We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norhfield, ma
1 review
“Excellent location and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and my wife thought it was gorgeous. The location is amazing, walking distance to dozens of restaurants, 5 minute walk from the T, and a liquor store across the street. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    64
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
111
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Cannot say enough about the quality, warmth, and lovliness of this very special home away from home. The attention to detail is spectacular; breakfast is superb; tea and goodies make it a delight to return each evening. Package with T pass wonderful and so convenient for the people from outside the Boston area. It feels like a cozy home away from home!! You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cab444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our recent stay could not have been better. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.
They helped me surprise my wife on her birthday with balloons & banner at breakfast and wine, chocolate covered strawberries & cookies in our room when we returned that evening. The room was very quaint. The location was excellent (only four blocks from the subway). And I cant say enough about the service. I would diffenently reccomend staying here. I know when we return to Boston there is only one place we'll stay. The Mary Prentiss Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this mid sized inn near Harvard Square while visiting Cambridge for a reunion. The room amenities were great, the breakfast generous and the staff very pleasant. I thought the off street parking was perfectly adequate in contrast to one reviewed who couldn't seem to manage maneuvering in tight spaces. I was just glad to have free parking in a town where on street parking doesn't exist. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taem111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A lovely, comfortable inn on a residential street convenient to the Porter Square T station, and an easy walk to the center of Cambridge. Includes a great breakfast with a view of the lushly planted patio. The best place by far to stay in Cambridge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the finest B&B's. Exquisite .... Property was well cared for, friendly and most of all..... you felt right at home. Would stay at this property again, the property is a little walk to Harvard Sq. other than that very enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a very unpleasant stay in Lotus Place at Harvard, we were certainly surprised of the quality of this Inn. Old colonial house, nicely furnished, a little garden, Tearoom and aereas to sit comfortly. The room was very nice, but immediately we noticed a noice from under the room, as if there were broken pipes down below. We called the attendent, who was very nice and polite, who callled a maintenanceman, who came and looked after the problem, but could not change or repare it. So I think it is a problem of the room, the first on the left, right after the entrance door. The breackfast was quite good and there were full information of Boston and its aerea. Imwould recommend thatnplace , but not that room. Expensive though!

Room Tip: Not the first on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Property: Mary Prentiss Inn
Address: 6 Prentiss Street, Cambridge, MA 02140
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing