We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice and well maintained property and right next to Kendall MIT Subway and there are many diners around to have a bite if you aren’t the one who want to spend too much for the food at the hotel.

Room is quite spacious; staff is very polite and spontaneous.

My only suggestion is you should stock up some disposable spoons and plates, as I bought an Ice Cream and the time I could get spoons in beautifully wrapped serviette it was too late my Ice Cream became a milk shake! It took 45 minutes plus and three repeated phone calls to have a spoon delivered in my room, not a pleasant experience.

Over all, it is a great property and ask for rooms facing Charles River as you can get stunning view of the river and Boston Skyline or else you will end in the rear facing nothing but a chimney emitting smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    434
    156
    42
    32
See reviews for
261
143
61
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriends for an impromptu weekend birthday celebration. We reserved 2 adjoining rooms. I had an amazing weekend with my ladies traipsing around the city. We had oysters at Marliave & dinner in the north end, all within walking/T distance of the hotel. The rooms were impeccably clean and lovely. I never heard a peep from the neighbors, it was like our own private apartment. The beds were luscious as I have found all Marriott beds to be. I highly recommend this Marriott!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel. I was very pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of our hotel, the comfort of our beds and that you had an amazing weekend. Our location and service make us a very popular hotel in Cambridge and with the T being so close to us, getting around Boston is very easy. The hotel is an excellent option for weekend getaways and celebrations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Lavigne, Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My corportate office is close to this Marriott and I have had to stay there several times in the last few years - much to my own peril. The beds at this Mariott are the MOST uncomfortable I have ever slep on. No mattress pad, nothing. Just a sheet on a worn out mattress. Every morning I woke up with the worst back ache after tossing and turning all night long becasue I could not get comfortable. I do not have this issue at other hotels in the area. They had the nerve to charge me $267.00. NEVER again!!! I have even filled out thier surveys that they send to thier Marriott Rewards partners to as,"How was your stay" giving them very clear feedback for which I have never heard a word back from ANYONE - not even the maid. I choose to take my business elsewhere in Cambridge and have directed my business associates to other hotels in the area. Sleep is too important to waste!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I was disappointed to read about your stay with us at the Boston Marriott Cambridge. I can understand your preference for a more firm mattress. I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience during the night and for not responding to the survey you sent to Marriott. I located your survey and will take the appropriate action to check the mattress and will review the issue with not having a mattress pad with our Housekeeping manager. Please be assured that this will be addressed in the appropriate manner.

As you mentioned, our hotel is very convenient to the local businesses in the Kendall Square area. Your patronage and loyalty to our brand is very important to us. I believe there is a solution to your concern and hope that you will give us an opportunity to regain your confidence. If you do decide to stay with us in the future, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Ken Lavigne, Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Boston Marriott Cambridge. It was not out of the ordinary, but was very nice nonetheless. The hotel was clean and had everything I needed. It was also very conveniently located. I liked the large windows in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and the view from the large windows in your room. We are fortunate to have these large windows in every guest room of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Lavigne, Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location was fantastic. We stayed for a visit to a show at the House of Blues near Fenway on St. Patrick's Day. Staying in Cambridge was totally great, avoiding the craziness, but giving us some great pub visits at Tommy Doyles and The Druid within walking distance. We took a quick cab ride to the show and it was fantastic. I stood for about 4hrs in heels and the clean, comfortable room was so appreciated. Comfy beds we both were so surprised about and great pillows. All the staff morning and night were very enthusiastic and helpful. It made us wonder why we didn't come to visit Boston more often. In the morning, I was able to take the red line which is right outside the door to the parade area. Fantastic. Valet service was pleasant and quick. And, the front desk even charged my phone when I forgot the cable. And, the view of Boston is great from Cambridge on the 26th floor. Great visit. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Get the river view and have the best view OF Boston. A stay on the 26th floor was fantastic. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runaway_42470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at the Boston Marriott Cambridge this weekend (the night before St. Patrick's Day). It's located directly across the street from the Kendall Square/MIT stop on the Red Line which made getting there a breeze. We checked in very late (in the vicinity of 1am). I had wanted two double beds but since I waited until the last minute to book my room they only had kings left. I put in a request for either a rollaway or sofabed. The hotel staff was kind enough to have the sofabed already made when we got up to the room along with plenty of extra pillows, blankets, and towels. The room was lovely and immaculately clean and offered a beautiful view of the city across the river.

Every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. However, the one that stood out the most was the night auditor Yesenia. Despite the late hour she could not have been friendlier or more professional. Her outgoing attitude and genuinely caring demeanor made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the lobby. It's difficult to find people who are willing to work overnight and even more rare to find people that can manage to be pleasant during that shift. I hope the hotel's management staff realizes how fortunate they are to have an employee like Yesenia.

Overall the Boston Cambridge Marriott was a wonderful experience and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SleepyRodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staff just as friendly, room just as spotless, location hasn't changed (imagine that!) - still wicked convenient to MIT, Boston, etc....every request happily granted! Amazing rate (advance pay) included valet parking. Next time we're at MIT, I'm sure we'll be back again!

Room Tip: Floor to ceiling corner windows overlooking the Charles River - request a high floor for a spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midcoastmainemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing