviews for
267
145
61
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Held our daughter's wedding here and the attention to detail was superb. Jen Was a delight to work with and Salem and his staff did a marvelous job too. The suites were beautiful and clean the towels plentiful and plush. Everyone at this Marriott worked to make it an ideal occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Hey we use our towels and sheets for more then one night at home so I think this is a great way to save on water and chemicals and our environment. The lighting is fine and all and all it is nice to stay a bit green.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCKMBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in late August 2013. It was located just beside Kendall metro and was near a handful of restaurant and pubs. The room was very clean and cozy. It was a pity I did not spend much time in this nice room. It is within walking distance to MIT and Charles River. However, you have to pay for internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The building might not say much, but it's location is pretty good to explore Cambridge. Staff attentive. Rooms clean, spacious and bright. Has a starbucks and across the street a Cosi.

The only glitch was that my sheets had a hole.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blankechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here recently while dropping our daughter off at school. Location is great, close to public transportation and many good restaurants. The onsite restaurant, Champions, was very good and reasonably priced. Room was very large and quiet, even on the sixth floor. It was a bit dated but clean. Bed was comfortable. Valet tended to be a bit slow, call early to get your vehicle. Johnny Souza, concierge, went above and beyond to help us during our stay. Overall, an excellent stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cng8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed there with my wife. First of all location is very good. Top of the Boston subway (Red Line), Kendall/MIT Station. Just two stops to city center (Park Street Station).
Hotel has a low capacity public area, Starbucks and restaurant at the entrance and anyone easily enter the hotel, so no privacy and secure for that reason.
Rooms are not good. little bit small and very low ceiling. Sink is out the bathroom, inside the room)


-And this is my experience, not a generalize- Receptionists and restaurant staff aren't helpful. Let me explain: Last evening I bought a special bottle of wine to drink in our room. (That day was a special date for us) I asked the restaurant staff "Could you give me a wine opener for just a second please?" he told me "Sorry I can not give you a wine opener and I can not open other bottle of wine with my wine opener" (?)
Than I went to reception desk, I asked the same question to receptionist, she told me "I can not help you, if you go to 7 Eleven market, maybe you can find wine opener there" Time is 9 pm, and 7 Eleven is four blocks away.
So I opened it in my room with hanger...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuzunengin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice place, good location. Comfortable bed.
Park yourself and save $5/day. The offsite parking is the same garage the valet uses. It's connected to the hotel.
Hotel Bar was closed on Saturday at 4pm ?????

Other then them charging me for my own water bottles, I have no complaints.
So check your bill. It's bad enough they charge $4.50 for a 10 cent water bottle. But at least check your fridge and realize I didn't drink your water. I had my own.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing