We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly something special.”

Toscanini's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly something special.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have tried all the ice cream and frozen yogurt shops in Cambridge (and many in Somerville and Boston). Many of them are quite good, but there is no doubt the ice cream here is the best.

Toscanini's is hip and experimental with its flavors, and not every one of them is a total success, but most of them are truly fantastic.

The atmosphere is spare and (understandably) crowded. Prices are high as expected for ice cream in Cambridge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ii2yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    73
    26
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The ice cream was very good & they had a variety of flavors. We went to this place the 2 nights we stayed in Boston & each time it was pretty crowded. I can see why people like this place, it's small but cozy & the ice cream was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Still has the best ice cream!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There are touch stones to its past sprinkled about the shop, and the ice cream has incredible flavor which got it noticed in the first place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnestown md
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hard to find if you are not in the area. I wouldn't make a special trip here(like we did). B3 was very good, but I thought the other flavors were just average. And I tried a lot of them(as the staff was very generous giving out samples). It is a cute place and also has hot tea and coffe. So if you are walking by, it's worth a stop. Otherwise, not worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank goblingoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mind-boggling quality”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The best Ice-cream outside Italy. We tried the burnt caramel and it was mind-boggling. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Toscanini's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing