We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the Guinness, avoid the food”
Review of The Field

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Field
Ranked #299 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the Guinness, avoid the food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

They pour a great Guinness. Definite Irish pub scene. Food options are limited and mediocre (dried-out burgers, greasy fried fish). Very noisy and small.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoriW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best bar in Cambridge”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

First and formost they pour Guinness correctly here no matter how busy they are.

I go here when friends come to town, when we catch the last train into central. It is a really great bar to spend the whole night as well. During summer the outdoor biergarten makes it the best spot in central to relax and enjoy the evening breeze. The food is consistently good, thick cut fries, nice burger really all the essential pub food is offered.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLPayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Irish mood?!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Irish mood? then pick an irish bar. I haven't tried it as a restaurant, but they always offer a great selection of beers. You can play pool or darts. Over the summer, enjoy their backyard patio, it's simply gorgeus!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank palomar5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
740 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good price drinks, outdoor seating area”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We've been here a few times with friends over the past couple of years. The drink prices are very good and the outdoor seating area is very nice.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice pub, inconsistent food”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Been here a couple times... good selection of beers on tap, and nice low-key pub atmosphere (at least on Sundays, when I've been there). Had a burger one time and it was decent, the other time though I had a corned beef sandwich which may be the worst corned beef I've ever had at a restaurant... very stingy portion sizes, and not good quality taste. You'd think Irish pub would = good corned beef.

The food is priced very inexpensively though...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Field also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to The Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing