We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice cream in New England”

Toscanini's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream in New England”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Gus the owner is very nice and the variety of flavors are out of the World. A must visit if in Boston/Cambridge area with children or even adults. We some times eat at Cinderella's and then go next door to eat ice-cream. Kids love a lot of flavors here and the serving size is big.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    80
    27
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Only one word: YUM”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Tosci's is such a Cambridge tradition that I remember having their Belgian chocolate shake in the midst of finals 25 years ago. Recently went back for old times. A person who looked homeless, with a shawl for his shirt, and shoeless, was in front of me. It was a day when Tosci's was offering free small cones. Was he there for a free small cone? No. He took out crumpled bills, and ordered a large hazelnut chocolate milk shake. Even those who have little know what is valuable. This is an ice cream parlor with character, with heart, with flair. And with flavors like cardamom, cinnamon, and ginger. What else can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymousfortwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Boston's Reigning Champion of Ice Cream”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

No matter what you select from their large (20-30) menu of ice cream, and smaller menu of sorbets and frozen yoghurts, you will be experiencing the most intensive flavor of the respective genre that you select. As any ice cream maker will tell you, the flavoring is the most expensive component and at Tosci's, you will pay accordingly. One scoop is $4.25 and two are $5.50 (this review is dated fall, 2012). My most recent favorite is Gingersnap Molasses. Try pairing their bitter and not-at-all-sweet Burnt Caramel with one of their sweet chocolate selections for a great combination. Their cafe hours on their web site was incorrect on last check; give them an extra hour to open on Sunday morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Once Tried, You're Spoiled for Life”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ice cream is almost a blood sport in Boston with many good places to choose from, each with their partisans. But once you've had Toscanini's, everything else pales in comparison. A lot of it comes down to the texture which is firm but incredibly smooth. And the flavors are always full, never wimpy. Our go-to favorite is the Burnt Caramel which is as rich and deep as any chocolate ice cream you've ever had. I'm also a big fan of the B3 (brown sugar, brown butter, brownies) when that's available. Toscanini's is expensive, but it's worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“what an odd variety of flavors”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

“The World’s Best Ice Cream” at Toscanini’s is next door to Cinderella’s restaurant. Our first time there, we were urged on by enthusiastic servers to try multiple flavors, such as Ginger, Hydrox and Cream, and Brandy/Kahlua amongst them, before deciding on a double of Grape Nuts and Goat Cheese Brownie and a single divided into Cranberry and Lemon Mocha. The next night my spouse and I, plus our niece, went for ice cream again. We each had double scoops in cups of Hazelnut, Raspberry, Honey Vanilla Bean, Cardamom & Coffee and mocha chip. Upon our return from New Hampshire, we again went for ice cream. Trying such flavors as Vanilla Beer, White Russian, and Banoffee Pie (banana & coffee pie flavor), before ordering. I got a humongous double scoop on a cone of Cocoa Rum Chip and Mocha Chip, while my spouse had a double of Hydrox and cream and Lime in a cup. OUr last visit to this den of iniquity was for double scoops of more great flavors. While not all the flavors are ones that we would necessarily order as scoops after tasting them, they were all pretty interesting, and creamy. The scoops were good size tho they should be for the cost. $5.5 for double.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Toscanini's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing