We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely tops for the MIT area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Absolutely tops for the MIT area”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My daughter just graduated college in Boston, and for 4 years I've tried all the area hotels. This hotel is one of the best, and the best around the MIT area, no contest. The red line T stop is directly out the door, and the MIT campus surrounds the hotel. Outstanding rooms, beds, facilities, service, ....a very good hotel. I had the pleasure of being upgraged to an executive suite - breathtaking. If you have a few free moments, walk right down to the Charles River and along the waterfront path......sublime. My only complaints: getting to the hotel can be frustrating (a lot of one way streets that don't end at broadway) and the parking (just go for valet and forget the added cost).

Room Tip: If there is any way you can swing it, go for an executive suite....they're huge and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    424
    153
    40
    32
See reviews for
252
140
60
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Marriott Cambridge wins out on location alone - the Red Line stop is just outside the rear of the hotel. Aside from that, you get everything else you expect from a Marriott - great customer service, great amenities, and rooms. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjpmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a standard hotel in a good location if you are going to visit MIT.
Rooms are clean and come with shower and bath but the strangest thing is the lack of a in-room safe.

The gym is ok, the pool is too small for swimming, If swimming is your thing during travel I would recommend another hotel like Royal Sonesta nearby.

The sportsbar has been renovated so now there is a watering hole at the hotel and just a few blocks away you will find multiple restaurants. There is a Starbucks in the hotel for those of you that crave your coffeine in the morning.

Subway station is just outside the hotel so it is convinent for travel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolf_the_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel is by far the worst Marriott and perhaps the worst hotel i have ever stayed in all time!!! I travel extensively and am a Marriott Rewards member so im used to staying in Marriott's around the country and the world. The entire hotel is circa 1980s with a sink that is as big as a postage stamp. My wife and I could barely fit our modest toiletries. The bed was lumpy and you felt like you were sinking into a hole that you couldn't get out of. The restaurant for breakfast was totally disorganized with staff trying to collect payment while we were in the middle of our meal as if they were worried we would walk out on them!!! Though the worst of all was the valet parking. Made the mistake of renting a car, using the valet service so we can come in and go out with no hassels...well, we were SSSSOOOOO wrong. Most every night we woudl return and try to find an attendant to take our car and make sure we just didn't leave it out there for anyone to come by, jump in and take off!!! Well, we were mistaken cuz the valet service had cars backed up every night with customers waiting to try and get someone's attention so they can leave their car and keys...after 30-40 minutes of wasting our time, we finally went inside to complain to someone. The attitude of the staff was just horrible!!! Everyone was annoyed and had such an attitude that we got in a fight with the front desk manager as she tried to tell us, "well, that's just the way we do things here". Meanwhile, they charge us $45 per night for valet!!!!!!!!! This is ridiculous and shameful!!! Also, because it's graduation weekend for many schools in Boston area, the room rate was over way over the top for such a TERRIBLE hotel with Terrible staff and an outdated, nasty, smelly, run-down hotel. I WILL NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms in this hotel...I asked the management and they said all the rooms are the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

starbucks downstairs - so, love the fact that I don't have to worry about coffee, breakfast, or wireless.

views are great from the rooms

easily accessible with public transport as the T line stop of Kendall Square (MIT) is right below it.

Room Tip: get boston skyline view room by checking in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was within walking distance to MIT and connected to the T. There are a few bars you can walk to from the hotel. The rooms are generally small, but the windows have a good view and they are floor to ceiling. Our bathroom wasn't sparkling, but most other parts of the room were okay. I would stay here again if I couldn't find something cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Boston Marriott Cambridge has a great location, in the middle of MIT campus. Excellent service with super friendly staff. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing