We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fantastic location for MIT. Convenient for Boston and the airport, too. Nice views.

I found the hotel staff to be very professional--everyone from a manager I saw in the elevator to the front desk to the housekeeping staff.

On the day I was to checkout, I walked in on housekeeping, which surprised me. (There was a little bit of a mixup--my fault b/c I had booked two different reservations in order to get the best rate.) They were very polite, and they remembered to check my room key, which shows they are security minded.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dntla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    429
    153
    41
    32
See reviews for
252
142
61
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for the weekend while visiting family. We checked in late & it only took a few minutes. The front desk staff was very pleasant, Tim, Sabrina & Alec. The room was very clean, beds really comfortable and the view was amazing! Valet parking was easy & convient, Sarno & Mohamad. The hotel is located in a great spot, next to the "T" or a quick taxi into downtown Boston. The concierge, Jon suggested a great restaurant,Villa Franccesa's in the North End(Richmond St) food was great, great staff. Good value!
Can't wait to go back for another visit!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Futbolmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great, very clean, quick walk to the beautiful MIT campus and the entrance to the T is right there too. Very close to the liberty hotel which is a must visit-it's an old jail turned into an upscale bar/club. There's also a Starbucks in the lobby which is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveAdventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I accidentally confused this one with the Residence down the street, but once I got to the right hotel it was great! I was able to check in early around 1pm (normally it's 4) and got a free upgrade to a room "with a view" (a room with the corner window from the pictures on their website). The view of the city was great (paying extra for, I'm not sure, but worth asking about if you're there).

There's valet parking available for free (or an extra $5 or something) if you book the package through their website (normally it's $30-$35). Just look for it when booking to save - the valet mentioned that a lot of people don't but that it's super easy to find when booking.

The room itself was great - spacious with a King bed, couch, coffee table, and a nice TV. The bathroom was small-ish but standard for a hotel room, and sink outside the bathroom. Couldn't hear anything in the hallways at night.

We were able to leave our car in the garage after checkout for a few hours while we took the short subway trip up to Harvard to walk around. Another great perk is that there's a T station (Kendall Square/MIT) literally right outside the restaurant, and it's very easy to use, even for someone new to the city like me.

All in all, I highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the Boston/Cambridge area.

Also, sign up for a Marriott Rewards Card. It's free, and it could have been the reason I was upgraded on those things. Never hurts to be a member!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marriott for an event at MIT. The hotel is within walking distance of the Institute and the Kendall Square T (red-line), restaurants and "The COOP" is steps from the hotel door. The location is also only a few blocks from Charles River.

The room was well appointed, and extremely clean. Sink is Kohler with granite countertops and nice faucets. I especially liked the niche set into the wall with a mirrored background used for glasses and other items. Nice touch. I had a corner window (two sided) with views of the MIT campus. Room included a sofabed (which didn't "look" like a sofabed), coffee table and a computer desk. Would certainly stay there again.

The only drawback, like many hotels the internet is for a "fee" in the room and free in the lobby. There are plenty of tables and chairs but I just find it odd that someone can walk in from the street and use the internet - or sit out in the courtyard, but at $200+/night a guest must pay an additional fee. Sheraton does the same thing and it's not competitive with lower priced hotels that provide internet to guests for free (with a password).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCkidwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I called the Marriott Cambridge regarding the special rate for law enforcement personnel for the MIT Memorial for Officer Sean Collier. I spoke to a front desk supervisor named Anna, who was extremely rude. Anna knew that I was calling for the memorial rates, thus she knew that the reason for the call was sad. Yet Anna was unsympathetic and argumentative.

When I asked to speak to the manager, Anna said she was the manager. I further questioned her (because I did not believe she was the manager - and I was correct) and asked to speak to someone above Anna.

I spoke the ACTUAL manager, who stated that Anna was only the front desk supervisor, NOT the manager. I told him the details of Anna's rudeness, as well as the fact that Anna was FALSELY representing herself as the manager. He apologized profusely and said he would discipline Anna for her behavior.

My husband was appalled at the lack of courtesy shown at the Marriott Cambridge, so we ended up at the Residence Inn in Cambridge, just a few steps away from the Marriott.

The Residence Inn is also a Marriott-branded hotel and also offered the special law enforcement rate (for the same price as the Marriott) for the MIT Memorial for Office Sean Collier. The person in charge of assigning the special rates was very nice. I wish we had called the Residence Inn first, and avoided the ugliness with Anna at at the Marriott Hotel in Cambridge.

I thanked the Residence Inn person for her kindness and told her about the rudeness at the Marriott. Even though the rudeness was at a different hotel, she apologized on behalf of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoelleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
The tragic events that unfolded in Boston the week of April 15 were deeply felt by all area residents, including our hotel associates, as well as Boston’s friends and supporters from near and far. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel continues to be deeply grateful to the government leaders and law enforcement agencies who worked tirelessly to secure Greater Boston. Along with so many others, our thoughts and prayers are with those whose lives were cut short or changed forever by these unthinkable acts. Our hotel team made many special accommodations for law enforcement during this very difficult time. Our goal was to make space available for law enforcement working to protect our communities, to make quick and nourishing meals available for uniformed officers, and also specifically, to help those officers traveling on their own to attend the memorial service for fallen MIT Police Officer Sean Collier. I do sincerely apologize if your experience calling our front desk fell short of the intended goal. If you would be so kind as to contact me with your phone number or email, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Ken Lavigne, Director of Operations
(617)494-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here last fall & came back this month (April 2013) so I could run the Boston Marathon. Booked the room through the official marathon hotel supplier. What made this experience better than the last one (despite the obvious horrors of the marathon):

1. It just so happened that our son stayed at this hotel three weeks ago with a youth group--and didn't realize til he got back home that he had left his belt in the room. Thinking it was a long shot, we went to the concierge desk, described what he lost & when he was at the hotel. The concierge said she would check with housekeeping and took our room number. When we returned to our room that night, his belt was waiting for us.

2. The hotel did a great job of treating marathoners well, even before disaster struck. The Starbucks opened up early, at 5 am, and there were water bottles and snacks for guests. The front desk promised that even though we were checking out in the morning, we could come back and use the shower in the gym/pool area. And that's what I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hushaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,910 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing