We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with great location for our 1st time to Boston - Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place with great location for our 1st time to Boston - Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We wanted a nice, quiet, historic B&B for our first trip to the Boston area. The MP Inn exceeded our expectations. It is located only 3 blocks away (0.3 miles) from the T Red Line subway, so a short walk was all that was needed to get to the downtown Boston area and not worry about parking and traffic. We stayed 3 nights and had 3 different breakfasts, all were great. Staff was friendly. Our room was just off what the deck in the back, and had tables which were essentially private, and we were surrounded by beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: The two rooms in back addition have jazuzi and fireplace - plus there are a few tables just outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachboywantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    64
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
91
110
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Mary Prentiss most recently for our daughter's wedding. The staff is very helpfull and the garden is a beautiful place to relax. The breakfasts are delicious and big e enough to get us through a busy day of pre-wedding errands. We love coming back in the afternoon in time for cookies.

Linda and Dennis

Room Tip: We love the rooms by the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have tried to book a room at the Mary Prentiss Inn a few times but to my dismay it's always booked. Fortunately, this time I visited Cambridge I was able to book a room and now I see why it's always booked!!! The Inn is magnificently kept up, and very quaint. When I arrived, tea and cookies were being served in the beautiful dining room. My room faced a courtyard and was very well appointed. The decor is late nineteenth century and beautifully designed, with a working fireplace in my room as well as jaccuzzi tub (and cable TV and wifi too!!). Breakfast was served at 3 different seatings very nicely. Who knew that even cereal could be served so elegantly? My regret was that I was only able to stay one night but I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Choose a "patio room" right off the beautiful patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Inn was beautiful and such a pleasant place to relax and enjoy life. We were able to have a cocktail party one evening, and it went off without a hitch thanks to all the support from the staff. They could not have been more helpful and I look forward to returning to the Mary Pretiss Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This inn is amazing....beautiful, immaculate, well run, relaxed, friendly, and so close to everything!
The breakfast is huge. The gardens are gorgeous. There are many nice places to spend time without being in the room. I would stay there again and highly recommend to anyone. I will definitely return to stay there when next overnighting in Cambridge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanbolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A few minor inconveniences were handled professionally and promptly by the staff who are available at all times, except late at night. Our room was off the courtyard, kept beautiful by a landscaping service which continually replaces flowering plants. Our room looked out on this courtyard and was blissfully quiet. While we could hear adjacent room neighbors occasionally, this was rare and not a problem. Our room included a large closet, good size flat screen tv, 4 cu ft refrigerator, sink, full size ironing board, and a very comfortable bed. Daily afternoon teas included both regular and herbal teas, plus a nice combination of cookies or scones.
We were a 5 minute walk from the Porter Square "T" station, perfect for access to all of the Boston area, including the Museum of Fine Arts, JFK Presidential Library, Harvard/MIT/Boston U, the Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park.
The Mary Prentiss Inn is in a wonderful location, very quiet, and quite beautiful. Underground parking is available, though cars are not necessary for most travel in this area. Full rail/bus passes for one week cost only $18!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlinkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My son and I stayed at this B&B in April, 2013. It is a beautiful house on a quiet street in Cambridge walking distance from the Porter Square T stop (subway). The room we stayed in was creatively designed. For example, there was a set of tiles in the bathroom that was carefully constructed out of glass figures and painted glass. The room was comfortable. If you are someone who loves the look of a standardized hotel room, you may not like this as I saw some paint peeling. But overall, it was comfortable and quiet and roomy. The breakfasts were okay but not great. We had to leave early two mornings and nothing was provided to us. However, the staff was friendly and attentive. Our toilet overflowed and within minutes they cleaned it up. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It was quiet everywhere in this B&B, as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Property: Mary Prentiss Inn
Address: 6 Prentiss Street, Cambridge, MA 02140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing