We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B in Cambridge”
Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a very unpleasant stay in Lotus Place at Harvard, we were certainly surprised of the quality of this Inn. Old colonial house, nicely furnished, a little garden, Tearoom and aereas to sit comfortly. The room was very nice, but immediately we noticed a noice from under the room, as if there were broken pipes down below. We called the attendent, who was very nice and polite, who callled a maintenanceman, who came and looked after the problem, but could not change or repare it. So I think it is a problem of the room, the first on the left, right after the entrance door. The breackfast was quite good and there were full information of Boston and its aerea. Imwould recommend thatnplace , but not that room. Expensive though!

Room Tip: Not the first on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Mary Prentiss Inn is a charming inn situated about 5 minutes walk from Porter T station. It has quite a history and is evident by the nice old photos hung in the hallways of the Inn. Yet, the inn has been renovated so you get the rich cultural atmosphere while having well-maintained modern amenities. Our room was on the first floor and it was very comfy and quiet. Shower was really sweet! Breakfast was awesome - delicious granola, muffin, yogurt, juice, coffee and a variety of tea. (There's also 'full' breakfast option as opposed to my continental choice). The rate was very reasonable for Cambridge/Boston area, although I wish the room were bigger (barely found room to lay down a mid-size suitcase). Overall a very enjoyable stay. I would stay here again if I visit Boston in the future.

Room Tip: I could see how rooms on the ground floor can be quite noisy from guests coming in/out and talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoSorbetYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Mary Prentiss Inn is a small hotel in a historic building, located off Massachusetts Ave. and not far from a T station. It is pleasant, comfortable. Our room had a little kitchenette (Microwave, sink, fridge). The price is right (not cheap). Service is good. A fine breakfast is included, as is a lavish afternoon tea. This is highly recommended for those who want a pleasant, authentic place to stay in Cambridge for a while.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fischels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really wish I could give Mary Prentiss Inn more stars, because it has many good qualities and is the type of place my husband and I normally love to stay. It is a charming inn with a nice breakfast area in the lobby and an absolutely lovely garden patio (the breakfast area and some rooms look out on the patio). Afternoon tea is generous, with coffee and many tea choices (and packaged hot cocoa mix) and an assortment of baked goodies. The afternoon tea is out from about 4 to 7, and the baked goods are often out later, so it was nice break when coming back after sightseeing and before dinner (though we did tend to fill up on the goodies and not feel the need for dinner!). Another positive factor is the friendly and helpful staff. The location is pretty good, although it turned out not quite as convenient as we expected because it is about a 20-minute walk to Cambridge town center and the Harvard Square T stop (OK for fit people and in nice weather, not so good in bad weather). However, it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to the Harvard museums on Oxford Street and about the same to the Porter Square T.
There were two main factors that significantly detracted from our experience at the inn and make it unlikely that we would return: noise and comfort. We were in room 3, which is on the first floor and turned out to be behind the front desk/lobby/breakfast/tea area. This meant that we heard staff and guests talking from early morning to about 10 pm. Additionally, the floors and stairs are very creaky, so between that and people closing doors loudly it was far from a peaceful setting. We also heard noise from the room next door as well as people coming in later than 10 pm. More noise came from the air conditioning/heating unit and the mini-fridge--to the point that we had to turn them off at night (this would be a problem if it were very cold or hot outside).
The other problem was an extremely uncomfortable bed--it was hard on the outer edges but sank down in the middle, and left both of us achy in the morning. We did not sleep well for any of the 3 nights we stayed at the inn. Considering the cost of the room, that's not acceptable.
It may be that other rooms are quieter and have more comfortable beds, but probably any of the first floor rooms that are near the lobby (Rooms 1-4) would have the same noise issues (especially Rooms 1 and 2, which are right by the front door).

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 1-4 if you are bothered by noise. The bed in Room 3 is very uncomfortable, and the refri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My son and I practically lived at the Mary Prentiss inn for nearly four weeks, last summer as he was doing an internship nearby.
It was so comfortable and the hospitality so warm that it turned being away from home into a real blessing.
We now feel like we are visiting family when returning to the inn and always look forward to our stays.
Book early as the Mary Prentiss inn is popular!!!
Thank you to Lisa and her amazing team!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLV130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautifully maintained Inn, close enough for walking to what you want to do and see in the Cambridge area. We didn't rent a car, just walked everywhere. A 16 mile loop of The Charles, a class at The Kennedy School, a Harvard v Brown football game, visiting with our daughter while she showed us her new town...we did it all from this beautiful and easily accessible Inn. The staff are extraordinary, the rooms lovely, the afternoon tea fabulous, and the breakfast wonderful. The attention to detail is fantastic. And truly, a more helpful staff would be hard to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms. Room 6 the first night, room 5 the balance of our stay. Room 6 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What can we say, we found the Mary Prentiss Inn on the internet - what a find!!! We stayed for 2 nights and immediately booked again for another 2 nights to end our wonderful holiday. The staff are excellent and so helpful, the rooms are fantastic and each one unique. We stayed in rooms 16 the first visit and 19 the second visit. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, the afternoon tea is to die for - wow those cakes!!!! We would recommend this Inn to anyone who is staying in the Boston/Cambridge area. It is wonderful and we look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms, 16 and 19, if we had the choice we would choose 19 as it was situated in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 19 in Cambridge
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,000 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.0 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Address: 6 Prentiss St, Cambridge, MA 02140-2212
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $181 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing